Varsity Cup

Patria lift 'koshuis' trophy

2011-04-11 20:58
Wilco de Wet (Gallo Images)
Pretoria - The Steinhoff Koshuisrugby Championships Final was a one sided affair, as a well drilled Patria from Pukke won 21-0 and were simply too strong for Maties koshuis Simonsberg.

Both Steinhoff Patria and Steinhoff Simonsberg went unbeaten through their koshuis seasons and a tightly contested final was expected.

Patria came out fired up and absorbed some early pressure from Simonsberg, as both teams made relatively nervy starts in front of a large and very vocal crowd.

Patria got on the board first through the boot of flyhalf Wilco de Wet, who landed two easy penalties after some ill dicipline at ruck time from Simonsberg.

The Men from Potchefstroom then extended their lead after some great hands by flank Jean Olivier, who got the ball out to left wing Janco van Zyl on the 22m line, and the lanky speedster cut back into the field to run a perfect angle and slice through the defence to score the opening try.

In the second half it was Patria who were the dominant side once again, and with an attacking line-out they rumbled the ball forward before scrumhalf Zwerus Evers fired a pass out to lock Ludewyk Uys, who crashed over for the second try of the match.

Both sides must be complimented on their committed tackling and frantic work attack, but Patria were more accurate and composed under pressure, playing with real guts and determination.


Simonsberg: None

Tries: Van Zyl, Uys
Con: De Wet
Pens: De Wet 3


Steinhoff Simonsberg: 15 Chris Hopkins, 14 Cameron Turner, 13 Karel Kruger, 12 Walter Smit, 11 Zac Prins, 10 Henk de Villiers, 9 Murray Middleton, 8 André Bezuidenhout, 7 William Leathern, 6 Jacob Serfontein, 5 Rob Burman, 4 Chris Jacobs, 3 John Comway, 2 Marc van Heerden, 1 Douglas Gower.
Replacements: 16 Thomas Clark, 17 Louwrens Mostert, 18 Tom Keet, 19 Andrew Teare, 20 Pieter de Jager, 21 Warren Seals, 22 Ryno Roux.

Steinhoff Patria:
15 Johannes Jurie du Toit, 14 Tiaan Geldenhuys, 13 Johan Deysel, 12 Claude Bouwer, 11 Janco van Zyl, 10 Wilco de Wet, 9 Zwerus Evers, 8 Zander Erasmus, 7 Jean Olivier, 6 IW Olivier, 5 St John Nel, 4 Ludewyk Uys, 3 Luvan Viljoen, 2 Pieterse Le Roux, 1 Christoff Briers.
Replacements: 16 Mauritz Senekal, 17 Andries Brummer, 18 Ehrart van Antwerpen, 19 Benson Brink, 20 Richard Webber, 21 Benjamin van As, 22 Edward du Plessis, 23 Rupert Oberholster.


LIVE: Argentina v Tonga

2015-10-04 11:07


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
  • Blitz
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @00:00
  • SS1
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @01:00
  • SS2
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @02:00
  • SS3
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @03:00
Video Highlights
Sport Talk
Most Read


Rugby World Cup 2015

All the action from the 2015 RWC, including live coverage of all 48 matches, breaking news, fixtures, results, logs - and much more!


Rugby World Cup 2015

Du Preez key to Boks' success
LIVE: Argentina v Tonga
Cheika taking it one game at a time
Cotter: 'No beer bribe for Samoa'

Who will you be supporting in this year's Varsity Cup competition?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


Take a photographical trip down memory lane and remind yourself of how the Springboks fared in their five previous Rugby World Cup campaigns. In addition, pick your all-time Springbok Rugby World Cup Dream Team and you could win R3 000!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.