Rugby

Watson a 'cancer' in Bok team

2009-11-13 09:54
Email | Print
John Smit's new book (File)

Durban - Current Springbok and World Cup-winning rugby captain John Smit pulls no punches in a new book to be published this weekend.

Smit relates how Luke Watson had a "cancerous" effect on members of the national team, the inside story behind the notorious Kamp Staaldraad, and what he terms the rugby "treachery" of former Sharks prop Ollie le Roux.

Smit says: "He (Watson) never tried to become a part of us. I think he really wanted to play for South Africa, but couldn’t stand the environment, and the truth is that he irritated the living shit out of the guys. I had players in my ear about him every flipping day. He was referred to as “the cancer” of the team."

Captain In The Cauldron Captain In The Cauldron - the John Smit Story also outlines his assessments of Bok and Sharks coaches. On the one hand there is Kevin Putt's double-speak and Rudolf Straeuli's overly militaristic 2003 World Cup campaign; on the other he is full of praise for Dick Muir, John Plumtree, Jake White and Peter de Villiers.

Written with The Mercury's Mike Greenaway, the book states that former Sharks Ollie le Roux and Chris Rossouw were involved in "a poisonous collaboration" against a number of younger Sharks players, especially in their disastrous 2000 tour under Hugh Reece-Edwards.

"Those guys taught me a lot about what not to do in a team environment."

During practice, Smit wrote, Le Roux would deliberately hold back against the scrummaging machine - his way "of telling me that I needed to know my place".

As senior front rankers they had wanted to control the team and, night after night, he says, they had accused Smit and Craig Davidson of causing a rift in the team. He was appalled at the treatment meted out to former Sharks captain Wayne Fyvie - a true son of KwaZulu-Natal, who had put his body on the line in every match.

Smit is, however, very passionate about the Sharks and full of praise for their set-up.

While much has already been written on Kamp Staaldraad, Smit relates how this over-the-top militarism did not stop with Smit himself having to rip the head off a live chicken. The campaign was carried into the 2003 World Cup in Australia. In a stupid attempt to bring back memories of Staaldraad they were served chicken legs and eggs. They had guards posted at their doors and were trailed by the coach's spies (their chief Adriaan Heijns, a former undercover agent in the SA Police Force, being dubbed 000 by the players) wherever they went.

"All that suffering in the pit achieved nothing, in fact it had set us back," Smit says.

While he supports the goals of transformation, Smit also has some strong things to say about the role of some of the sport's administrators. Sadly, he thinks they are there for personal benefit, rather than for the good of rugby.

He relates how former rugby union deputy president Mike Stofile had never supported Smit in any way and had made his views known through the media.

It had hardly filled him with confidence to know that his employer felt that way about him.

However, Smit said, it did not take him long to get over things because Stofile lost his credibility through his actions.

