Varsity Cup

UJ edge out brave Madibaz

2011-02-14 19:47
Aubrey McDonald (Gallo Images)
Port Elizabeth - FNB UJ survived a furious late onslaught from FNB NMMU, before eventually completing a 21-16 FNB Varsity Cup presented by Steinhoff International win in Port Elizabeth on Monday afternoon.

The Madibaz, winless in last year's Varsity Cup, ended the match right on the UJ line, but were unable to convert their brave effort into a victory in front of a hugely supportive crowd at the Xerox NMMU Stadium.

It was a bitter pill to swallow for the Men from PE, with captain - and Man of the Match - Jaco Swanepoel praising the performance of his charges: "What can I say? We came so close... credit to my guys."

The home side found themselves 3-0 down after just eight minutes, but that three-point deficit would become eight just one minute later when flyhalf Theuns Kotze - formerly of Pukke - ran the re-start back at NMMU; his great run, and quick thinking, leading a Wigan Pekeur try.

Kotze, who had slotted his team's first points via that eighth-minute penalty, missed the conversion - but the visitors would have been very happy at 8-0 up after just nine minutes of action.

NMMU seemed to be struggling to get into the game, but as the game edged towards the half-hour mark fullback Vuyolethu Mazaka snapped up a loose UJ pass in his own 22, with centre Wade Roos diving over on the opposite end of the field after great work from Mazaka and left-wing Makholokoe Ramashala.

Flyhalf Marius Muller, despite an earlier penalty miss, slotted the tricky conversion and the home side were just 7-8 down after thirty minutes. They would have felt confident trailing by just one point, especially after seeing little ball up till then, but a second Kotze penalty made it 11-7 to the University of Johannesburg at half-time.

Unfortunately for the Madibaz, they started the second half slowly - as they did against Tuks last week - and soon found themselves trailing 18-7 when outside centre Luan Steenkamp cut back inside the NMMU defence (from a well-timed Kotze pass) to score his team's second try.

At 7-18 down the hosts could have been forgiven for giving up... but the deficit seemed to spur them on as flyhalf Muller slotted two penalties to narrow the score to 18-13.

UJ's Kotze knocked over his third penalty to keep their noses in front at 21-13, but another Muller penalty meant it was game on in the final quarter.

It was more than game on, in fact, and the Madibaz spent the last five minutes camped deep in UJ territory.

With just three minutes left they won a penalty virtually on the UJ line, only to lose the ball ahead. The ensuing scrum led to some nervous moments for UJ as winger Pekeur lost the ball forward, leading to another NMMU scrum after a TMO ruling - this time with just one minute remaining on the clock.

Madibaz scrumhalf Shannon Rick fed the scrum and No.12 Jeffrey Taljaard hit the ball up. They went wide and fullback Mazaka sped ahead - only for Steenkamp (his team's second-half try-scorer) to make a match-saving tackle in the nick of time as the ball was also spilled forward by the NMMU No.15.

The scorers:


Tries: Roos
Cons: Muller
Pens: Muller 3


Tries: Pekeur, Steenkamp
Con: Kotze
Pens: Kotze 3

The teams:

NMMU: 15 Vuyolethu Mazaka, 14 Juan du Preez, 13 Wade Roos, 12 Jeffrey Taljaard, 11 Makholokoe Ramashala, 10 Marius Muller, 9 Shannon Rick, 8 Jaco Swanepoel (captain), 7 Theunis Derksen, 6 Ferdinand Gerber, 5 Mzwande Zito, 4 Schalk Oelofse, 3 Musa Tukela, 2 Martin Ferreira, 1 Ross David-Anderson.

Replacements: 16 Lumka Mbane, 17 Dexter Seanancy, 18 Louis Fourie, 19 Andre Goosen, 20 Martin Ruiters, 21 Bradley Kretzmann, 22 Hlangoluhle Nodongwe, 23 Andile Mrwebi.

UJ: 15 Aubrey McDonald, 14 Wigan Pekeur, 13 Luan Steenkamp, 12 Divan van Zyl, 11 Lolo Waka, 10 Theuns Kotze, 9 Daniel Botha, 8 Justin Wheeler (captain), 7 Wendal Wehr, 6 Johan van Deventer, 5 Marnus van Huyssteen, 4 Jacobus Swanepoel, 3 Jaco Vermeulen, 2 Francois du Toit, 1 Caylib Oosthuizen.                                                            

Replacements: 16 George Ries, 17 Ollie Terblanche, 18 Shane Kirkwood, 19 Cameron Peverett, 20 André Smith, 21 Earl Lewis, 22 Harry Collins, 23 Anthony Gallacher.

Referee: François Groenewald

TMO: Johann Meuwesen

Read more on:    varsity cup


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Add your comment
Comment 0 characters remaining
Live Video Streaming
  • Blitz
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @00:00
  • SS1
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @01:00
  • SS2
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @02:00
  • SS3
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @03:00
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

13 April 2015
FNB UFS SHIMLAS v NWU-Pukke, 19:00
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Who will you be supporting in this year's Varsity Cup competition?

Love 2 Meet

Got something you'd like to get off your chest? Got a burning desire to air an opinion? If so, be sure to sign-up on Sport24's FORUM!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

Newsletters Sign up for the Morning Glory, Super 15 and Soccer newsletters

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

Forum Have your Say on Sport24's brand new Forum!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.