Rugby

Watson signs for Bath

2009-06-14 12:39
Email | Print
Heading for Bath (Gallo Images)

London - Bath have completed the signing of Western Province captain and former South Africa back rower Luke Watson.

The 25-year-old has agreed a two-year deal with the Premiership club and will join after this year's Currie Cup competition, which ends in October.

Watson has won 10 caps in a turbulent career with the Springboks.

"Joining Bath is a new beginning and an opportunity to grow and experience the game in the top echelons of northern hemisphere rugby," he said.

"Playing in the Cape for Western Province and the Stormers has been, and remains, a privilege.

"We still have some unfinished business in this year's Currie Cup, and I will be giving my all to ensure a successful season for the team and the Newlands faithful."

Head coach Steve Meehan is delighted with the signing, saying: "Luke Watson is a very talented rugby player and an experienced leader who is yet to reach his peak.

"We are very happy to have him arriving at Bath, even though we may have to wait until November.

"We are certain he will have a huge impact. Our discussions have been very straightforward, and neither of us is in any doubt of the way Bath play their rugby and the responsibilities he will inherit."

Watson's selection for the Springboks became a major talking point in 2007 as South Africa's rugby union bosses were placed under pressure from the country's government to select more black players at Super 14 and international level.

Watson, the son of famous anti-apartheid activist Cheeky Watson, was considered too small for international by then coach Jake White but politicians said that he should be thought of as a black player and given selection preference.

The capture of Watson, who captained Western Province in their game against the British and Irish Lions on 13 June, will be a boost for Bath who have had made the headlines for the wrong reasons so far this summer.

Michael Lipman, Alex Crockett and Andrew Higgins all resigned from the club at the start of June with the Rugby Football Union launching an inquiry into allegations made against the trio.

And in May, Australian lock Justin Harrison requested an early release from his contract following an alleged incident during the club's end-of-season party. 