Your Comments

Rory12/31/2009 8:02 AM
Good on ya Smit. The Watson's have always been dubbed in odd things, like Cheeky burning his house down in PE and the 2 guys who did it burnt to death, just so he could claim insurance. The only reason Cheeky was so involved with the development was most of his clients for his shops came from those areas and it is a known fact that he had a few lady lovers from the townships too. Luke and Cheeky are idiots and they do not deserve to be near any Springbok setup. The Boks play for pride and passion and Luke will never be in the same class as our Boks. When he was 'forced' into the setup it just showed his backbone, I am pretty sure that if you told any other potential Bok that thet were being forced in on a political agenda they would decline and work their way in on merit and not through the back door. Luke IS a cancer.
Juan Rupert11/26/2009 12:19 PM
Smit's comments were disgraceful. Luke is a leader and a great man! SA will miss him.
AndyG11/15/2009 11:33 PM
Rugby is better off for having John Smit as well as those players that are criticized in 'Captain in the Cauldron' what I want everybody to know about John Smit is that he does know how behave himself. And clearly good behaviour is important to this man. What disturbed him is clearly these individuals poor or misbehaviour. Clearly John is a manof character with a moral dilemma about what the uninformed public oughtto find out. And yes, the truth outs.. take a bow John, you are free and you liberate us supporters that believed in these unprofessional muppets that were shitting where they slept!
dofvilliers11/14/2009 7:42 PM
Luke's problem is that in Luke's delude little brain Luke is in charge and therefore Luke always knows best, which comes down to a lack of respect, which is why he could never make it.But Luke got his dues and tried his usual cheapshots, but luckily Juan sorted him out a coupl of times of which that Super 14 game where Luke tried a cheapshot on Juan again and got bliksem'd was my personal favourite. As for him being the best player in the currie cup, well it's like WP being nominated as team of the year, it depends on your perspective, unfortunately it seems to me that if you're a WP supporter then that perspective is limited by a mountian, to much wine and a bunch of prancing ponies that have to pass for rugby players. No wonder they haven't won anything for the last decade or so.
Player 2311/14/2009 3:40 PM
It is a sad day when a leader in the workplace, the media or in a sports team bad mouths a member of his team in public. Can you just imagine reading your name in a weekly publication and your boss bad mouthing you openly in front of your colleques. A TRUE leader takes the person aside and talks man to man to the person, but doesn't bring out the dirty linnen in public. Unfortunately Mr Smit you are no better than Mr Watson. Poor choice sir and this coming out after the debacle of yesterday. Who are you going to blame for the poor showing last night. Oh I forgot the Rasta Singer....oh no....the ref...we tend to blame everyone except the people who should be blamed the captain and the players.
Mince11/14/2009 1:17 PM
So lets get this straight. The Coach (Jake White) is ousted by politicians; replaced by a coach(PDV) who, by SA rugby's own admission was not the best candidate for the position ; This coach tries to change the playing style from a rigid structure to an unstructured one, (which none of the then players were comfortable with) and the Boks start losing....but the biggest issue in the bok camp is a tiny rebellious eighth man (with a high opinion of himself)....... Lame, very lame ....even pathetic.....
2 Centd11/14/2009 12:50 PM
Hi
Clive11/14/2009 12:25 PM
It's a pity such things can be said about such an outstanding rugby player, but let's remember that John Smit is not the first person - by a long way - to make such remarks about Luke Watson. I hope Luke finds his niche in UK rugby; he is too good a player to quit now.
John Watson Smit11/14/2009 11:32 AM
Great captain and leader - just answer this...What have YOU done (as the greatest ever captain and leader) to rectify the Watson saga within the Bok squad??? I rest my case...you have missed an opportunity and went the popular route, sorry man, not good enough! What did Watson do when the country was against him, nevermind the entire WP team - remember how well he performed at "Lofdus"...? Kom by!
kkk11/14/2009 10:58 AM
I think all of you negative people should shut up , smit is a great captain. get back to the real core of what rugby is about.
rugbyfan11/14/2009 8:47 AM
Everybody should calm down untill they read the book, it is a possibility that the media took these qoutes out of context. I think john is a brilliant captain and had a good game last night. He is not the only guy in the scrum. The boks should look at the scrum as a whole and fis it.
rugbyfan11/14/2009 8:46 AM
Everybody should calm down untill they read the book, it is a possibility that the media took these qoutes out of context. I think john is a brilliant captain and had a good game last night. He is not the only guy in the scrum. The boks should look at the scrum as a whole and fis it.
KEVIN RACK11/14/2009 7:08 AM
Smit will never be forgiven for laughing when walking off the field after our humilating loss to the Aussies. He should have been shamed and had no commitment that day, unlike the supporters who turn up! His captaincy has been great considering our lack of leadership in the bok setup. He should, either have rested on the European tour or retire from the Bok team. He was, with a lot of other senior players too tired to compete against the french and should have not thought about the pay packet, but as he preaches and do the right thing. I see him getting replaced soon because of this!
Pieter11/14/2009 5:25 AM
May Puke Twatson never return to SA. Good Bye and good riddence. Go and puke on someone else's rugby jersey.
Impi11/14/2009 5:06 AM
I hope the book will be available in Afrikaans ("Kaptein in die Potjie") so that the oaks in Pretoria can read it too. Luke Watson should be the captain of the Springboks. He's a true leader.
pdw11/14/2009 12:34 AM
As much as I hate puke, I love Province - but face it, the ouk had a blinder of a season. Thank the Tokolos that he will never be the best flanker in SA - Brussow made sure of it... As for Smittie - the best Springbok captain ever (T-3, WC) He is the greatest of 'em all. OK, he can't scrum like Os, but there seems to be place at no 15 lately...As long as the ouk can walk, we need him. In comparison to all this, can't we just forgive him his premature book? BOBAAS BOKKE!!!!
Ruan11/13/2009 11:13 PM
....eish ! So many comments...got tired reading all the comments....must be good then...please can s'one send me a copy...i live in IRL...
Martin11/13/2009 9:06 PM
WOW!!! John is not only the best captain ever he is honest as well - the cherry on top is the comments on Puke Watson. You are my HERO!
2 Cents11/13/2009 8:40 PM
