Wales delay naming captain

2010-10-18 19:16
Ryan Jones (AFP)

Cardiff - Wales coach Warren Gatland will not choose a captain for next month's matches against Australia, South Africa, Fiji and New Zealand until he selects the team for the opening Test against the Wallabies.

Gatland picked a 33-man squad on Monday but is holding off on an announcement on the captaincy because he wants players to train hard in an effort to compete for the role.

Gatland said Ryan Jones is a strong contender to hang on to the title.

"We will assess form and pick our team and then name the captain. It has to be in that order, but there is little to suggest to us that it will not be Ryan again," Gatland said. "He needs a little more gametime, but we are more than happy with what he offers in a leadership capacity."

Gatland recalled Shane Williams, James Hook, Richard Hibbard, Tom Shanklin and Martyn Williams after they missed the tour of New Zealand, with prop Scott Andrews and wing George North the only two uncapped players in the squad.

"Scott Andrews has been doing well technically, physically he is in good shape. We have had our eye on him at the Blues and he has been in and around the squad for a while," Gatland said. "George North is only young but really set the start of the season on fire with his form."

Earlier it was announced that Gatland has signed a new four-year contract to stay with Wales until 2015.

Wales squad for Tests against Australia, New Zealand, South Africa and Fiji:


Gethin Jenkins (Cardiff Blues), Paul James (Ospreys), Adam Rhys Jones (Ospreys), John Yapp (Cardiff Blues), Scott Andrews (Cardiff Blues), Matthew Rees (Scarlets), Huw Bennett (Ospreys), Richard Hibbard (Ospreys), Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys), Bradley Davies (Cardiff Blues), Deiniol Jones (Cardiff Blues), Ian Gough (Ospreys), Dan Lydiate (Newport Gwent Dragons), Jonathan Thomas (Ospreys), Ryan Jones (Ospreys), Sam Warburton (Cardiff Blues), Martyn Williams (Cardiff Blues), Rob McCusker (Scarlets)


Michael Phillips (Ospreys), Richard Rees (Cardiff Blues), Tavis Knoyle (Scarlets), Stephen Jones (Scarlets), Dan Biggar (Ospreys), James Hook (Ospreys), Andrew Bishop (Ospreys), Jonathan Davies (Scarlets), Tom Shanklin (Cardiff Blues), Shane Williams (Ospreys), Leigh Halfpenny (Cardiff Blues), Will Harries (Newport Gwent Dragons), George North (Scarlets), Lee Byrne (Ospreys), Tom Prydie (Ospreys)

Read more on:    wales  |  warren gatland

We may be undervaluing Boks

2015-09-02 19:12


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Add your comment
Comment 0 characters remaining
Live Video Streaming
  • Blitz
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @00:00
  • SS1
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @01:00
  • SS2
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @02:00
  • SS3
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @03:00
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet

Take a photographical trip down memory lane and remind yourself of how the Springboks fared in their five previous Rugby World Cup campaigns. In addition, pick your all-time Springbok Rugby World Cup Dream Team and you could win R3 000!

Latest blogs

Which player can consider himself unluckiest at not making the 31-man Springbok Rugby World Cup squad?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.