Confederations Cup

Blatter gives SA 7.5/10

2009-06-29 13:58
Email | Print
Sepp Blatter (Gallo)

Johannesburg - South Africa's Confederation Cup Organising Committee just missed a distinction when FIFA president Sepp Blatter made his assessment of the organisation of the tournament which was completed on Sunday.

Blatter awarded South Africa 7.5 out of 10 and said his faith in awarding both the Confederations Cup and the 2010 World Cup finals to South Africa has been more than justified.

On Bafana Bafana's fourth place finish, the FIFA boss said Bafana had been the surprise team of the tournament and said Bafana could also get as far in the World Cup semi-finals.

"I watched the eventual winners Brazil struggle to beat Bafana 1-0 with a goal in the 88th minute in the semi-finals and then Bafana came within a whisker of beating European champions Spain in the third place playoff going down 3-2 after extra time.

"Bafana improved dramatically as the tournament progressed and if they get another top quality striker, could reach the semi-finals of the World Cup."

Blatter was speaking at a final media briefing to wrap up the tournament at Coca-Cola Park on Monday. All 24 members of the FIFA Executive Committee unanimously praised the way the Confederations Cup was run and said they know they can look forward to a hugely successful 2010 World Cup.

Blatter admitted not everything went right. He said the question of transport and lack of accommodation were two key areas that the 2010 Local Organising Committee would have to rectify before the World Cup kicks off on June 11.

"It was a good Confederations Cup on an off the field. I am more than satisfied and hoping to sit here and award South Africa 10 out of 10 for hosting the World Cup when it ends next July. It is very important for Fifa to host the biggest soccer event in Africa and we know we made the right decision to award it to South Africa.

"But the World Cup is a bigger challenge as regards transport and accommodation. We are expecting about 450 000 soccer tourists and they will need somewhere to sleep and to take them to and from venues.

"So this is a priority we need to resolve."

FIFA secretary general Jerome Valcke will meet with 2001 LOC chief executive officer Danny Jordaan this week to iron out problem areas.

Said Valcke: "We cannot hide the fact we had problems with the Park and Ride system, the media shuttle and sighnage did not work.

"But these are problems we can solve and when we make the draw for the World Cup in Cape Town in December, I hope to have them all solved."

Jordaan said the Confederation Cup was history. "Hosting the Confederations Cup was the first small step to staging a successful World Cup. But we are on track.

"There are a lot of challenges ahead and we will meet them head on.

"The highlight for me was Bafana's heroics against Spain. They were brilliant and what was even more fantastic was how they have managed to get the nation behind them. "

FIFA and the media gave a minute silence for the German journalist Wolfgang Jost who was killed in a car accident on the way to the semifinal between Spain and the United States in Bloemfontein last Wednesday.