I think you gain more respect from people that even though you could have a lot of negative things to say you don't. Luke on a personal level was a great leader for the team, had great communication skills, he might be regarded by many as an average player but his commitment to his team was never in doubt I thought we played well maybe some are right to say it's easy beating weakened sides but we got close and that's not good enough I know but it gave many hope again and that might have sparked the beginning of something.I think Luke is a massive loss for us. What I wonder will be your epitath you who coldly judge.
Rich Lc11/13/2009 8:06 PM
wtf is everybody moaning about, the truth hurts eh, let it come out.
Captain my captain11/13/2009 7:37 PM
Thanks Smitty, can't wait to read it. Please don't think all Province fans are Luke supporters, it was clear that he was no good for the Boks. Pity you did not wait until the end of your career, I'm sure there will be stories. Have a great tour! You're a legend!
owie11/13/2009 7:17 PM
About Luke. He is entitled to his opinion, and he can say or believe whatever he wants. But rugby will always be a team sport. Rugby will always need 15 (22)players who trust each other. It starts off the field. Ever heard the phrase ,"Be a team player" Luke should have sacrificed his opinion for the good of the team. He could have been part of something great. A Springbok team! He didnt want that. The bok made him want to puke. Thus cancer is within the team. I think its appropriate. I think he is a great player. But he needs to find his on/off switch for his mouth.
JK11/13/2009 6:59 PM
Well i guess this will certainly jump-start the sales of his book. Certainly a good move for publicity - and one straight out of the play book of Jake White (remember - Jake did the same except he went all the way to Carte Blanche) - so no real imagination either. For professional players to blame bad results on one undersized flank with attitude issues leaves a bad taste. From a person who is supposed to be one of the greatest captains in the history of the Springbok i would have expected him to handle the whole Watson saga a little better. This (and Joost) just goes to show ,we are dealing with great rugby players here, not necessarily great people.
karel11/13/2009 6:46 PM
WHY MUST SOME PEOPLE ALWAYS ATTACK OTHERS ON THIS FORUM? THIS IS A PLACE TO COMMENT ABOUT THE ARTICLE AND NOT A BASHING PLATFORM - GROW UP OR MOVE ON!!!
jjd11/13/2009 6:02 PM
John, you've just lost my respect and support. You are the captain, their confidant and you tell all in a book. In my young rugby days you would have been "bliksemed" my friend. You have broken the code of brotherhood, the trust. What "happens on tour stays on tour". Let's see if Ollie is correct....you will back peddle tonight. I will not buy your book and yes don’t be surprised if your teammates give you the cold shoulder. GO BOKKE!!!!!!!
Mac11/13/2009 5:42 PM
John Smit's comments leaves a bitter taste in the mouth. I think it is very unprofessional to release a book of this nature ( these are opinions, not facts) while he is still still playing and on the eve of important matches. I have lost respect for him. He may be a good captain but he is nasty - no better than Luke Watson who has kept his head high.
WP man11/13/2009 5:07 PM
Ja, Luke het beslis oorboord gegaan met sy opmerkings oor die Springboktrui. Slegs 'n idioot sal dit ontken. MAAR, Luke kan sy houding verbeter. Smit kan egter nie sy kak voorryspel verbeter nie. En waar was die groot kaptein se aandag toe die Vrystaat hulle in die halfeindstryd verneder het? Seker besig gewees sommetjies te maak oor hoeveel geld hy met sy boek gaan maak.
Vrystaat!11/13/2009 4:47 PM
Ollie le Roux was 100% correct.. John Smit is NOT an international tight-head prop or hooker.. ..Replace him with CJ vd Linde asap..!! ..and Beast (overrated) Mtawarira with Wian du Preez...
Anon11/13/2009 4:46 PM
Now this is a book by a rugby captain that I would go out and buy. Not like that weak pathetic attempt by a burnt out, cocaine sniffing, prostitute purchasing, cheating, money grabbing, lying, holes-in-underpants has-been... whats his name again?
Pretorious11/13/2009 4:21 PM
The watsons are national heros..........so say the majority of SOUTH AFRICAN(Black,White and Asians), we all knw why twarts like u hate them, but nothing u do can hurt them...... thank God for the new Police shoot to k___ policies, try anything and u'll get it cowards...... GO BOKKE GO the nation is behind you 100%
Roxy11/13/2009 4:11 PM
Whoa, you all are so opinionated by what this book supposedly says and you haven't even read it yet? How about reading the book first, so you can understand the context of everything written before you get on your high horses? Just a thought.
craig11/13/2009 3:49 PM
What have you done... Talk about shooting yourself in the foot... This is the type og thing you bring out AFTER you have retired...NOT before...you have crisised PUKE and he is the ANC cronies big friend.. As stated by another ready...watch this space. John, I am sorry, but your days are now truely numbered....Thanks for all the memories..
g@tvol11/13/2009 3:10 PM
Now John Smit is the new cancer in the team and all the idoits cheering him on.
Potta11/13/2009 3:08 PM
Finally the book I've been waiting for. John, you are in my eyes the best Springbok captain since 1906. My your book do as well as your career has brought South Africans together. Thanx
GRAHAM11/13/2009 3:08 PM
Short and sweet. Best captain we have had in SA rugby. Well done John. I hope you make millions from your book. SA supporter in the UK. Will definitely be behind the Boks tonight.
Divad11/13/2009 3:02 PM
John Smit was / is by all accounts a great captain... and nobody should shoot the messenger when he refers to what the team's attitude toward Luke Watson was. It seems that the much politicized and publicized reality about the lack of transformation in rugby (the game that I am so passionate about) is sadly true; it’s not about race, colour or culture, it’s about a mind-set attitude! Young white SAfricans remain politically naïve, commercially pampered and socially laagered. (Not to mention religiously paranoid.) That these big strong world champions - who are supposed to be physically and psychologically fine-tuned - are beaten by the attitude of one liberated small Eastern Cape flanker? Phew!!! How damn sad is that!? Luke was brought up in a family that had the balls (pardon me) to stand up to apartheid - regardless of the personal sacrifices and consequences; and when he came out into the new world of the much vaunted reconciled rugby nation - thanks almost entirely to Madiba pulling the Green and Gold number 6 jersey over our eyes - instead of trying to understand where Luke was coming from (his undeniable talent as a player and a leader cannot be questioned) the mighty Springboks are cowered and scared by his attitude and opinions… as if he were a witch or a Sangoma? (I’m willing to bet it was the god-fearing Christians in the team who were the most vocal and fearful of this so-called cancer (sic). Where are our sociology researchers when we need them? ) Get a life boys; clean and wash your minds out! You have been so blinded, privileged and protected that you obviously don’t know that pre-1994 millions of South African rugby lovers did not support the whites in green and gold. Like Luke and the Watsons, they too have only just become serious Springbok supporters. Have you all forgotten (in your Christian brotherly love lessons) that