Your Comments

Anonymous User6/23/2009 1:26 AM
Cheeky cant go with him just now ?????
Zee6/18/2009 3:43 PM
Sad that we are losing a great rugby player. On the upside, at least we won't have to deal with you dutchmen and your lame puke comments!
BlouLou6/16/2009 1:41 PM
As Luke so useless was hoekom spandeer julle al die moeite om so a swak speler 'n reaksie te gee. Dit lyk my die iodiots wat hier post glo met 'n seker hart dat Luke actually hierdie postings gaan lees en 'n moer omgee en sleg voel oor dit wat gese word. Drink minder bier, miskien sal julle dikgatte minder word
Anonymous User6/15/2009 2:22 PM
aaaagghhh!!!! julle klomp bitter pille...... you cant take what he said because of him being a white man.........!!! GO LUKE WATSON!!! you a great rugby player and captain and are going to be missed by all your supporters (of which you have thousands). The negative comments from these old puke smelling idiots is meaningless to you i'm sure.........it's all about JEALOUSY, JEALOUSY, JEALOUSY!!!!! (julle klompie NARE mense)
SOhappy6/15/2009 1:29 PM
Sorry dont have my glasses on does that read "Bath" or "Burf"?
Kosie6/15/2009 1:09 PM
Riaan: Skuus man, ek het skoon vergeet van die useless boks se pappie! Hopelik versuip die dikgat in die see binnekort!
Ken6/15/2009 11:36 AM
No real loss to the rugby circles in S.A. Lets see how long it takes for him to puke on a jersey in the U.K
riaan6/15/2009 11:09 AM
Kosie, Dit is rerig nie mooi van jou om te se Luke se vertrek is die beste nuus die jaar nie! Cheeky bly agter. Dit sou die beste nuus gewees het as Cheeky op dieselfde vliegtuig as sy useless laaitie was.
Captain6/15/2009 10:11 AM
I think LW wants to be in England to advance his political career, heaven knows hie rugby career is going nowere. Maybe Gorden Brown can fill one of his open seats with old Luke because in England all the politicians talk through there A$$, he will be right at home.
Schalk6/15/2009 9:19 AM
To all the PUKE Watson supporters!!! Get over the whole racism CR@P!!!!! Yes Karl that includes you. We have no problem what colour you are, as long as you are Springbok material, become one, not to be put in there because daddy asked and said he plays for the Boks or.....! Get over yourselves. Luke was never Springbok material and never will be. Good Super14 maybe but he could never make the step up! I say thank heavens and good riddance!
Kosie6/15/2009 8:56 AM
Beste nuus die jaar! Tata jou useless scum! Niemand gaan jou mis nie! Hoop jy kom nooit weer terug nie! En al sy ondersteunertjies, haal die klappe van julle oe af of voertsek soos hy!
Karl6/15/2009 8:05 AM
We wish you well Luke!!! Thanks for your contribution in SA Rugby. BUT MOST of all thanks for being a thorn on the side of MANY RACIST supporters in SA. Thanks for challenging many Racist attitudes in SA Rugby.... you'll always be The son of the soil and your name will always be remembered
AJ6/15/2009 7:44 AM
To all the pukie guys. Remember, what goes around comes around. Don't come crying to me when it happens. To Luke, best of luck mate. You're playing some good rugby at the moment and we wish you the best. Irrespective of your comments in the past, whether you made them or not or whether you were quoted out of context, SA Rugby is losing a good rugby player. Politics messed up your potential Springbok career. Sorry about that. Enjoy your time over there and come back when the dust has settled on this side.
JOHAN JOUBERT6/15/2009 7:39 AM
DANKIE TOG, GAAN KOTS NOU MAAR DAAR ANDERKANT! VAT TOG ASB JOU PAPPIE SAAM WANT SONDER HOM IS JY NIKS.
Drakkar6/15/2009 12:14 AM
Hey puke. Look at it this way. Your daddy rallied for Div to be the Springbok coach as he is a friend of daddy. Yet even he says you are only third best in your position.The only reason you got Bok colours under Jake White was because of daddy. Considering all of the above I guess you must really not be good enough then. There are so many analogies one can make between a dirty bugger like yourself and a club named Bath. But can't you puke off now???? Wonder if they have a transformation target there as well???
D @ P6/15/2009 12:12 AM
Is Cheeky going as well??? Hope so!!!
Anonymous User6/14/2009 11:21 PM
Its gread to here Puke is going. Whay do we have to wait untill the end of the currie cup. He can somer go now. We will not miss him ecept is family. Bay lukie.
Leon6/14/2009 7:38 PM
I agree with Zandman we are truly losing one of the best rugby players yet, To all the puke guys, grow up your envy has taken control of your lives. All the best Luke I respect you!
Bruce6/14/2009 7:36 PM
Luke,don't let these comments get you down....you r still my cute little stud-muffin and now that the only reason I support the Stormers is leaving,I'm going to have to become a Bulls supporter...
Anonymous User6/14/2009 5:55 PM
Why only 2 years? Give him citizenship. Best news all weekend. HOpefully the news articles about this clow will come to end aswell..
Anonymous User6/14/2009 5:46 PM
