Bafana Bafana

Polish puzzle for Igesund

2012-10-09 12:03
Gordon Igesund (Gallo Images)
Cape Town - Gordon Igesund takes charge of his third match at the helm of the South African national team when Bafana Bafana take on Poland at the National Stadium in Warsaw on Friday.
Having been beaten 1-0 by Brazil in Sao Paulo last month, this away match presents a completely different challenge for Igesund and his charges.
Poland may not have the free-flowing style of the South Americans, but they are still a technically-gifted side who boast some fantastic players, particularly Borussia Dortmund duo Robert Lewandowski and Jakub Blaszczykowski.
Igesund has shuffled his squad somewhat compared to the group that did duty against Brazil and Mozambique, and there are some notable new inclusions. The one South African fans will be most intrigued by is Slovak-based Ricardo Nunes, a left wingback who has represented Portugal at youth international level but was born in Johannesburg.
Bloemfontein Celtic’s ‘Mr Reliable’ Thabo Nthethe has been rewarded for his consistency, while there is also a recall for 72-cap veteran Delron Buckley, who has played an important role in Maritzburg United’s good start to the PSL season.
Bafana will be without the likes of Thulani Serero, Benni McCarthy and Siboniso Gaxa due to injury, while former captain Steven Pienaar has retired from international football.
This match will represent the second official meeting of Poland and South Africa. Bafana Bafana beat the Europeans 1-0 at Orlando Stadium in June 2009 in a warm-up match prior to the FIFA Confederations Cup.
Thembinkosi ‘Terror’ Fanteni scored the only goal of the game. Itumeleng Khune, Siphiwe Tshabalala, Kagisho Dikgacoi and Bernard Parker are the only members of the current squad who played a part in that match.
South Africa squad
Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs), Moeneeb Josephs (Orlando Pirates), Wayne Sandilands (Mamelodi Sundowns)
Thabo Nthethe (Bloemfontein Celtic), Punch Masanamela (Mamelodi Sundowns), Luvhengo Mungomeni (Moroka Swallows), Ricardo Nunes (MŠK Žilina, Slovakia), Bongani Khumalo (PAOK, Greece), Siyabonga Sangweni (Orlando Pirates), Eric Mathoho (Kaizer Chiefs), Bevan Fransman (SuperSport United)
Teko Modise (Mamelodi Sundowns), Lerato Chabangu (Moroka Swallows), Siphiwe Tshabalala, George Lebese, Reneilwe Letsholonyane (all Kaizer Chiefs), Delron Buckley (Maritzburg United), May Mahlangu (Helsingborgs IF, Sweden), Dean Furman (Oldham Athletic, England), Sifiso Myeni, Oupa Manyisa (both Orlando Pirates), Kagisho Dikgacoi (Crystal Palace, England), Katlego Mashego (Free State Stars)
Bernard Parker (Kaizer Chiefs), Tokelo Rantie (Malmö FF, Sweden), Dino Ndlovu (Maccabi Haifa, Israel)
Poland squad

Tomasz Kuszczak (Brighton and Hove Albion, England), Przemyslaw Tyton (PSV Eindhoven, Netherlands)
Kamil Glik (Torino, Italy), Marcin Komorowski (Terek Grozny, Russia), Damien Perquis (Real Betis, Spain), Lukasz Piszczek (Borussia Dortmund, Germany), Marcin Wasilewski (Anderlecht, Belgium), Grzegorz Wojtkowiak (1860 Munich, Germany)
Jakub Blaszczykowski (Borussia Dortmund, Germany), Ariel Borysiuk (Kaiserslautern, Germany), Kamil Grosicki (Sivasspor, Turkey), Grzegorz Krychowiak (Reims, France), Adrian Mierzejewski (Trabzonspor, Turkey), Ludovic Obraniak (Bordeaux, France), Eugen Polanski (Mainz, Germany)
Robert Lewandowski (Borussia Dortmund, Germany), Artur Sobiech (Hannover 96, Germany)

Read more on:    bafana bafana  |  gordon igesund  |  soccer

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
1 comment
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk


Who would you like to see take over as Bafana Bafana coach following Shakes Mashaba's sacking?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.