we were forced, through injustice and human rights violations, to support any team that played and defeated the whites in green and gold? Change is not that easy to accept and revolution is very difficult to control. But that doesn’t soften the blow; to hear that 'the team' couldn't understand where Watson was coming from, and rather than see him as an ally and a blessing who could have helped transform the attitude of the mighty previously privileged 'Boks into true Africans, they viewed him as a so-called cancer (sic)? I mean how tragic is that? (Incidentally, the Watsons - all of Scots descent - have been in Africa for over 3 centuries; from the Tswana speaking Watsons in Botswana to the Xhosa Cape clan; that’s right - they are true Africans and all the Watson children could speak a Black African language before they could the Queen's English or the white Tribe’s African taal. That’s where I believe the so-called cancer (sic) lay… It had / has nothing to do with our wonderful game of rugby.) Hey, 'Boks - If you want to remain true world champions, then you’ll need a drastic change of attitude and mind-set.
Dude11/13/2009 2:58 PM
O I forgot to add this "writing a book" thing is getting overated, is every Tom Dick and Hary now going to write a book? If you are truely a n hero some one else will write about you. All sensation and money making
Raymond11/13/2009 2:58 PM
AUBS-You are another one that has a bad dose of verbal diarrhoea.If you can't write or say anything intelligent,rather shut up.Probably another low life......
Miso11/13/2009 2:52 PM
There we go again. A comment about dynamics in the team have turned into race issues again. All the comments about Luke Watson from the bigots is centred around his and his father's stance on racism and not on his talents. I am comfortable with John Smit stating his perception of Luke but this needed to be viewed in context. He was expected to assimilate into a culture he despised even though it is his birth right to represent his country. Some of us appreciate the Watson's talents and contributions to get us to a dispansation that's condusive to us being part of a global family of sports
@Anti11/13/2009 2:52 PM
Anti - jy is 'n d00s. Gaan speel met jouself en vat vir Ollie en oom Jurie saam!
hardi11/13/2009 2:51 PM
Smit is probably the best captain ever to have led the Boks, he picked the team up in the world cup when they had their backs to the wall in the semis, if it werent for that they would have been out. I think it would be a brilliant book, just a pity I would have to read about the "good" Sharks set up, will skip that chapter, but will read the chapter of the heartache of the 2007 Super 14 final when the mighty Bulls played all 82 minutes if he mentions it. I always knew that about Watson, and I have said it about WP, watch them after Watson goes, he had his merry band of followers who believe he did so wondefully in this years CC, but where is the silverware, zip, squat, zero, zilch, nothing!!! Its easy to look good when you play under strength sides, hope we never see that slimy reptile here again.
bokobserver11/13/2009 2:47 PM
John Smit is a real loser. He doesn't have a brain! When his rugby career is over he'll need to find some other form of sheltered employement such as that provided to him by SARU for so long.
The Editor11/13/2009 2:46 PM
@JANee - Seeing that you are insinuating that you have been a Bok yourself, why not come up with your own book, mate? We would like to hear more skinner and scandal in the Bok setup?
Rugbyfan11/13/2009 2:42 PM
Would just like to know from Aubs if crime and corruption is the only way black people can make money in this country!! Think you need an education as you cannot spell. Its "lose" and not "loose!"Go John Smit - Go Boks make us proud like you ALWAYS do.
@Tom11/13/2009 2:39 PM
Sorry Tom, which institution is that? Are you reffering to Ollie as a institution? I mean he has the mass, but not the content. Not sure how you can even ask a question like that in reference to Ollie - WTF has he done for SA rugby that John Smit has not done infinitely better?....igit
@ Bulla11/13/2009 2:37 PM
Please come up with something original! From 1 forum to the next you copy somebody else's comments and try to make them your own!!
Will11/13/2009 2:34 PM
The most successfull Capt in International Rugby. Gotta Listen to what the man has to say. Been there, done that, and when the song is sung, RWC & Lions, lets the demons out. Articulate and Intelligent, unlike a number of our previous Capts.
Paul11/13/2009 2:31 PM
I must say, I'd rather read this book than Joost's crap.
Not surprised11/13/2009 2:30 PM
Can anyone be surprised about Luke Watson having a negative affect on the team? That's what happens when a white guy has no self respect and is prepared to get into the team on the same basis as a muntu.....that's ehat happens when someone says "look at me, I'm a struggle hero" but forgets that there was no "struggle" in this country. He should piss off from the Stormers team as well......waste of space. We don't give a rats arse about what his daddy did for black rugby in this country. All this previously disadvantaged/discriminated garbage is becoming a big yawn and outdated!!!
Tom11/13/2009 2:19 PM
John, I'm not defending Ollie, but that institution has contributed a hell of a lot to plenty of the successes this country has achieved.What have you done to make a difference??
vernon11/13/2009 2:18 PM
Luke (sicko) Watson is an average provincial player. .. ...playing in the Bok-team was a step to high for him.. ...clearly a "quota" player...
Prop11/13/2009 2:17 PM
Smit's comments about Fyvie and Ollie seems a bit strange, considering that any KZN player will feel like a stranger in a team made up of ex-freestate players. How can Smit consider his treatment by Le Roux and Fyvie's treatment as unacceptable when they both had to play for the Cheetah B team called the "Sharks"? Take Brussow's move now as an example. Smit and and Fyvie's treatment were merely initiation games by the Cheetah B team.
JANee11/13/2009 2:12 PM
FIGJAM. F@** I'm Good Just Ask ME!!! I'm afraid John you forget that a lot of old Boks have played with you and toured with you. They KNOW things that you most certainly did not spill in your book. And as for the Bok team now, YOU know that there are certain individuals who you don't like and doesn't like you and the way your politics in the team works. Ask Jannie, perhaps????????
Bulla11/13/2009 2:07 PM
Ollie le Roux only excelled in stuffing himself with hamburgers ...and smoking cigars......
AustinPowers11/13/2009 2:06 PM
Real heroes don't need a book.
Jaco Jordaan11/13/2009 2:04 PM
OK, Hold it. Luke Watson was a t*** when he was in the squad with John ect., but maybe he changed his point of view at a later stage. maybe change off heart ect. The first Saracens warmup game full off boo's maybe made him realize he's actually swimming up stream, thus he concentrated on his team and his game and in return got MVP for WP. I think this book will also verify that Schalk doesn't like Luke and they can't play together. I think his fiance at that time also changed his mindset. Fiance's are very good with suble ways off changing you mindset. But hey, looking forward too the read.
umshinuwam11/13/2009 1:59 PM
