Chiefs confirmed Q1 winners

2014-09-29 13:08
Stuart Baxter (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - The Premier Soccer League have confirmed Kaizer Chiefs as the winners of the 2014/15 Q-Innovation Quarter One, with one round of fixtures to spare.

As it happened: Chiefs v Maritzburg

Amakhosi continue to prove their mantle, having made it seven wins from seven in the league after seeing off Maritzburg United on Saturday, while they also recently dispatched of Orlando Pirates in the MTN8 final.

And, with Chiefs holding a seven-point advantage over second in the top-flight standings, the Soweto giants are unable to be caught in Q1, which covers the first eight games of the league campaign, and have since been awarded the R1.5 million cheque.

PSL CEO Brand de Villiers said: “Kaizer Chiefs have been playing great football lately and it is no surprise that they have emerged as the overall winners of Quarter One.

"I would like to congratulate Kaizer Chiefs chairman, Mr Kaizer Motaung, management, coach Stuart Baxter, the players and the Kaizer Chiefs supporters for this achievement.”

The achievement marks AmaKhosi's fourth Quarter success since the Q-Innovation was introduced in the 2012/13 campaign, with reigning PSL champions Mamelodi Sundowns in second with three, followed by Platinum Stars with two.

The Glamour Boys next face Maritzburg United in the Telkom Knockout on Saturday, October 4 at 20:15.

Read more on:    kaizer chiefs  |  psl  |  stuart baxter  |  soccer

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

25 October 2016
Chippa United v Bloemfontein Celtic, Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium 19:30
26 October 2016
Ajax Cape Town v Wits, Cape Town Stadium 19:30
28 October 2016
Maritzburg United v Golden Arrows, Harry Gwala Stadium 20:00
Chippa United v Platinum Stars, Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium 20:00
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

When all is said and done in the 2015/16 Absa Premiership season, who will be crowned champions of South Africa?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.