Bafana Bafana

Mosimane loses Bafana stars

2012-01-03 07:07
Pitso Mosimane (Gallo)
Johannesburg - Pitso Mosimane has had to call up five new players for the upcoming friendlies with Equatorial Guinea, Zambia and Ghana after Orlando Pirates, Mamelodi Sundowns and Golden Arrows withdrew their players from the national squad.

The newcomers are: goalkeepers Darren Keet (Kortrijk, Belgium) and Brilliant Khuzwayo (Thanda Royal Zulu), defenders Ayanda Gcaba (Free State Stars) and Wayne Arendse (Santos), and midfielder Sibusiso Vilakazi (Bidvest Wits).

Those denied permission by their clubs include Wayne Sandilands, Katlego Mphela, Teko Modise, Themba Zwane, Thanduyise Khuboni, Siyabonga Sangweni, Andile Jali, Moeneeb Josephs, Daine Klate and Oupa Manyisa, as well as Belgium-based defender Anele Ngcongca.

Kaizer Chiefs winger Siphiwe Tshabalala will also play no part as he undergoes a 10-day trial with Championship side Crystal Palace.

Mosimane said: "We have had to call up additional players to fill the gap created by the non-availability of some players. It is a blow not to have some of our regular players but this will give others an opportunity to prove their mettle."

SAFA acting president Chief Mwelo Nonkonyana says the clubs are entitled to withdraw their players as the fixtures fall outside of the FIFA calendar.

"The South African Football Association was fully aware that the proposed friendly fixtures fell out of the FIFA calendar and, as a result, posed challenges with regards to player release," he said.

"But as an association we are happy that we are still able to help the coach with his plans of preparing the team for AFCON 2013 and 2014 Brazil."

Bafana will visit Equatorial Guinea in Bata on 6 January, with kickoff at 19:30 local time (20:30 SA). The match was originally scheduled for 5 January.

Mosimane's men will then play Zambia in Atteridgeville on 11 January before hosting Ghana in Phokeng on 15 January.

The squad travelling to Equatorial Guinea:

Goalkeepers: Darren Keet and Brilliant Khuzwayo.

Defenders: Siboniso Gaxa, Morgan Gould, Ayanda Gcaba, Erick Mathoho, Nazeer Allie, Anele Ngcongca, Rudiger Gilbert and Patrick Phungwayo.

Midfielders: Daylon Claasen, Reneilwe Letsholonyane, George Maluleka, Sibusiso Vilakazi, May Mahlangu, Granwald Scott, Mzikayise Mashaba and George Lebese.

Strikers: Lehlohonolo Majoro, Bradley Grobler, Siyabonga Nontshinga and Ryan Chapman.

Read more on:    pitso mosimane  |  johannesburg

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
1 comment
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk


Bafana Bafana have been drawn with Cameroon, Gambia and Mauritania in the qualification stages for the 2017 AFCON tournament. Where will Shakes Mashaba's men finish in their pool?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.