Chiefs dominate PSL awards

2013-05-21 14:17
PSL logo (Gallo)
Johannesburg - The Premier Soccer League has released the names of the nominees for their annual end of season awards ceremony.

According to the Soccer-Laduma website, Kaizer Chiefs have been crowned the Absa Premiership champions after their triumphant campaign, while Bloemfontein Celtic and Moroka Swallows won the Telkom Knockout and MTN8, respectively, this season.
The PSL win now recognise the individual performers for their contribution, to what has been an action packed campaign.

The awards ceremony will be held on Sunday, May 26, after Saturday’s Nedbank Cup final, being contested between Chiefs and SuperSport United.

PSL Awards Nominees

Footballer of the season

Thuso Phala (Platinum Stars)
Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs)
Robert Ng’ambi (Platinum Stars)

Absa Premiership

Absa Premiership Players’ Player of the Season – R150 000

Thuso Phala (Platinum Stars)
Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs)
Bernard Parker (Kaizer Chiefs)    

Absa Premiership Goalkeeper of the Season – R50 000

Senzo Meyiwa (Orlando Pirates)
Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs)
Ronwen Williams (SuperSport United)

Absa Premiership Young Player of the Season – R50 000

Tshepo Gumede (Platinum Stars)
Ronwen Williams (SuperSport United)
Bongani Zungu (University of Pretoria)

Absa Premiership Coach of the Season – R75 000

Cavin Johnson (Platinum Stars)
Clinton Larsen (Bloemfontein Celtic)
Stuart Baxter (Kaizer Chiefs)

Absa Premiership Absa-lutely Awesome Goal of the Season – R50 000

Mor Diouf (SuperSport United)
Fikru Lemessa (Free State Stars)
Sifiso Myeni (Orlando Pirates)

Absa Premiership Top Goalscorer – R25 000

Katlego Mashego (Moroka Swallows)

Nedbank Cup

Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament                                                             

Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs)
Edwin Gyimah (SuperSport United)
Walter Maponyane (United FC)

Nedbank Cup Most Promising Player of the Tournament

Edwin Gyimah (SuperSport United)
Tshepo Gumede (Platinum Stars)
Siyabulela Shai (United FC)

Telkom Knockout

Telkom Knockout Player of the Tournament

Joel Mogorosi (Bloemfontein Celtic)
Ruzigh Gamaldien (Bloemfontein Celtic)
Thabo Ntethe (Bloemfontein Celtic)


MTN8 Last Man Standing

Bennett Chenene (Moroka Swallows)
Lerato Chabangu (Moroka Swallows)
George Nergadzi (Moroka Swallows)

Match officials

Referee of the Season

Lwandile Mfiki
Victor Gomes
Robert Smith

Assistant Referee of the Season

Lindikhaya Bolo
Zakhele Siwela
Enoch Molefe

Read more on:    psl  |  soccer

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

28 October 2016
Maritzburg United v Golden Arrows, Harry Gwala Stadium 20:00
Chippa United v Platinum Stars, Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium 20:00
29 October 2016
Orlando Pirates v Kaizer Chiefs, FNB Stadium 15:30
Ajax Cape Town v SuperSport United, Cape Town Stadium 20:15
Bloemfontein Celtic v Wits, Dr. Molemela Stadium 20:15
30 October 2016
Mamelodi Sundowns v Cape Town City, Loftus Versfeld Stadium 15:30
Highlands Park v Free State Stars, Makhulong Stadium 15:30
Baroka FC v Polokwane City, New Peter Mokaba Stadium 15:30
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

When all is said and done in the 2015/16 Absa Premiership season, who will be crowned champions of South Africa?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.