Eight years of MTN8

2015-07-24 07:41
MTN8 trophy (File)

Cape Town - MTN South Africa, in partnership with the Premier Soccer League, officially launched the 2015/2016 season of the MTN8 tournament.

The 2015/2016 edition is set to kick-off on Tuesday, August 4 and promises to be yet another thrilling encounter for the 2014/15 Premier Soccer League top 8 finishers, all fighting it out for the most lucrative cup competition on the African continent, with the winning team set to pocket a whopping R8 million.

The MTN8 tournament has always been synonymous with fantastic activities that excite football fans while offering MTN customers several opportunities to win big during the tournament. This year, in celebrating eight years of Wafa Wafa tournament, the campaign will create eight instant millionaires, when eight fans win R1 million each during the course of the tournament.

“It has been an amazing journey of the MTN8 Wafa Wafa tournament so far, and MTN is excited to reach this great milestone. The life changing fan experiences that the tournament creates have always been overwhelming and this year we have decided to change more lives by making eight football loving MTN customers millionaires”, said Larry Annetts: Chief Marketing and Sales Officer at MTN SA.

In addition to celebrating the eight year milestone of Wafa Wafa passion, MTN is also celebrating the role that music has played in the South African football space, by commissioning a few musicians to remix some of the most popular songs synonymous with football in the country. In the end, eight MTN8 tracks will be available on MTN platforms for the public to download.

“We know that music plays such an integral role in uniting the football fans when rallying behind their teams, thus by bringing these special MTN8 tracks to the MTN8 fans, we believe it will create even more memorable stadium experiences during the tournament,” concluded Annetts.

PSL CEO, Brand de Villiers said: “This year’s edition of the MTN8 will set the tone for what we hope will be an exciting 2015/16 season. As the PSL, we look forward to working closely with MTN to deliver another great tournament. Last season, the MTN8 broke a new South African record when we sold over 40 000 tickets for the MTN8 final in just over two hours. This demonstrates the appetite the market has for this competition. Every season – we see thousands of football fans packing the stadiums to support their teams. The TV and Radio ratings also tells us that this product is consumed by millions other people at home.” 

MTN8 prize Money Breakdown

MTN8 Champions - R 8 million             
7 Participating Teams - R 800 000

MTN8 tournament Dates:

4/5 August (Quarter finals)

15/16 August (Semi-finals 1st leg)

29/30 August (Semi-finals 2nd leg)

19 September (Final)

2015 MTN8 Quarter-Final Fixtures:

Tuesday, August 4

Bidvest Wits vs. SuperSport United, Bidvest stadium. Kick-off is at 19:30

Orlando Pirates vs. Ajax Cape Town, Orlando Stadium. Kick-off is at 19:30

Wednesday, August 5

Mamelodi Sundowns vs. Bloemfontein Celtic, Lucas Moripe Stadium. Kick-off is at 19:30.

Kaizer Chiefs vs. Maritzburg United, FNB Stadium. Kick-off is at 19:30.


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

28 October 2016
Maritzburg United v Golden Arrows, Harry Gwala Stadium 20:00
Chippa United v Platinum Stars, Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium 20:00
29 October 2016
Orlando Pirates v Kaizer Chiefs, FNB Stadium 15:30
Ajax Cape Town v SuperSport United, Cape Town Stadium 20:15
Bloemfontein Celtic v Wits, Dr. Molemela Stadium 20:15
30 October 2016
Mamelodi Sundowns v Cape Town City, Loftus Versfeld Stadium 15:30
Highlands Park v Free State Stars, Makhulong Stadium 15:30
Baroka FC v Polokwane City, New Peter Mokaba Stadium 15:30
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

When all is said and done in the 2015/16 Absa Premiership season, who will be crowned champions of South Africa?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.