Your Comments

Basson7/1/2009 11:03 AM
WOW guys, you can jump onto your high horses without brain engaged and reading properly!!! I only said: what fair is is fair. I you know me you will know that I am involved in A LOT of work involving PDI's, etc - from free flight training, to free professional coaching etc etc. I am no rasicst, why are you always so quick to jump on that bandwagon - regardless of positive criticism? You are very welcome to email me and we can discull thios openly. Overall it was a huge success - and I supported Bafana 100%! So stop to live in your own small world.
Anonymous User6/30/2009 2:09 PM
Dear Mark, Your comments are encouraging. I am not sure what city you hail from but I have travelled to many cities in the world and stay in only 5 star hotels and I beg to differ. The 5 star hotels in SA are value for money and can compete with the best in the world if not better. I am not sure what you mean by "5 star requirement" and which hotel you stayed at but it would be a good idea not to lump all the hotels in the same light. Transport I agree with, this has always been a issue and this is why the 7.5. I see you did not mention the actual "game" and the atmostphere which is acutally why sports fanatics travel to these events. If you put more emphasis on the actual games and the enjoyment of most of the fans attending you would not question the 7.5 or maybe would think it is too low. All I can say that true soccer supporters would have left the spoilt ramblings at home and commented rather on quality of soccer they witnessed.
Anonymous User6/30/2009 12:42 PM
@Basson: Dont be a d***! The confed cup was a great success! The FIFA world cup is one of the largest international sporting events which surpasses anything we have ever seen. Not even the rugby world cup matches up in numbers (supporters, countries participating,etc). To all the haters out there - try stop being arm chair professionals and actually catch a game! Go Bafana Bafana! Proud Whitie!
Philzilla6/29/2009 6:54 PM
Basson/Anon etc. - Dudes, when summer comes you can park-off at your Weber with your chommies and your beers glued to your hands with your racist jokes and talk all the K@K you want, you're no different from any other white sh1tstain in this country wishing hate and failiure in 2010. You're a product of this country's ugly past, you have no sense of pride of anything other than your myopic rugby/cricket upbringing. You can whinge and b1tch about everything in the country but you're sure to do sweet bugger all about it.
Mark6/29/2009 6:24 PM
What a mess, the opening game it took us 6 hours afterwards to get back to a very overated hotel in sandton which does not meet the 5 star requirement we paid for. Transport a nightmare , accomodation a nightmare , security a joke. Being in the travle industry and looking at this for clients for next year i cant recomend it at all. Blatters 7.5 out of 10 is a grave error find out from the people who are doing the work to make this work abroad so good dollars and pounds can get to the rgass roots not from the spin doctors in palce in the goverment run commitees. Suitcases - out of our party of 10 which had 10 suitcases we had 3 lost by SAA never returned and 2 lost on the way back so 5 out 10 for stealing. Good luck is all i can say , i wont be attending.
zeno6/29/2009 5:39 PM
Maybe some of you guys should give a thanks to the thousands of south africans, some of them volunteers working for nothing, in making this a very successful tournament. We will fix the problems for 2010 and next year's event will be amazing!
joey6/29/2009 5:37 PM
well done SA !!!We are right behind you come2010.Knew you could do it ...welcome the world to colorful AFRICA!!!
fern6/29/2009 5:33 PM
Basson is an id1ot. Ignore Him. This isn't rugby. They didn't train at schools.
katman6/29/2009 4:47 PM
Basson, what exactly is a white school? Didn't know we still had them.
Anonymous User6/29/2009 4:38 PM
You did an excellent job SA. All Egyptians support you in 2010.
Craig6/29/2009 4:21 PM
We only get one opportunity. We have to score 10/10. We have invested billions in this 30 day event. It would be really silly to accept 7.5. This has to be EXCEPTIONAL rather than acceptable!!!! This may be a case of glass half full versus glass half empty but I do believe that SA has the ability to score 10/10 and therefore anything less is unacceptable...
Anonymous User6/29/2009 4:13 PM
