Wales to debut prop Jarvis

2012-11-06 15:49
Aaron Jarvis (File)

Cardiff - Ospreys prop Aaron Jarvis is set to make his Wales debut against renowned scrummagers Argentina at Cardiff's Millennium Stadium on Saturday after replacing injured set-piece anchorman Adam Jones.

Wales interim head coach Rob Howley, in charge now Warren Gatland is overseeing the 2013 British and Irish Lions tour of Australia, also sprung a surprise by selecting Tavis Knoyle at scrumhalf instead of Mike Phillips.

In the back-row Josh Turnbull starts at blindside flanker in the absence through injury of both Dan Lydiate and Ryan Jones.

Scarlets centre Jonathan Davies has also been sidelined so club colleague Scott Williams partners Jamie Roberts in midfield.

There are seven changes to the team that kicked-off Wales's last match, a 20-19 defeat by Australia in Sydney in June, with Williams, Roberts, Knoyle, No 8 Toby Faletau, Turnbull, lock Ian Evans and Jarvis all starting.

Injury also sidelines centre Jonathan Davies (groin), so his Scarlets colleague Scott Williams deputises and partners Jamie Roberts in midfield.

The 26-year-old Jarvis was born in Exeter, south-west England but qualifies for Wales through a Welsh grandmother.

He has starred for the Ospreys this season and impressed national coaches during last week's training camp in Poland.

Saturday's match is the opening Welsh fixture of a European autumn series that also sees Howley's men at home to Samoa, world champions New Zealand and Australia.



15 Leigh Halfpenny; 14 Alex Cuthbert, 13 Scott Williams, 12 Jamie Roberts, 11 George North; 10 Rhys Priestland, 9 Tavis Knoyle; 8 Toby Faletau, 7 Sam Warburton (captain), 6 Josh Turnbull; 5 Ian Evans, 4 Alun-Wyn Jones; 3 Aaron Jarvis, 2 Matthew Rees, 1 Gethin Jenkins

Substitutes: 16 Richard Hibbard, 17 Ryan Bevington, 18Paul James, 19 Rob McCusker, 20 Justin Tipuric, 21 Mike Phillips, 22 James Hook, 23 Liam Williams


15 Juan Martin Hernandez; 14 Gonzalo Camacho, 13 Gonzalo Tiesi, 12 Felipe Contepomi, 11 Juan Jose Imhoff; 10 Nicolas Sanchez, 9 Martin Landajo; 8 Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe (captain), 7 Juan Manuel Leguizamon, 6 Leonardo Senatore; 5 Julio Farias Cabello, 4 Manuel Carizza; 3 Juan Figallo, 2 Eusebio Guinazu, 1 Marcos Ayerza

Substitutes: 16 Agustin Creevy, 17 Bruno Postiglioni, 18 Juan Gomez, 19 Tomas Vallejos, 20 Tomas Leonardi, 21 Nicolas Vergallo, 22 Horacio Agulla, 23 Joaquin Tuculet

Read more on:    wales  |  rugby


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
  • Blitz
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @00:00
  • SS1
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @01:00
  • SS2
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @02:00
  • SS3
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @03:00
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
SuperBru Super Rugby challenge

Enter and challenge Sport24's staff!


As the Absa Premiership nears the Christmas break, a little over half the season remains. Who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Which teams will be relegated? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Which of the four SA franchises in contention for the Super Rugby quarter-finals will miss out?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.