10-man Pirates come out winners

2015-02-14 18:06
Lehlohonolo Majoro (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - A ten man Orlando Pirates registered their second league win of 2015 after beating Platinum Stars 2-0 in an Absa Premiership match at the Royal Bafokeng Stadium on Saturday.

As it happened: Platinum Stars v Pirates

The win is the Buccaneers’ ninth of the league season and second of 2015 as they move up to 32 points in fourth place on the table.

Lehlohonolo Majoro and Lennox Bacela scored at the end of each half to hand Pirates the three points, but not before the former was sent off just after the hour mark.

The visitors controlled the match from the onset but struggled to fashion any clear cut goal scoring chances.

Issa Saar came close for Pirates in the 15th minute when his header at a corner-kick went narrowly wide, but besides from that chances for the Buccaneers were at a minimum.

Platinum Stars should have been given the lead in the 35th minute when Ndumiso Mabena broke through on goal and beat the keeper, but his goal was not allowed to stand as he was ruled off-sides, wrongly so.

Ten minutes later Pirates finally made their pressure when Majoro gave them the lead after being put though on goal by Oupa Manyisa and he made no mistake with just the keeper to beat.

Stars were the better side in the second half, but again passing in the final third was poor and chances on goal were hard to come by.

In the 62nd minute the game sprang into life when Pirates were reduced to ten men after Majoro was shown a straight red card.

Stars pressed forward after that and came closest to equalising in the 85th minute when Eleazar Rodgers struck the crossbar with a ten-yard bicycle kick.

Bacela guaranteed Pirates the win in the 90th minute when he made the most of a mess-up by the Platinum Stars keeper to slot into an empty net from 14-yards out, 2-0.


Platinum Stars: Dambe, Masenamela, Semenya, Tshikovi, Mere, Madubanya (Rodgers 68’), Mathe, Makhudubela, Ngele, Nyanda (Segolela 61’), Mabena. 

Orlando Pirates: Mhlongo, Matlaba, Mahamutsa, Sangweni, Jele, Sarr, Ntshumayelo (Nyauza 82’), Qalinge (Rakhale 60’), Myeni (Bacela 70’), Manyisa, Majoro. 

Read more on:    orlando ­pirates  |  platinum stars  |  psl  |  soccer

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

25 October 2016
Chippa United v Bloemfontein Celtic, Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium 19:30
26 October 2016
Ajax Cape Town v Wits, Cape Town Stadium 19:30
28 October 2016
Maritzburg United v Golden Arrows, Harry Gwala Stadium 20:00
Chippa United v Platinum Stars, Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium 20:00
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

When all is said and done in the 2015/16 Absa Premiership season, who will be crowned champions of South Africa?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.