Bafana Bafana

Mosimane axes Bafana captain

2011-03-15 12:04
Aaron Mokoena (Gallo)
Johannesburg - Pitso Mosimane has recalled Katlego Mphela and Kagisho Dikgacoi to the Bafana Bafana squad that will tackle Egypt.

The crucial African Nations Cup qualifier will be played at Ellis Park on March 26 and with the duo both enjoying regular game time, their selection comes as no surprise.

The South Africa boss named a squad of 24 and revealed a further eight players were included 'for observation'.

Perhaps the most shocking finding was that Aaron Mokoena was again left out of the squad as he struggles to cement a regular starting spot for Portsmouth.

BidVest Wits attacking midfielder Sifiso Myeni has earned another call-up following some sensational performances for the club in recent fixtures.

He could be one of players Mosimane merely wants to have a look at, but the Bafana boss will have a selection headache in the centre of the park and upfront.

Reneilwe Letsholonyane,Thanduyise Khuboni, Andile Jali and Kagisho Dikgacoi, who are all on form, will be jostling for a place in central midfield.

Davide Somma and Mphela form part of the same squad for the first time and Mosimane was coy on how he would make use of the target men.

The local-based players will assemble for camp on 16 March, with the overseas-placed stars joining them on March 20.

Bafana squad:

Goalkeepers: Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs), Wayne Sandilands (Mamelodi Sundowns), Darren Keet (Bidvest Wits).

Defenders: Siboniso Gaxa (Lierse SK, Belgium), Morgan Gould (SuperSport United), Anele Ngcongca (Genk, Belgium), Siyabonga Sangweni, Mzivukile Tom (both Golden Arrows), Bongani Khumalo (Tottenham Hotspur, England), Rueben Cloete (Orlando Pirates).

Midfielders: Siphiwe Tshabalala, Reneilwe Letsholonyane (both Kaizer Chiefs), Sifiso Myeni (Bidvest Wits), Thanduyise Khuboni (Golden Arrows), Steven Pienaar (Tottenham Hotspur), Andile Jali, Tlou Segolela (Orlando Pirates), Daylon Claasen (Lierse SK, Belgium), Kagisho Dikgacoi (Fulham, England), Thulani Serero (Ajax Cape Town)

Strikers: Davide Somma (Leeds United, England), Bernard Parker (Panserraikos), Kermit Erasmus (SuperSport United), Katlego Mphela (Mamelodi Sundowns)



Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
  • Blitz
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @00:00
  • SS1
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @01:00
  • SS2
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @02:00
  • SS3
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @03:00
Video Highlights
Sport Talk


Bafana Bafana have been drawn with Cameroon, Gambia and Mauritania in the qualification stages for the 2017 AFCON tournament. Where will Shakes Mashaba's men finish in their pool?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


As the Absa Premiership nears the Christmas break, a little over half the season remains. Who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Which teams will be relegated? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.