Regonise one of the best captain of all times well done South Africa is proud of you don't let rugby's mafia"s control you and good luck with your book.
Superman11/13/2009 1:57 PM
Agree, ...even John Smit says Luke Watson is a p****ole... ...thanks for leaving... ..dont come back..
pcruz11/13/2009 1:50 PM
Puke and family have really done themselves proud! Bunch of arrogant, self-serving imbecils. At least now we can watch province play without spending most of the game wishing someone would shut Twatson's mouth for good. Trash like this does not belong on an SA sports field. Good luck tonight and with the book John. Do wish they would stop playing you out of position so that Chiliboy can be accommodated! Hope you get your century. Go Bokke!
Fed up11/13/2009 1:50 PM
Yaaaaaawn!!!!!
James11/13/2009 1:49 PM
Glad the truth about puke is out. From a true dutchman. Well done John.
James11/13/2009 1:48 PM
Glad the truth about puke is out. From a true dutchman. Well done John.
Kris van Straaten11/13/2009 1:48 PM
Mooi so John Smit!! Jy is n legend!! Eks bly Luke is land uit, ek hoop hy bly daar!
Morris11/13/2009 1:47 PM
A sure sign that John will retire very soon. You cannot critisise Stofile and Luke and hope that you can carry on with a successful rugby career. Remember these words!
Martin11/13/2009 1:39 PM
The Watsons are a disgrace, both f%^* head Cheeky and that looser Luke.
John "Watson" Smith11/13/2009 1:37 PM
Why was Watson cancerous in the Bok fold, but brilliant in the provincial team - his troops rallied around him and they came so close - even the press hailed Watson as a hero - You can only work with guys that want to cahnge, adapt, accept and move on - Smit gave into tema pressure and did not rise to the occasion by mediating/ brokering a settlement...meaning he failed as a true leader!
The Don11/13/2009 1:33 PM
To Denzil and Richard;you two clearly no absolute jack s*** about rugby.Please refrain from these totally ridiculous comments;you are probably bafana bafana spectators!!!!!!!!
John "Watson" Smith11/13/2009 1:33 PM
Luke could not have had that great an effect on the team, as he was an outsider and did his own thing. The remainder of the squad did not like him and were merely moaning 'cause they had to accommodate him, which they refused to do. The fact is Watson did not do or say anything while in the bok squad - also remember how Skinstad refused to pass the ball to Watson some 3 metres from the tryline - THE REST OF THE TEAM WERE NOT ANGELS!!! A good and able captain and leader would have tried to defuse the tension, just like Madiba and Prof. Jansen, in order for the team, rugby and our country to heal and prosper. Therefore, John, our greatest leader and captain, what did you do to rectify the problem???
Steadfast11/13/2009 1:31 PM
Remember when one writes negitive things when top of the heap then the same negitive will be written about you when you retire. I am sure there are players that do not like Smitty and some truth will out sooner or later about his deeds of past. If your dont have something nice to say dont say them.
Aubs11/13/2009 1:30 PM
Is this the only way white people can make money in this country.Get an education like the rest of us or shut up!This brainless individual ( John Smit )will definitely loose his place in the bok team.Luke is a much better person then this overrated ba*****t!!!!
Dude11/13/2009 1:29 PM
I like the honesty I just think the timing is a bit off. He should have waited till after 2011 as this might just cause politics to help him into early retirement...and I also think somethings must remain in the team and is not to be shared with the public as there is certain team traditions (what happens in Vegas stays in Vegas)
Jacqui11/13/2009 1:26 PM
One man does not a great team make. one team can make a great man. John is good at what he does, but the team wins the points. Pukey lukey - go away 4 ever. good luck to the boys tonight. play as you always do - one combined team.
Deebee11/13/2009 1:23 PM
I didn't like Naas Botha when he played for the Bulls... BUT he was my hero when he played for the BOKKE.... Watson was great for Province... BUT I couldn't stand him as a BOK !!! Ironic eh? The problem in SA is not with Smitty ... the problem is with the selfish administrators and their lack of leadership.. If we had a strong rugby President, we would not have to put up with the apalling referees and the equally shameless citings that have plagued the BOK game... (the Bakkies Botha incident, in particular). Get Morne du Plessis (or similar) and SA Rugby will thrive !!!!
@madoda11/13/2009 1:19 PM
It's because his daddy is part of the ANC, how much dumber do you have to be dude not to read between the lines.
Maxine Meyer11/13/2009 1:18 PM
go my boych!!! john is an amazing captain and a great man! gona have to buy the book for an early xmas prezzie...
Beefcake11/13/2009 1:14 PM
John Smit is a good captain but not even close to the best in his position. Funny how Smit bad mouths Straeuli, Putt, Ollie and Watson when he does'nt have to deal with them anymore and all his current coaches are praised. Ollie was dead right about your scrumming ability John (Its Useless!!!!)
Leon11/13/2009 12:57 PM
Funny that watson played with Smit for the Sharks or did anybody forget that. But when he moved to WP then suddenly he is the anti-christ himself. Secondly I hope John Smit reads this, at least Ollie could scrum !!!!!!!!!
Wazza @ Prop11/13/2009 12:53 PM
@ Prop, the book hasn't even been released yet so what do you know of his writing style? Yo make me laugh .......
Guava11/13/2009 12:51 PM
John Smit does not even need to pass comment on the likes of Watson. The entire world knows Watson is an over rated ring piece! Smitty is the best SA Captain of all time and his book did not need to be a mudsling. Ollie le Roux was more famous for his burger eating antics on the Spur advert than he ever was for his rugby.
@karel11/13/2009 12:49 PM
you !d!ot this is his book, he didnt make all these comments in an interview in France you !d!ot!!!
carol11/13/2009 12:45 PM
To Dude.........you summed it up ! What a total idiot this Zuhair is! Cannot wait for to nights game! Good luck to John and the boys, and that includes our national coach! I think is doing a splendid job!
vivian malema11/13/2009 12:38 PM
i thought john would become the first ever to play a 100 test matches for s.a.as he only needs 9 more after tonites game.sadly i think he just blew his chances by this article!!!
c11/13/2009 12:31 PM
brave on the field, brave off the field. well done john. you will always have my support. maybe not as a prop, but as a captain and a human and a man you rank tops. and luke... you loose dude. being a good #8 is only part of the deal. rugby, in case you didn't know (which, clearly, you don't) is a team sport. i'm glad the frogs got you because ek wil weer wp skree. good luck for tonight john and bokke!
luke watson 11/13/2009 12:31 PM
I just hope that the Austalian bar incident gets mentioned in the book and will the real Jon Smit please rise.
Sarren11/13/2009 12:28 PM
Go Le Bleau....Smit and his arrogant Boks will meet their match this evening. No, I don't like Smit or the arrogant Boks and I am not planning on leaving the country....deal with it!!
Denzil11/13/2009 12:27 PM
The only time I have seen John Smit lead was in the RWC in the Tonga game. Before and after that I have seen very little on the field. Unlike John Smit, Luke Watson tells it like it is and does not wait to write a book to make his thoughts known. This shows who has b***s and does not. Luke Watson for Springbok Captain, John Smit has reached his sell by date...
Searcher11/13/2009 12:21 PM
He said She said ...and somewhere between is the truth !
Werner Beytel11/13/2009 12:20 PM
@Prop. I agree that John Smit is definitely not the best prop in South Africa but he is the best captain. With regards to your comment about the Ollie Le Roux holding back incident, he played hooker then, not prop. When they asked Keven Mealamu in an interview who he considered the best hooker he has ever played against, he replied "John Smit" without any hesitation.
Jeff Aucamp11/13/2009 12:20 PM
John Smit a true legend and gentleman of the game.I always knew that watson and the fat boy from the Free State,Le Roux are first class dooses.The inside information suggests that the players feel the same about these two rogues.
ZAR11/13/2009 12:19 PM
Good for you John! As for Luke... "Cheeky" Luke uhh... i am your father!.. same mentality!
B11/13/2009 12:12 PM
Suck it up you negative b**** - John's led our team to Tri nations, Lions tour and World cup victory - which I'm pretty certain none of you chaps have, or ever will, come close to achieving. It's only logical that he would want to generate as much money as possible towards the end of his career, and if his highly regarded opinions and thoughts (internationally) are a means to a probable best seller (yet another achievement), then I suggest you rather learn from his ability to succeed as opposed to nitpicking on the irrelevant points made above... Come on Springboks!
Prop11/13/2009 12:12 PM
I think old Luke is going to leave the Springbok jersey alone now and p*** on John's book. Its common knowledge that Smit is a good leader, but a very poor prop, ask the Cheetahs, BI-Lions, Australia and New Zealand. Perhaps you would be able to ask France also after tonight. Smit should play hooker or not play at all. His writing style is also in line with his prop play style - poor and below standard.
@Anti11/13/2009 12:07 PM
I would punch you if this wasn't a virtula enviroment! T***!
Jake11/13/2009 12:04 PM
He should focus that the Sharks front row does not get destroyed as it happened 3 weeks ago against the FS tonight. Just because Smit is a great captain doest not mean that he deserves a place in the Spingbok 22. He is already one of the weak links in our squad. Imagine what would be in 2 years time... Would be the right timing to retire after this tour. Still he was a great hooker and a great captain but unfortunately his time is over.
The Editor11/13/2009 11:58 AM
I see now why Ollie le Roux was “dissing” him a few weeks back. Looks like they were not the best of mates. A bit of jealousy Olla?
Ray11/13/2009 11:57 AM
To all those cowards that said John must tell it to their faces. Why dont you tell that to John's face. Double standards. D*****s
Madoda11/13/2009 11:57 AM
IF WATSON IS A "CANCER" TO THE BOK THEN WHY WAS HE SUCH A CURE TO WP GAME IN THE CC? WHY DID THE WP PLAYERS VOTE HIM PLAYER OF THE YEAR? WHY WAS HE THE CC PLAYER OF THE YEAR? SMIT AND JOOST ARE THE SAME,SENSATIONAL TO SELL YOU K@@ BOOK!
Anti11/13/2009 11:54 AM
Shame Smit, I don't like you and never will.
Dirk11/13/2009 11:51 AM
Luke grew up the last 12 months, stayed out of the media with his stupid remarks and played brilliant rugby. Wish he done that 3 years ago. Smith is the best captian ever. His trackrecord speaks for itself!
ANCYL11/13/2009 11:51 AM
Fellow country men , Do not worry Julius would sort this out
Heinster11/13/2009 11:51 AM
Always knew Pukie Lukie was a Knucklehead. Like father like son I suppose.
Duwweltjie11/13/2009 11:50 AM
At least Watson was honest and straight up about his thoughts whether you agree with him or not it counts for something in a time when being honest and forthright is a scarce characteristic of most.Suppose naming and shaming is the only way to make a buck nowadays...or is it easier to snort coke and cheat on your wife
Mad Dog11/13/2009 11:47 AM
Why write a book if it isn't going to be controversial? Furthermore, his writing hasn't had any effect on the his brilliant performance as both a player and a captain. Write as many books as you want to. Keep up the good work John Smit! John Carlos, tell me, would you have had the balls? I know John Smit will always have his.
Johan11/13/2009 11:45 AM
Good riddens we are rid of Puke and Stofile. Puke's other hero, Komphela< must also go...he tried numerous times to destroy the spirit of rugby.
The Editor11/13/2009 11:45 AM
Personally, I can't wait for this book. It's nice to know what happens "behind the scenes".
John11/13/2009 11:43 AM
Leave Luke Watson alone, he is a good rugby player. John Smit, you played rugby, won a few games. Made a s*** load of money, etc. Retire please!!!
Johncarlos @Chris G11/13/2009 11:41 AM
That's how integrity is defined. And thanks for the sarcastic insult. Really makes u sound like a civilized adult
H11/13/2009 11:40 AM
I bet John's real opinion about L. Watson and his inclusion in the Bok team has been twisted around a bit to give this article a bit more of a sensational twist to it! Just like the original L. Watson speech.....
joe11/13/2009 11:38 AM
John you are a legend. Good luck tonight. I will be in the queue for your book release.
Richard11/13/2009 11:34 AM
To all of you having a go at Ollies time on the field or lack of it,John Smit is no better as he very rarely finishes a game THE 60 MINUTE MAN.
aj11/13/2009 11:33 AM
i love john-smit...i want to have his babies..you negative barstards leave him alone.
Dean11/13/2009 11:30 AM
Go Chilli boy go, Your time has come. This is the opening the sports administrators were waiting for.
CHABAL11/13/2009 11:29 AM
Smit will be exposed tonight for the fraud he is, go CHABAL
Gary11/13/2009 11:25 AM
"What happens on tour stays on tour" is obviously a fallacy.
Jacques11/13/2009 11:21 AM
Puke will be writing a book to, hopefully he will admit that the only reason he felt like puking, is because he knew he did not deserve the Bok cap.
zoey11/13/2009 11:20 AM
thez mani in books!
Bye bye11/13/2009 11:18 AM
Bye-bye Johno! If he criticize any SARU official or anyone in the government they will get rid of him. He should have waited with this book if he has any hope of playing in the next WC in 2011. Great captain but never deserved his place in the Bok team on merit.
Chris G @JohnCarlos11/13/2009 11:18 AM
Good thinking genius... have you told your boss what you think of him?
ryan11/13/2009 11:17 AM
AWWSUM, I am very sorry. But I think that you have your facts wrong ! I would buy the book, because Smith is a grate captain and he really bleeds for his team. As for Ollie, go catch a speed wobble !!!!
@Spotted Cat11/13/2009 11:16 AM
I think Ollie was with the Sharks and found himself left out of the team a lot, now we know why and so off he went to Free State(Naka obviously saw some potential...in Ollie's wife,hehe)...Anyone who says Smit's a bad captain must be a fool. No team has ever won the world cup without a great and inspirational leader.EVER!!!
Ridiculous11/13/2009 11:12 AM
I like Smit and I am really proud of what he with the Mighty Boks have accomplished but I think this is out of line Mr Smit. You need to make sure of your throws, Oh! my bad, I forgot you changed positions but I hope you don't change positions now that success surrounds you, stay grounded because even the president is replaceable in SA. Luke had his issues and I think he went overboard expressing his frustrations with the lack of transformation in rugby in our country. This will change with time, sport will be for all who are performing and deserve the honor to put on the colors of our country, as it is rugby is still as a while mans sport, to be specific Afrikaner's sport, this shouldn't be and like I said with time it will change. South Africa will take care of the needs of all who live in it, you Mr Smit see to it that you work towards making that happen not against it. Good luck with your future endeavors.
Stirrer11/13/2009 11:12 AM
Surely Smitty is going to retire after this tour, you dont get away with naming and shaming)if thats possible) the FAT (pun intended) cats on the gravy train, must say he has been a pleasure to watch in our national team, to the negatives on here, go suck eggs.
Frank11/13/2009 11:10 AM
Johncarlos, an idiotic comment. You can't bite the hand that feeds you. He could have opened his mouth ages ago, and then would have been doomed to a career in England or France. Instead, he has stuck it out, became a true legend, and now he can dish it out because he knows he is almost untouchable and has already achieved enough. If they boot him out know, they have egg on their faces, and he remains a legend.
Andrew Ferreira.11/13/2009 11:09 AM
Watson is a brat who would'nt be anywhere without daddy. God's speed, for all in the bok camp, and the real SA wishes you all well. Keep up the good work and look forwards.
shaun11/13/2009 11:08 AM
The book is being released now so it can be on most rugby fans' Christmas list. I will certainly be buying a copy. John Smit has led the Springboks with dignity and integrity in the face of some farcial administrating. It's interesting how everytime a local coach or player releases a book, they all complain about how pathetic our administrators are. Yet nothing changes...
Spotted Cat11/13/2009 11:05 AM
Zuhair, jou missed the boat, maybe you should concentrate on Bafana Bafana. Being a staunch WP supporter, Watson seemed to have "shined" in probably the worst number of seasons for WP, where politics also seem to govern rugby more than everything else. I had my doubts about Smith in the early years, however he have proved himself to be a worthy player and captain of the Bok Squad. As for the Hamburger King, why did he not stay with the Cheetahs, obviously he got paid more for less work with the Sharks.
punchy11/13/2009 11:05 AM
smit is a legend , the best we will ever have !
MIKE MILNE11/13/2009 11:05 AM
I think John Smit is a great captain and can understand why Luke Watson caused problems within the team.
truely11/13/2009 11:05 AM
John Smit is a truely a leader. Leading by his actions and when he speaks he speaks sense. Choosing to release his story towards the end of his career is much more readible than reading about Joost....
daffy11/13/2009 11:04 AM
@Johncarlos, i agree with you, if he had the balls, he would have said this ages ago, but has to find a nice, juicy angle to sell his book...Just sensationalism at its best really. And conveniently releasing this book after Luke has left for Europe... John you have no balls
Mike11/13/2009 11:02 AM
John, to be honest, I do not think you should've written this book. So far you have been "clean"- no controversy, excellent leader, stuck to your guns, focus on every game. People make mistakes and not all are nice like you or "me". To start blaming, mud slinging, dirt washing, etc is not your style. Not now, not ever. I considered you way above this.
mnrBull11/13/2009 11:00 AM
What...i wonder....must have been freaky ripping a chicken's head of...no knife? is it even possible? think im havin Nando's today,like amore...atleast we know where their cocks have been.
Lee11/13/2009 10:58 AM
John Smit is the best captain in rugby history. What sets him apart from all others before and after is his honesty, integrity and great leadership. I marvel at the man. However, I don't think that releasing this book before his career ends was a wise move. Rugby administrators / Politicians are power hungry and proud, they definately don't have the best interests of our rugby & country at heart. John Smit the legend!
fdsl11/13/2009 10:58 AM
this bulshit that every bloody sportsman must now right complete BS of history gone by is amazing, your job Mr. Smit is to lead the Sprinboks to victory, i think writing books should only come once you have moved on and retired from the game.......................while in it, you should concentrate on what you get paid to do, win for SA..............you are a great captain John, but to start writng books before you even hung up the boots ius almost as stupid as Joost?
Noel11/13/2009 10:58 AM
Awesome John!! You are a natrual born leader and South Africa needs more people like you. Utmost respect to you!
andrew11/13/2009 10:55 AM
Smit is a legend, no doubt.To the people saying the Cheetahs props scrummed John and co into the ground, do yourselves a favour.Try to understand the rules of rugby.Even the best props in the world, admit its an impossible area to referee.John is not the best prop around but he is as good as any of the Cheetahs props.It will be a very sad day when the likes of John, Bryan, Victor & Fourie du Preez retire.Lets glow in their magic while they still play the game!
Gustav Brümmer.11/13/2009 10:53 AM
I like honest people!!! Well done , John, and all the best for you and the team tonight!!!
Jacques11/13/2009 10:53 AM
@prop, you are probably a Bulls or Cheetahs supporter, the Cheetahs scrummed the Sharks into the ground because they cut into their space at impact - smart tactic, but will work only once, the Sharks have the best front row finish and klaar.
Ninja11/13/2009 10:51 AM
zuhair: How would you know the antics of what goes on within a springbok team - are you a springbok? Watson is an idiot who thinks far too much of himself, granted he is not a bad rugby player, but not even close to the class of Brussow and Burger!
Arend11/13/2009 10:50 AM
Dit sal interessant wees om te sien hoeveel rasisme kaarte weer getrek gaan word. Hierdie boek moet ek lees.
avril11/13/2009 10:50 AM
Well said karel
pattyT11/13/2009 10:48 AM
cant wait for the elease.its about time john have his say not infront of the tv cameras.good luck
Jacques11/13/2009 10:48 AM
Multiple choice : The most frequent use of Ollie le Roux's mouth is: a) to eat b) to talk c) to smoke cigars
Anti Puke?11/13/2009 10:47 AM
Zuhair where are you phoning from. Were you part of the Springboks? If not, how can you call Smit an idiot since he was intimately involved during Puke's short dismal career with the Springboks. You are obviously not a supporter of the Springboks if you wish on them to lose tonigth, rather watch ballet.
Jimbo11/13/2009 10:46 AM
