English Premiership

Simpson commits to champions Leicester

2016-09-01 17:49
Danny Simpson and Jamie Vardy (TEAMtalk)

London - Controversial full-back Danny Simpson became the second player this week to commit his future to Premier League champions Leicester City when he signed a new three-year contract on Thursday.

The new contract sees the 29-year-old -- who went to court in May to gain permission to attend the club's victory parade because he was under curfew for assaulting his then girlfriend -- tied to the club until 2019.

Simpson, who failed to settle earlier in his career and spent most of his time on loan from Manchester United at various clubs until he obtained a permanent move to Newcastle United in 2010, joins winger Marc Albrighton in agreeing new terms with the club who won the title at odds of 5,000/1 last term.

Albrighton, 26, signed a four-year contract on Tuesday, becoming the latest of the key players in the title triumph to remain loyal to the club.

The England duo of striker Jamie Vardy and midfielder Danny Drinkwater, Algerian star Riyad Mahrez, captain Wes Morgan, Danish goalkeeper Kasper Schmeichel and manager Claudio Ranieri have all signed new contracts.

The only major departure was French international midfielder N'Golo Kante to Chelsea, while the club has invested heavily in the transfer market, breaking their transfer record three times.

They have bought among others Nigerian winger Ahmed Musa and Algerian international striker Islam Slimani, the latter on Wednesday for a reported club record fee of £29.7 million from Sporting Lisbon.

The Foxes have made a modest start to the defence of their title, standing ninth in the table after three matches on four points, five adrift of heavyweights Manchester City, Manchester United and Chelsea.


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Saturday, 21 October 2017
Chelsea v Watford, Stamford Bridge 13:30
Stoke City v AFC Bournemouth, Bet365 Stadium 16:00
Manchester City v Burnley, Etihad Stadium 16:00
Swansea City v Leicester City, Liberty Stadium 16:00
Newcastle United v Crystal Palace, St. James' Park 16:00
Huddersfield Town v Manchester United, The John Smith's Stadium 16:00
Southampton v West Bromwich Albion, St. Mary's Stadium 18:30
Sunday, 22 October 2017
Everton v Arsenal, Goodison Park 14:30
Tottenham Hotspur v Liverpool, Wembley Stadium 17:00
Saturday, 28 October 2017
Manchester United v Tottenham Hotspur, Old Trafford 13:30
Liverpool v Huddersfield Town, Anfield 16:00
Arsenal v Swansea City, Emirates Stadium 16:00
Crystal Palace v West Ham United, Selhurst Park 16:00
West Bromwich Albion v Manchester City, The Hawthorns 16:00
Watford v Stoke City, Vicarage Road Stadium 16:00
AFC Bournemouth v Chelsea, Vitality Stadium 18:30
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Who will claim the Premier League title at the end of the 2017/18 season?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 PSL season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.