Pirates crowned MTN8 champs

2011-09-10 22:58
Oupa Manyisa (Gallo Images)
Johannesburg - Orlando Pirates won the MTN8 for a second successive time after defeating Kaizer Chiefs 1-0 after extra time at FNB Stadium on Saturday evening.
Oupa Manyisa scored the winning goal early in the second half of extra time, finally breaking the deadlock in a game in which the defences were very much on top.
The first half of regulation time was very evenly matched and the two sides essentially cancelled each other out.
The only half chances fell the way of Ndumiso Mabena and Lehlohonolo Majoro for Pirates and Chiefs respectively, but neither found the target.
The second half was far more entertaining and it was the Buccaneers who took charge of the game, dominating possession and forcing Chiefs onto the back foot.
Defender Siyabonga Sangweni had two free headers which he should have scored from – one he put over the target, and the other forced Itumeleng Khune into a fine save.
Amakhosi rarely threatened after the break, but substitute Sthembiso Ngcobo twice came close to breaking the deadlock, forcing Moeneeb Josephs into a good save with a low shot before glancing a header just wide of the near post.
As the clock ticked into injury time at the end of the regulation 90 minutes, controversy struck. Bongani Ndulula headed home what appeared to be a winner for Pirates, but referee Victor Hlungwani adjudged the young striker to have pushed Dominic Isaacs in the back.
However, Pirates didn’t let the incident affect their focus and they finally breached the Chiefs defence in the 107th minute, with Manyisa scoring with a skidding long range shot that bust past the arms of Khune.
The Amakhosi ‘keeper saw the ball late but he will feel that he should have kept it out his net. The goal proved decisive, with Chiefs simply unable to summon enough reserves to bring themselves back into the game.
Orlando Pirates (0) (0) 1 (Manyisa 107’)
Kaizer Chiefs 0
Pirates: Josephs; Jele, Sangweni, Lekgwathi, Cloete; Jali, Manyisa; Segolela, Mbuyane (Mahamutsa 114’), Mabalane (Klate 76’); Mabena (Ndulula 58’)
Chiefs: Khune; Tau, Isaacs, Sweswe, Jambo; Dladla (Nale 111’), Nengomasha, Letsholonyane, Tshabalala (Katsande 81’); Parker, Majoro (Ngcobo 63’)



Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
  • Blitz
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @00:00
  • SS1
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @01:00
  • SS2
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @02:00
  • SS3
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @03:00
Video Highlights
Sport Talk
Most Read


Rugby World Cup 2015

All the action from the 2015 RWC, including live coverage of all 48 matches, breaking news, fixtures, results, logs - and much more!


Rugby World Cup 2015

UK expert: Boks ‘have KO game’
Ireland hold on to down Italy
As it happened: Ireland 16-9 Italy
All Blacks sympathise with England
Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


Take a photographical trip down memory lane and remind yourself of how the Springboks fared in their five previous Rugby World Cup campaigns. In addition, pick your all-time Springbok Rugby World Cup Dream Team and you could win R3 000!

Latest blogs

Who was the best summer signing in the EPL?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.