Erasmus shortlisted for CAF award

2015-11-03 11:02
Kermit Erasmus (Supplied)

Cape Town - Orlando Pirates duo Kermit Erasmus and Felipe Ovono have been named on a 10-man shortlist for the African Player of the Year (Based in Africa) 2015.

Striker Erasmus and goalkeeper Ovono are the only representatives from South Africa, with CAF Champions League finalists TP Mazembe boasting three nominations.

The Bucs duo have cracked the nod after helping Pirates secure a place in the CAF Confederation Cup final with a string of impressive performances.

According to the CAF website, "The winner will be decided by votes of the Coaches or Technical Directors of the National Associations affiliated to CAF."

African Player of the Year - Based in Africa

1. Abdeladim Khadrouf (Morocco & Moghreb Tetouan)

2. Baghdad Bounedjah ( Algeria & Etoile du Sahel)

3. Felipe Ovono (Equatorial Guinea & Orlando Pirates)

4. Kermit Erasmus (South Africa & Orlando Pirates)

5. Mbwana Aly Samatta (Tanzania & TP Mazembe)

6. Mohamed Meftah ( Algeria & USM Alger)

7. Mudather Eltaib Ibrahim 'Karika' (Sudan & El Hilal)

8. Robert Kidiaba Muteba ( DR Congo & TP Mazembe)

9. Roger Assalé (Cote d'Ivoire & TP Mazembe)

10. Zineddine Ferhat (Algeria & USM Alger)

The awards gala will be held in Abuja, Nigeria on 7 January 2016.

Read more on:    orlando pirates  |  psl  |  kermit erasmus  |  soccer

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

25 October 2016
Chippa United v Bloemfontein Celtic, Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium 19:30
26 October 2016
Ajax Cape Town v Wits, Cape Town Stadium 19:30
28 October 2016
Maritzburg United v Golden Arrows, Harry Gwala Stadium 20:00
Chippa United v Platinum Stars, Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium 20:00
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

When all is said and done in the 2015/16 Absa Premiership season, who will be crowned champions of South Africa?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.