Germany's SWC team win Laureus award

2015-04-15 15:01
Coach Loew introduces Götze into the SWC final (AFP)

Shanghai - Germany's 2014 Soccer World Cup-winning national squad has won the Team of the Year prize at the Laureus Sports Awards on Wednesday.

Germany beat Argentina 1-0 in last year's final in Brazil to win its fourth World Cup title and first in 24 years.

The German team was picked for the Laureus award over Mercedes' Formula One-winning team, the NBA champion San Antonio Spurs, the Davis Cup-winning Swiss team, the European Ryder Cup-winning team, and Real Madrid, winners of the Champions League title

The Laureus Awards were held for the first time in China and brought out many of the country's top sports stars, including a heavily pregnant tennis player Li Na, basketball player Yao Ming and former Olympic champion hurdler Liu Xiang.

Read more on:    germany  |  soccer

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Live scoring

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Who was the best summer signing in the EPL?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.