Bafana Bafana

Shabba wins SAFA award

2010-12-03 21:30
Siphiwe Tshabalala (Gallo Images)
Johannesburg - Kaizer Chiefs and Bafana Bafana midfielder Siphiwe Tshabalala was the biggest winner at the SAFA awards on Friday night, scooping the 2010 footballer of the year award.

Shabba, as Tshabalala is commonly known, scored the opening goal of the 2010 Fifa World Cup against Mexico, which has since been nominated among the best goals for the tournament.

“I am over the moon, this means a lot to me but credit must go to my teammates at the National team because we did things as a collective.

I would also be wrong not to thank the coaches for having trust in me, and all our supporters for being behind the national team through thick and thin.

This is not my award it’s for South Africa, because the goal I scored in the World Cup helped unite the nation and I just want to say Dankie Mzansi,” said an elated Tshabalala.

Defender Janine van Wyk of Palace Super Falcons, walked away with the Banyana Banyana player of the year for 2010.

She was competing against striker Amanda Dlamini and fellow defender and former captain Simphiwe Dludlu.

“I am glad I have won this award, I have waited so long for this opportunity since joining the National team five years ago.

Having an experienced coach like (Augustine) Makalakalane has contributed positively towards my game which led to this award,” said Van Wyk.

Jermaine Seoposenwe has been hailed as the best Under-17 women’s national team (Bantwana) player for 2010. The striker was part of the Banyana Banyana squad for the 7th CAF African Women’s Championship.

“I am excited and can’t really contain myself. It is a great honour to be given this award as it shows there is something I am doing right.

This should serve as a motivation for me to do even more to achieve even greater things,” said Jermaine.

Orlando Pirates midfielder Andile Jali has only been two seasons in the elite Absa Premiership but has been honoured for his performances for both club and country.

He has been chosen as the youth footballer of the year, beating off a strong challenge from his Under-23 teammates Thulani Serero of Ajax Cape and Ramahlwe Mphahlele of Moroka Swallows.

The coach of the year award went to Under-17 coach Solly Luvhengo. He was also in charge when the Under-17 Women’s national team qualified for the 2010 Fifa Under-17 Women’s World Cup held in September in Trinidad and Tobago.

Luvhengo was nominated with Bafana Bafana coach Pitso Mosimane and Simon Ngomane.

Read more on:    siphiwe tshabalala  |  bafana bafana


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
  • Blitz
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @00:00
  • SS1
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @01:00
  • SS2
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @02:00
  • SS3
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @03:00
Video Highlights
Sport Talk


Bafana Bafana have been drawn with Cameroon, Gambia and Mauritania in the qualification stages for the 2017 AFCON tournament. Where will Shakes Mashaba's men finish in their pool?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


30 of the world's greatest golfers will be heading to the Gary Player Country Club for this year's Nedbank Golf Challenge - now in its 35th year. For all the latest news, player profiles, hole-by-hole descriptions and past winners, be sure to check out Sport24's dedicated section.

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.