Hehe...what a bunch of suckers! Did any of you in your right mind think that Blatter would give a poor mark? The man has to qualify his decision to stage the world cup here - not that I am saying Africa does not desrve it. Remember FIFA have already taken their boodle and Blatter is earning his interest in some Swiss or Monte Carlo bank. Bring on 2010 - and let the poor over burdened taxpayers foot the debt after Blatter and his kronies have gone. Simple question to FIFA - preaching Africa deserves it - why not forfeit 50% of the guarantees and then show your committment.
Mandy6/29/2009 4:05 PM
Well done boys. You played well and I think the spirit on and off the field was awesome. Come on 2010. We'll show the world how it is done. PS: At least the soccer did not nearly give me a heart attack like the rugby. To you to boys, well done.
Aneesa6/29/2009 3:56 PM
The Confederation cup was superb. I am an Indian girl. I was at the final on Sunday & all I can say is that i was proud to be a South African. To all the spanish who wanted the Vuvuzela's banned. i think we should ban the Spanish. they are racist. Jacob Zuma carried himself superbly. We are going to shine for 2010. i have no doubt.
Jean6/29/2009 3:52 PM
Guys - if we all got behinde Bafana Bafana instead of mocking them down every step of the way I reckon we could well in the world cup - they lifted their game 100% and made us proud well me anyway. Well done team.
Amanda6/29/2009 3:51 PM
Well done to SA for staging a world class event. I went to one of the games and I was blown away by the service and security. This was great for us and I wish some South Africans could stop being so negative and I appreciate our successes and look forward to overcoming the minor challenges. Leave this country if you cannot be part of growing it. I don't care what colour your skin is we all need to be behind our country and we don't need people like this.
Anonymous User6/29/2009 3:47 PM
Soccer will be the game that will unite South Africans in the coming years. Every country in the world has people that will be abrasive and disruptive. Like the streakers on the fields - Don't pay any attention to them - They're not worth it. I am very impressed as a white South African at the progress of Bafana Bafana and I know they need a few more international games and individual player exposure to international football clubs to become truly world class. A real privilege to have a coach like Joel Santana from Rio! I hope we don't test his patience too much. Go Bafana Bafana! The door is open for you to become world class. You are already a force to be reckoned with.
Basson6/29/2009 3:41 PM
Anon 6/29/2009 3:22 PM : I made a fair comment, and I DID attend the games, but as I said, what fair is is fair - why attack me as a person, and why is it racist to air my observation? So name me the schools and I will retract my statement uncond. Well, opening and closing ceremony is like 2 games out of HOW MANY???
Fransesco6/29/2009 3:36 PM
Who did Sepp sleep with while here ?
realist6/29/2009 3:26 PM
SA definitely deserves 10/10 for staging a successful tournament. Bodes well for 2010. Pity about the poor level of football from the host nation. Only one win – eish. Let’s not kid ourselves – we only got that far because of automatic qualification as hosts! And even a more pathetic display of support by the locals at Bafana’s final game. As opposed to the sell-out Lions’ rugby test, where tickets were a hundred times more expensive....
Harry6/29/2009 3:25 PM
Anonymous User = Stupid Poes
Anonymous User6/29/2009 3:22 PM
@Basson Geez, I am wondering if you are blind or racist, but notice that part of the performers in the closing and openning ceremonies were white? Notice that the one player who has the most name recognition is white? consider that the population of this country is 9% white and soccer has never been racist like rugby or cricket, and I wouls suggest you go back to the hole you slithered out of
The B6/29/2009 3:21 PM
I just love the way that this Confed Cup has united True South Africans. Everyone speaking in one voice. Oops I guess that's "x-1", 1 being for some IDIOT. I truly enjoyed the spectacle, we will deliver a successful 2010 WC. Some people are a waste of breath and space in our beautiful country.
Spartan6/29/2009 3:15 PM
@ chris & others...thank Blatter for saving your stupid little arse you ungrateful punk. He brought the WC here dispite huge protest all around the world about SA's ability to host successfully. Now the country is benefitting from if financially & politically. If you cant be thankful for this rather dont comment here
fern6/29/2009 3:13 PM
Very well done. Awesome to watch. Big praise from international guests too. Hey anonymous loser - check your spelling and attitude
Anonymous User6/29/2009 3:13 PM
