Wallace rushed into Irish side

2012-06-21 10:26
Paddy Wallace (File)
Hamilton - Ireland replacement centre Paddy Wallace has been rushed straight into the starting line-up in one of three changes for Saturday's Test against the All Blacks.

He becomes captain Brian O'Driscoll's third midfield partner in as many matches as Ireland make their last attempt on this tour to beat the All Blacks for the first time in 107 years of trying.

From being walloped 42-10 in the first Test, a vastly improved Ireland side suffered an agonising 22-19 defeat in the second, and lock Dan Tuohy said there was no shortage of motivation for the third and final clash.

"You don't want to sign off the season coming off the back of three defeats so we're desperate to right the wrongs of the last two weeks. It would be great to get that elusive win against the All Blacks," he said.

Tuohy will again partner Donnacha Ryan in the middle row of a settled pack featuring only one change to the unit that had the edge on the All Blacks in Christchurch last week.

Peter O’Mahony, who came off the bench during the second Test, will start in the backrow where Jamie Heaslip has been ruled out because of a broken finger.

Inside centre Wallace was called into the side after Gordon D’Arcy returned home injured following the second Test.

Keith Earls, who started the first match in the number 12 jersey, has recovered from the chest injury he suffered in that game and has been selected on the left wing in place of Andrew Trimble.


New Zealand:

15 Israel Dagg, 14 Ben Smith, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Sonny Bill Williams, 11 Hosea Gear, 10 Aaron Cruden, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Richie McCaw (captain), 7 Sam Cane, 6 Liam Messam, 5 Samuel Whitelock, 4 Luke Romano, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Andrew Hore, 1 Tony Woodcock

Substitutes: 16 Keven Mealamu, 17 Ben Franks, 18 Brodie Retallick, 19 Adam Thomson, 20 Piri Weepu, 21 Beauden Barrett, 22 Tamati Ellison


15 Rob Kearney, 14 Fergus McFadden, 13 Brian O'Driscoll (captain), 12 Paddy Wallace, 11 Keith Earls, 10 Jonathan Sexton, 9 Conor Murray, 8 Peter O'Mahony, 7 Sean O'Brien, 6 Kevin McLaughlin, 5 Donnacha Ryan, 4 Dan Tuohy, 3 Mike Ross, 2 Rory Best, 1 Cian Healy

Substitutes: 16 Sean Cronin, 17 Declan Fitzpatrick, 18 Donncha O'Callaghan, 19 Chris Henry, 20 Eoin Reddan, 21 Ronan O'Gara, 22 Andrew Trimble

Read more on:    ireland  |  all blacks  |  rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


With the Absa Premiership nearing its conclusion, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Bidvest Wits hold them off? A bridge too far for new boys Cape Town City FC? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Which player in the 31-man Springbok squad to face France can consider himself most fortunate?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.