Zuhair, don't be a naive little school boy! This book was written from the perspective of the most capped Springbok captain OF ALL TIME! He possibly knows a little more about the inner workings of the Springbok squad than you do?! Just a thought... Oh, and I think it's brilliant marketing to release the book during the highlight of his career and not a few years into retirement like so many old Rugga stars do. Strike while the iron is hot, as they say! Besides the fact that Divvy has all but guaranteed Smitty a place as captain in the World Cup squad. I don't think Smit risks anything with the book! My opinion...take it or leave it...
Lee11/13/2009 10:44 AM
John Smit is the best captain in rugby history. What sets him apart from all others before and after is his honesty, integrity and great leadership. I marvel at the man. However, I don't think that releasing this book before his career ends was a wise move. Rugby administrators / Politicians are power hungry and proud, they definately don't have the best interests of our rugby & country at heart. John Smit the legend!
Furley11/13/2009 10:43 AM
Lilian. Mike Stofile is not Minister of Sport.
Nic11/13/2009 10:43 AM
When the book being released? it will make for an awesome read. Puke Watson was indeed a cancerous effect on the team who only played for the boks because of what his father was! John Smit has been the best captain after Teichmann - people are just jealous he has played for the Sharks for so long!
Johncarlos11/13/2009 10:43 AM
Typical...be controversial to sell your book. If he had balls, he would have said all of this a long time ago to their faces
Kylee11/13/2009 10:43 AM
Zuhair, you are a typical province supporter....Watson is a great provincial player but showed he can't make the step up to international level. He should let his rugby do the talking in team meetings and not his political views!!!
The Dude11/13/2009 10:42 AM
@ Zuhair - I've been waiting a long time to say this - if you don't like the Springboks then leave SA! We don't need people like you. Don't know anything about rugby but for some reason you feel you have to run your mouth off. Look Luke Watson is a decent player. But to be honest we have better. Brussouw, Schalk, Spies, Kankow etc. This has nothing to do with race (which is probably why you like Puke) so go back to bed and ask mommy to make you a bottle.
GT11/13/2009 10:41 AM
finally a rugby book with no celeb angle. JS has just confirmed 2 things I have always known, Ollie and Luke are the 2 biggest roosters in rugby
horrified11/13/2009 10:40 AM
Zuhair you are an idiot and worse to wish your country defeat. As a team they are entitled to feel however they please about Watson. People like you make me ashamed to be from SA.
Sean11/13/2009 10:39 AM
This should be a good read. But this might also indicate the Smith will retire after the end of year tour??
Bush11/13/2009 10:39 AM
Great stuff John!! Its about time someone told it how it is behind the scenes. I will definitely buy this book. And i totally agree with you on Watson. Only the blind and stupid would not agree with you especially after everything that has happened. Good luck to our boys tonight!!
junsau11/13/2009 10:38 AM
John Smit is the greatest springbok captain we've ever had. A true example for young people to look up to. I'm sure the focus of his book wasn't even the three controversial points in discussion. But trust the media to look for dirt. Media and Warthogs at least share that in common. I'm looking forward to reading the book.
@zuhair11/13/2009 10:37 AM
Isn't it time for you to go and slap the floor ? Idiot
Fredster11/13/2009 10:36 AM
Zuhair.... why don't you rather play the Racist card...it will sound much better. I also assume you know more than John...With "positive" people like you I am sure the world will be a better place.
moralJudge11/13/2009 10:33 AM
Will read this one by the fire, using copies of "Joost, the Man in the Mirror" to keep it burning...
Thembalabantubonke11/13/2009 10:32 AM
Any chance that Smit will confess his own deeds, or he ends up the hero in his own book? Not surprising. The headlines imply that the Watson issue is the main issue, yet hardly anything is added beyond the headlines
Fox11/13/2009 10:32 AM
Zuhair. Is your real name Cheeky? What good has Luke done for this country or for the sport ? Never was a good player in my books. He'd make a good team with Ollie and Jorrie for the never-has-beens.
Prop11/13/2009 10:28 AM
No wonder Smit is going for Ollie as Ollie was one of the props pointing out that Smit cannot scrum and is not an international quality prop, which was also prooved by Ollie's former team the cheetahs recently, by scrumming the Smit Springbok front row into the ground. Is Ollie not right? Perhaps this is sour grapes from Smit and nothing else
John11/13/2009 10:23 AM
This appears too be a book that is honest and direct..Ollie le Roux is an Old Grey College boy, and that arrogance and game playing is in the make up of most of them.
Awwsum11/13/2009 10:23 AM
I don't know, no stripper or drug abuse? Don't think this book will sell?
Auzzie11/13/2009 10:22 AM
I think Smit has just shot himself in the bloody foot here...why release the book whilst on tour overseas huh???Makes one think very hard.
Apie11/13/2009 10:20 AM
Ollie...jou ou vetsak!! 45 toetse....maar in 44 daarvan het hy net 2 minute elk gespeel....WHAT A JOKE!!!!
Lilian11/13/2009 10:19 AM
Aw, aw. Just watch big fat Stofile come after you!!!!!!! He is a law unto himself and doesn't like being challanged. I know this is deviating from the topic but why is he sports minister? He couldn't chase an ant as he is so fat and unfit.
Sharky11/13/2009 10:18 AM
Looking forward to the release. Hope you really blew the lid off all this BS of how the politicians and the like interfered in a great sport !
karel11/13/2009 10:17 AM
stop talking rubbish and concentrate on the match tonite!
pokkel8811/13/2009 10:09 AM
This would be a very interesting book to read! Interesting to note that the Put and Straeuli achieved nothing at the Sharks while Dick Muir is now part of the Springbok set up. Ollie le Roux should probably just shut up as he was most of his career on the bench anyway...
NeilA11/13/2009 10:03 AM
nice one smitty, tell it like it is!
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

Victoria Azarenka collapses

Roger Federer chocolate ad

Francois Hougaard - try-saving tackle

Front Row Grunt - Tank's blog

It's monstrous! It's the Leopards vs Pumas!

Featured Blog

John Mitchell, a world class, former All Black coach, has been released from his contract by the Western Force to coach the Lions. If there's one coach that can restore the Lion's roar it is John Mitchell, so says Lobo...

Latest blogs

Sharks to show their true colors 9/3/2010 9:23:45 AM

Playing the game for a good cause 9/3/2010 9:10:49 AM

Amazed Angry Gutted 9/3/2010 8:06:50 AM

Vote

With a number of overplayed senior veterans like John Smit, Victor Matfield, Schalk Burger and Bryan Habana likely to be rested on the Boks' end-of-year tour, who would you like to see captain the team in their absence?

Who is your Hero?

Nominate your hero and win R10 000!

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Newsletters Sign up for Sport24's Morning Glory newsletter

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

Free email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.