Anon 2:15 pm, you must be such a genius in life, may be everything you do in life its 100% with you, You must be living a lonely life though, skelm!!!
fern6/29/2009 3:13 PM
Very well done. Awesome to watch. Big praise from international guests too. Hey anonymous loser - check your spelling and attitude
Anonymous User6/29/2009 3:04 PM
75% score at varsity = one big party
Anonymous User6/29/2009 3:04 PM
Anonymous user 2:15. I do not know in what cases 75% is a fail, but looking at how you spelled "insome" you would probably know best.
nigel6/29/2009 3:04 PM
It was good enough...the highlight was Bafana Bafana, they played amazingly, I look forward to an exciting World Cup, to those who say it failed..wake up & get over your negativity.
Anonymous User6/29/2009 3:03 PM
For accomodation please look to south african companies to help like: http://www.globalpillow.co.za/
Basson6/29/2009 3:01 PM
Ja Blatter, and I give you a ZERO / 10, for pratically running the country the past 4 weeks, getting Gov't to snuggle up to you, etc etc. (Airspace, roads, etc) Also, your slogan on the ad boards 'Say no to racism', well, I didn't see ONE white person acting in any capacity (obo FIFA / LOC) at the stadiums, and tell me please, at which white schools did the teams practise? I have no problem with being FAIR to EVERYBODY, but it cuts BOTH ways.
Bruce6/29/2009 3:01 PM
F#@&%$K off Anonymous @2.15. You are one of those pathetic individuals who, from day 1 prayed that SA would mess up. Well we DID NOT. Unfortunately for you & your kind SA is proving critics wrong. This is a home of CHOICE for many who chose to find the positives in our country.
Anonymous User6/29/2009 3:01 PM
Even the most sceptical prophet of doom has to admit that our team improved as the tournament progressed, and that our overall performance as a host nation was good, although not faultless. Get behind 2010 rather than waiting to say "I told you so"
Anonymous User6/29/2009 2:57 PM
sepp platter is smoking some heavy stuff... 7.5/10 is unfair, i think we deserve a 10/10 for a country thats only been on the map since 94! this is africa,expect a world cup AFRICAN STYLE
Well done SA6/29/2009 2:55 PM
A fail? you are kidding arent you?? I think that 7.5 out of 10 is an excellent score for a country that was supposed to be unable to host the event, and where in a position where the World Cup was going to be given to Australia. Yes there are a few problems, but hey, we still have a year left... Well done SA, you can be proud of yourself for pulling off not only a Confederations Cup, but a Lions Tour at the same time.
Anonymous User6/29/2009 2:54 PM
Anonymous user 2:15. I do not know in what cases 75% is a fail, but looking at how you spelled "insome" you would probably know best.
Jim6/29/2009 2:52 PM
Anonymous at 2:15...You are a knob. They were quite happy and said a few things need ironing out. That is far from a fail.
Anonymous User6/29/2009 2:52 PM
To Anonymous User @ 2:15pm: Based on your comment, I think you're an EPIC FAIL, you idiot! Please find another country to live in because pessimists like you don't deserve to live in South Africa! And before you think I'm playing the race card, think again, I'm a minority race!
conrad6/29/2009 2:47 PM
anonymous... you are an idiot/arsehole !!! I don't think you know what you are talking about and should therefore rather reserve your stupid comments for yourself.
Anonymous User6/29/2009 2:46 PM
So what do the naysayer say now? They were waiting for us to fail and for us to lose the World Cup. We were proudly successful.
Basson6/29/2009 2:46 PM
Ja Blatter, and I give you a ZERO / 10, for pratically running the country the past 4 weeks, get Gov't to snuggle up to you, etc etc. (Airspace, roads, etc) Also, your slogan on the ad boards 'Say no to racism', well, I didn't see ONE white person acting in any capacity (obo FIFA / LOC) at the stadiums, and tell me please, at which white schools did the teams practise? I have no problem with being FAIR to EVERYBODY, but it cuts BOTH ways.
PUNAS6/29/2009 2:46 PM
BLATTER CORRECT WE NEED TO RESOLVE ALL THIS MATTERS,& WITH NO DOUBT BY WC WILL BE RESOLVED. THANKS TO CONFED FOR SHOWING US THE ARIAS OF IMPROVEMENT,
Doorboot6/29/2009 2:45 PM
Brilliant and well done, there is no way that this score can be seen as a fail. Being negative and obtuse does not help anyone. Being realistic and adressing the problem does. I am confident that SA will host sucsessful and enjoyable World Cup, well done LOC.
David6/29/2009 2:41 PM