You are spot on Allan. I was also a Luke hater a few months ago but this man has truly won back the respect of myself and many others by the sounds of it. To the "Puke" club: Your numbers seem to be dwindling so give it a rest and grow up.
Warren6/14/2009 5:40 PM
Christmas has come early this year. Thanks for leaving our shores PUKE LUKE. I can now again go to Newlands and watch live rugby. Please take you father with you, as he will need to look after his puking son in a new country. One word of advice PUKE LUKE, do not stand up at any meeting and tell the English rugby fans that you would like to puke on their National jersey, they will not put up with your political bulls*&t
Steven6/14/2009 5:36 PM
It is about bloody time Pukie goes. He must now stay there and not return.
Anonymous User6/14/2009 5:34 PM
Thank GOODNESS !!! Bye-bye pukie !!!!!!!!!!!!! Party time !!!!!!!!!!!!!! GO BOKKE !!!!!!!!!!!!
Koster6/14/2009 5:26 PM
Gaan nie se ek is hartseer omdat jy gaan nie Luke, maar dankie vir die puik vertonings deur jou loopbaan hier in SA...Maar jy sal jou kop moet regkry as jy jopu beste vorm wil bereik en mooi dink voor jy praat...dis maar een van die lewe se goue reels.
Lefty6/14/2009 5:06 PM
Dis nou sommer goeie nuus vir almal. Sy vertoning (gebrek aan vertoning teen die Leeus) gister het nogeens getoon dat hy nie op die vlak kan meedeing nie. As WP se grootkoppe enige "common sense" het sal hulle iemand anders aanwys as kaptein vir die Curriebekerreeks - wat van Tiaaan Liebenberg of Peter Grant?
Anonymous User6/14/2009 4:45 PM
Adios Amigo, Adios
Anonymous User6/14/2009 4:33 PM
sorry to c u go luke...its only a certain (minority) group that would be glad to c u go. thanks for having the courage to stand up for what you believe in. hope u do well and all the best!
Morne Venter6/14/2009 4:13 PM
Good riddance. Now take your father with you.
Anonymous User6/14/2009 3:56 PM
Good Luck and all the Best Luke in your New Venture. Bath is sure gaining an excellent Rugby Player. Take all the unnecessary sarcastic comments with a "Pinch of Salt" they are just jealous and big mouthed and I bet either did/have not played Rugby or were never chosen to represent their Province etc.
JC Coetzer6/14/2009 3:54 PM
Good luck Luke, and well done to Bath Rugby for making an excellent investment! Kindly excuse all the brainless comments, as a true rugby supporter should only be judged for talent on the field, as all of us make mistakes.
LeonB6/14/2009 3:34 PM
Zandman is Jake White still Bok coach? Its been almost two years since he resigned and you still blame him because Watson isn't up to Springbok standard?"great rugby player" and "great South African talent" rather "average rugby player" and "great South African whiner" You and Pukey have some serious growing up to do.
namib6/14/2009 3:32 PM
I have appreciation for luke watson the rugby player. But he made some really bad decisions when he should have known better. I feel relieved for him that he is going. Too be booed all the time does affect your concentration.
Anonymous User6/14/2009 3:29 PM
To each and every one of you that are so quick to find fault and point fingers, just remember three are pointing back at you. Each and every one of us have and will do something or make comments that does not go down well, but because we are not in the limelight it is never heard or seen, but at the end what is said or done is over, so get a life all you "fault finding" people. I just hope all of you that find fault or criticize are perfect and NEVER "caught with your trousers down". Luke, congratulations, you gave your best and played many a excellent game for Western Cape/Stormers. We wish you well in your New Venture in Bath, they are sure gaining an excellent Rugby Player. Show all those criticizing South Africans what you are made of and hopefully we will see you back sometime soon at Newlands and possibly a proud Springbok Representative. Good Luck
Mich6/14/2009 3:22 PM
Thanks for going Puke!! Please do us all a favour and stay there permanently. Stormers will do so much better WITHOUT you.
Anonymous User6/14/2009 3:20 PM
Thats what makes SA..SA i guess. We have a player who has had the best Super 14 season out of all loose forwards in SA and we let him go. Its pathetic. I think you are an asset to any team you run on for and hope you have an outstanding career with Bath. Good luck..
JRS6/14/2009 3:17 PM
Also sad to see Luke leaving, but best of luck to him. Also sad to see the retarded comments, but I'm sure Luke doesn't let the narrow-minded idiots bother him. It only proves him right...
Charlie Blue Bulls6/14/2009 3:12 PM
At last some good news......cheers MR Puke, enjoy puking over the Bath players....Blue Bulls rules....
Jaco6/14/2009 3:00 PM
Must we wait until the end of the currie cup? Let him go now!!
Anonymous User6/14/2009 2:56 PM
With all the contraversy at Bath sounds like he wil fit in quite well.Shame for province though he was their best player in the S14.BB supporter
Cliff Bradley6/14/2009 2:55 PM
ZANDMAN - Dont Know Where You Come From , But It Is Good To See A Person Who Thinks With His Brain And No His Ass- Sorry To See You Go Luke- Pity Your Father Interfered And Wrecked A Good Career
Anonymous User6/14/2009 2:48 PM
Salute Luke.... U are a great player.
Anonymous User6/14/2009 2:48 PM
SHEW!!! You were rubbish and only ever brought a divide to SA rugby supporters... Please never return!
sirmark6/14/2009 2:40 PM
Well done Luke. I salute you. Through thick and thin you have shown the tenacity and strength under pressure as a TRUE SOUTH AFRICAN. GOD bless you and may you reach heights beyond your dream. We are losing a very talented player. Give the SOUTS agood go and show them you are a winner.
Anonymous User6/14/2009 2:39 PM
Goodbye Cheeky's son!!!!!
sirmark6/14/2009 2:39 PM
Well done Luke. I salute you. Through thick and thin you have shown the tenacity and strength under pressure as a TRUE SOUTH AFRICAN. GOD bless you and may you reach heights beyond your dream. We are losing a very talented player. Give the SOUTS agood go and show them you are a winner.
Allan6/14/2009 2:32 PM
Pretty purile commentary in here. Get passed the puke statement guys. I too did not enjoy what Luke said, however give some credit to the player. He is a great player, and an inspiration to the "smaller guys" He was often the only decent player on offer from the Stormers and has been playing really good rugby over the last two years. He aslo appears to be an inspirational leader and has conducted himself superbly despite all the continuous pressure on him. I doubt that most of us could have held out like he has. (Especially that day at Loftus) Furthermore, he has the guts of his convictions and is prepared to stand by his beliefs, wheter they be right or wrong in your mind. Good Luck in the UK Luke.
GeePMB6/14/2009 2:28 PM
Good Riddance....
anonymous6/14/2009 2:27 PM
thank you my prayers have been answered hope puke has a lot more puke to deal with
Leon6/14/2009 2:25 PM
Bath, poor bath, do you know what you let yourself in for?
anonymous6/14/2009 2:25 PM
BYE BYE PUKE
anonymous6/14/2009 2:23 PM
bye bye PUKE HOPE YOU HAVE MORE PUKE IN YOUR LIFE
Pienaar Kotze6/14/2009 2:20 PM
Goodbye Luke!!! Not sad to see you go. Don't puke on your team mates at Bath rugby club!!
Anonymous User6/14/2009 2:20 PM
Miracles still do happen
Paul C6/14/2009 2:19 PM
Thank you .. thank you ... thank you a thousand times BATH .. thank you soooo much!!!
Anonymous User6/14/2009 2:19 PM
Thanks goodness!!! I couldn't support Province while "Puke" Watson is playing for them. Now Rassie needs to get his head out of his a$$ and put together a winning team > We wan't the Currie Cup!!
Leon6/14/2009 2:17 PM
Good riddence of bad rubbish!!!
Anonymous User6/14/2009 1:50 PM
Bye-bye Mr Watson, good luck with your carreer. I am sure you wont be missed, by the majority of South Africans.
Mario6/14/2009 1:40 PM
Praise the Lord!!
Brett Petzer6/14/2009 1:33 PM
EISSSHHHHh all i can say is thank God he is going but poor ol Bath dont know if they actually know what they are letting themselves in for.
Andre6/14/2009 1:30 PM
At last! Good riddance too!!!
Viljoen6/14/2009 1:09 PM
NICE! cant wait to see him go
Anonymous User6/14/2009 1:07 PM
Bye Bye Luke. Thanks for going. The Dutchmen.
Zandman6/14/2009 1:04 PM
Sad to see you go Luke! You are and always will be a great rugby player a true province and Stormer! We will miss you and a lot of people will only now realize what a valuable player you was. Wish you all the best for the rest of your career at Bath. Only after you bring the Currie Cup back home. May you return one day as a Springbok again, which you deserve. I would also want to do my deed on Something I have worked so hard for and when I achieve it nobody give me the respect it deserves. Thanks Jake White for ruining another career and losing another great south african talent.
Anonymous User6/14/2009 12:48 PM
Thanks for leaving Luke ! No you can go and puke somewhere else..
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

The lighter side of Francois Hougaard

Best goal celebration ever?

Best penalty ever?

Front Row Grunt - Tank's blog

Info on the op Bismarck is recovering from

Featured Blog

Lobo salutes Muttiah Muralidaran's genius. He developed the doosra into an art form and terrorised batsmen with his cunning and his wily ways. Although his career was overshadowed by the "chucking" controversy, no-one will ever beat his mark of 800 Test wickets.

Latest blogs

Overhaul in Formula 1 7/29/2010 3:47:49 PM

Knowledge Musona is SA's Jet Club Rookie of the Year. 7/29/2010 3:44:19 PM

Currie cup predictions 7/29/2010 3:17:15 PM

Vote

If current Springbok coach Peter de Villiers were to be fired, who would you like to see take over?

Who is your Hero?

Nominate your hero and win R10 000!

RSS Feeds

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

Mobile

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

Free Email

Free Email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

Blogs

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

TV

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide