English Premiership

Previous Footballer of the Year winners

2015-05-12 11:35
Eden Hazard (Supplied)
Eden Hazard (Supplied)

Cape Town - Eden Hazard has been named England's Footballer of the Year to cap off his outstanding season with champions Chelsea.

Last month, Hazard was named the Professional Footballers Association Player of the Year award.

Hazard joins Gianfranco Zola and Frank Lampard as Chelsea winner's of the title.

The last 20 winners of the prestigious English Footballer of the Year award:

1995 - Jurgen Klinsmann (Tottenham Hotspur)

1996 - Eric Cantona (Manchester United)

1997 - Gianfranco Zola (Chelsea)

1998 - Dennis Bergkamp (Arsenal)

1999 - David Ginola (Tottenham Hotspur)

2000 - Roy Keane (Manchester United)

2001 - Teddy Sheringham (Manchester United)

2002 - Robert Pires (Arsenal)

2003 - Thierry Henry (Arsenal)

2004 - Thierry Henry (Arsenal)

2005 - Frank Lampard (Chelsea)

2006 - Thierry Henry (Arsenal)

2007 - Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United)

2008 - Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United)

2009 - Steven Gerrard (Liverpool)

2010 - Wayne Rooney (Manchester United)

2011 - Scott Parker (West Ham United)

2012 - Robin van Persie (Arsenal)

2013 - Gareth Bale (Tottenham Hotspur)

2014 - Luis Suarez (Liverpool)

2015 - Eden Hazard (Chelsea)

Read more on:    chelsea  |  english premiership  |  eden hazard  |  soccer

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

22 October 2016
Bournemouth v Tottenham Hotspur, Vitality Stadium 13:30
Arsenal v Middlesbrough, Emirates Stadium 16:00
Leicester City v Crystal Palace, King Power Stadium 16:00
Swansea City v Watford, Liberty Stadium 16:00
West Ham United v Sunderland, Olympic Stadium 16:00
Hull City v Stoke City, The KC Stadium 16:00
Burnley v Everton, Turf Moor 16:00
Liverpool v West Bromwich Albion, Anfield 18:30
23 October 2016
Manchester City v Southampton, Etihad Stadium 14:30
Chelsea v Manchester United, Stamford Bridge 17:00
29 October 2016
Sunderland v Arsenal, Stadium of Light 13:30
Manchester United v Burnley, Old Trafford 16:00
Middlesbrough v Bournemouth, Riverside Stadium 16:00
West Bromwich Albion v Manchester City, The Hawthorns 16:00
Watford v Hull City, Vicarage Road 16:00
Tottenham Hotspur v Leicester City, White Hart Lane 16:00
Crystal Palace v Liverpool, Selhurst Park 18:30
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Will Jose Mourinho lead Manchester United to the English Premiership title in 2016/17?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.