Ah come on, this Confed Cup was by NO means a failure... It has only worked to achieve positive results over the last few months. Our infrastructure is improving and a nation is becoming even more united. It's a step in the right direction for the Big One next year! Well done to all involved in helping to make it the great success that it was! :-)
Anonymous User6/29/2009 2:40 PM
Negativity doesn't run the City, I attended quite a number of games and its fait to say the tourney was a success. Thumbs Up SA!!!
Anonymous User6/29/2009 2:38 PM
@ anon 2:15pm - why must you be so negative? 75% is good enough in anyone's books. There are areas which need to be improved BUT overall the tournament was a success. Live on the positive side of life.
halu226/29/2009 2:38 PM
Judging by the fact we are a third world country - developing nation we had done a lot. this auagurs very well for future events. Bring on the Olympics , I've seen everything but nothing like that in Africa. The few tiding problems will be sorted out. even some developed nation have their challenges. Come June 2010 we will be sing Shosholoza regardless of all the negetive things which has been reported by the world press
jayson6/29/2009 2:38 PM
Anon your mind was really messed up big time by the apartheid system.I have been reading some of your comments on the confed cup and i think you are one of the verkramp afrikaaner seun from blikkies in krugersdorp that thinks to be white is right.You think that if something isn't done by a someone other then white then the event will be a flop regardless wheter it succed or not.Because of your ignorance and stuborness to embrace the new South africa,some way the other it will all come back to hunt you or your children
Anonymous User6/29/2009 2:38 PM
Don't you just love the predicted negative statement. Get a life amous
Anonymous User6/29/2009 2:35 PM
Does the author of this article know something called spellcheck??
Anonymous User6/29/2009 2:35 PM
a pass with room for improvement
SABELO S6/29/2009 2:34 PM
@ anonymous user: who cares what you think? i honestly don't. Mzansi did brilliantly well considering the fact that there is the likes of you who sit on the sidelines and amplify mistakes instead of being the change you want to see.
Anonymous User6/29/2009 2:31 PM
anonymous user 2:15pm - I think you are a fail
Would be good if the writer of the article could spell!
it was great in my opinion - the foreigners loved it too, not as much as the lions supporters tho.... hahahahahahaha
Anonymous User6/29/2009 2:30 PM
good enough for me, bring on 2010!!
Anonymous User6/29/2009 2:28 PM
Please elaborate as to how the Event has been a fail.
Chris6/29/2009 2:27 PM
No I think they were 75% successful. Give them a break
Jambles6/29/2009 2:27 PM
75% a fail? Not sure where you have ever studied? But I have never got 75% for something and been failed.
Chris6/29/2009 2:26 PM
No I think they were 75% successful. Give them a break
Dave W6/29/2009 2:24 PM
I had doubts before this tournament began. I'm impressed at the way it was run and how well S.A. did. Well done !!! C'mon 2010. Congratulations.
erewhon6/29/2009 2:22 PM
Does this mean that Oliphant and Khosa will vote themselves R7.5m each as a bonus?
chris6/29/2009 2:18 PM
Who is this Sepp Blatter anyway! Is he the so called "god" of football. What he says, seems to go! Rubbish, you would think in this day and age, there would be a comittee at FIFA, deciding on what happens! I can't wait for the day, for this idiot to step down!
Anonymous User6/29/2009 2:15 PM
75%....depending on who you are and what you doing is a fail insome cases. In this case I think its a fail
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

The lighter side of Francois Hougaard

Best goal celebration ever?

Best penalty ever?

Front Row Grunt - Tank's blog

Info on the op Bismarck is recovering from

Featured Blog

Lobo salutes Muttiah Muralidaran's genius. He developed the doosra into an art form and terrorised batsmen with his cunning and his wily ways. Although his career was overshadowed by the "chucking" controversy, no-one will ever beat his mark of 800 Test wickets.

Latest blogs

Overhaul in Formula 1 7/29/2010 3:47:49 PM

Knowledge Musona is SA's Jet Club Rookie of the Year. 7/29/2010 3:44:19 PM

Currie cup predictions 7/29/2010 3:17:15 PM

Vote

Which football league around the world is your favourite?

Who is your Hero?

Nominate your hero and win R10 000!

RSS Feeds

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

Mobile

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

Free Email

Free Email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

Blogs

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

TV

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide