Josephs sends Chiefs packing

2014-05-03 18:36
Moeneeb Josephs (Gallo Images)

Johannesburg - Wits beat holders Kaizer Chiefs 4-2 on penalties at the Bidvest Stadium on Saturday to book their place in the final of this season’s Nedbank Cup. The game ended 2-2 after extra-time.
The Amakhosi twice came from behind in an action-packed encounter which was ultimately decided from the penalty spot.
Reneilwe Letsholonyane and Siphiwe Tshabalala missed Chiefs’ opening two spot-kicks, while Bidvest Wits were faultless from the spot, with Onismor Bhasera scoring the winner to book the Clever Boys’ place in the final.  
After seeing Sthembiso Ngcobo's effort rattle the underside of the post, Bidvest Wits skipper Sibusiso Vilakazi was handed an opportunity to open the scoring after he was hauled down inside the area by Itumeleng Khune.
The Bidvest Wits captain shook himself off and coolly sent his opposite number the other way.
Chiefs pulled level through a penalty of their own in the 37th minute. Katlego Mphela netted his second goal in as many games after George Maluleka was brought down inside the area by Phumlani Ntshangase.
Bidvest Wits regained the lead two minutes into the second stanza. The ball fell to Ngcobo inside the area and his first-time shot nestled inside the back of the net.
The Glamour Boys squared things up once again in the 54th minute. After great determination by Bernard Parker, Kingston Nkhatha squared the ball to George Maluleka, who prodded into an open net.
Ryan Champan went close towards the end of regulation time, but the game ultimately went to extra-time after an exciting 90 minutes of football.
Both sides were cautious in attack and as a result neither side created any clear-cut opportunities in the first half of extra-time.
Parker hit the upright in the second half of extra-time before Willard Katsande saw his effort cleared off the line, but despite all the late pressure the Amakhosi were unable to find the back of the net and subsequently the tie was decided from the penalty-spot.
It is the third year in succession that a team coached by Gavin Hunt reaches the final of the Nedbank Cup. Bidvest Wits last won the tournament in 2010.
Bidvest Wits (1) 2 (Vilakazi 23’ pen, Ngcobo 47’)
Kaizer Chiefs (1) 2 (Mphela 37’ pen, Maluleka 54’)

After extra time, Wits won 4-2 on penalties

Wits: Josephs, Ntshangase, Mngoyama, Gumede, Bhasera, Langwe (Booth 63’), Madubanya, Shongwe (Kebede 108’), Nhlapo, Vilakazi, Ngcobo (Chapman 83’)

Chiefs: Khune, Gaxa (Moleko 81’), Mathoho, Mashamaite, Masilela, Katsande, Letsholonyane, Maluleka, Parker, Nkhatha (Tshabalala 96’), Mphela (Rusike 90+2’)

Chiefs shoot first: Letsholonyane misses 0-0, Vilakazi scores 0-1; Tshabalala misses 0-1, Chapman scores 0-2; Parker scores 1-2, Kebede scores 1-3; Maluleka scores 2-3, Bhasera scores 2-4. Wits win 4-2.

Read more on:    kaizer chiefs  |  psl  |  nedbank cup  |  johannesburg  |  soccer

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

01 April 2017
Golden Arrows v Highlands Park, Chatsworth Stadium 15:00
SuperSport United v Baroka FC, Mbombela Stadium 15:00
Wits v Platinum Stars, Bidvest Stadium 18:00
Free State Stars v Orlando Pirates, Goble Park 18:00
Kaizer Chiefs v Mamelodi Sundowns, FNB Stadium 20:15
Maritzburg United v Ajax Cape Town, Harry Gwala Stadium 20:15
02 April 2017
Polokwane City v Bloemfontein Celtic, Peter Mokaba Stadium 15:00
03 April 2017
Cape Town City FC v Chippa United, Athlone Stadium 19:30
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Who will claim the Premier League title at the end of the 2016/17 season?

Love 2 Meet
SuperBru Super Rugby challenge

Enter and challenge Sport24's staff!


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.