Varsity Cup

Ikeys continue to dominate

2011-02-21 21:48
Nick Fenton-Wells (Gallo Images)
Cape Town - FNB UCT were rampant in their impressive 49-12 victory over the Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University in their Varsity Cup - and Monte Taljaard Trophy - fixture on a blustery evening in Cape Town.

Luckily the visitors hail from windy Port Elizabeth and were able to quickly adapt to the howling winds that greeted the two sides.

NMMU started strongly, keeping the ball with their tight forwards and choosing not to kick into the wind, however, their discipline let them down - conceding kickable penalties for cynical fouls committed at the breakdown.

UCT flyhalf Demetri Catrakilis - who has been so impressive in recent weeks - was happy to oblige with the boot with the wind at his back and quickly had the Ikey Tigers leading 9-0.

The first try of the game was scored by NMMU, after an attacking lineout inside the UCT 22-metre line, scrumhalf Shannon Rick darted round the fringes to score making the score (9-5).

Having a try scored against them seemed to be the wake up call that UCT needed, as they quickly struck back through lock Eben Etzebeth, who was having a storming match.

There were more problems for NMMU as they lost their flyhalf Marius Muller through injury, with Bradley Kretzmann taking over at pivot inside the first 20 minutes.

There was time for one more try before half-time, as Ikeys fullback Ricky Rijs timed his run perfectly, joining the UCT backline at pace and breaking through a gaping hole in the NMMU defence to score - making it  27-5 going into the break.

The second half was one-way traffic as the NMMU spirited defence was stretched time and again a brilliant break down the touchline by experienced Tigers wing Pete Haw set up an opportunity for prop Francois van Wyk to drive over and score UCT's third try.
There was another try almost immediately as the floodgates broke open and scrumhalf Nic Groom - who recently played for the Stormers in a pre-season encounter - sniped round the side of a ruck to score a typically cheeky scrumhalf try.

The Ikeys continued to grow in confidence and kept the ball in hand brilliantly, with the forwards opting to pick and go, thereby carrying play into the NMMU half before the ball was spread wide and nippy centre Therlow Pietersen went round the outside of his marker to score in the corner making it 44-5.

With the game just about over as a contest, the home side emptied their bench onto the field for the final quarter and the replacements looked eager to prove their worth to the coaching team.

UCT piled on the pressure close to the NMMU tryline and after going through several phases flank Zandy Macdonald was unmarked out wide and went over for the sixth Tigers try of the match.

The match deteriorated and become error-ridden in the closing minutes, before NMMU prop Dexter Seanancy unexpectedly broke through a giant hole and had flank Ferdinand Gerber on his shoulder to go over for a well-deserved try, albeit only a consolation in a one-sided affair.

Last year's runners-up UCT will come away pleased with their dominant performance, with Nic Groom earning himself the Man of the Match Award on his 21st birthday for an outstanding display of crisp passing and cool decision-making.

The scorers:

Tries: Etzebeth, Rijs, Van Wyk, Groom, Pietersen, Macdonald
Cons: Catrakilis 2
Pens: Catrakilis 5


Tries: Rick, Gerber
Con: Kretzmann

FNB UCT: 15 Ricky Rijs, 14 Pete Haw, 13 Therlow Pietersen, 12 Adrian Kritzinger, 11 Paul Cohen, 10 Demetri Catrakilis, 9 Nic Groom, 8 Greg Mallett, 7 Nick Fenton-Wells (captain), 6 Nizaam Carr, 5 Levi Odendaal, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Shane Meier, 2 Matt Page, 1 Wes Chetty.
Replacements: 16 Dayne Jans, 17 Francois van Wyk, 18 Don Armand, 19 Zandy Macdonald, 20 Ricky Schroeder, 21 Nick Holton, 22 Sabelo Siyakatshana, 23 Pete Olivier.

Head coach: Kevin Foote

FNB NMMU: 15 Vuyolethu Mazaka, 14 Juan du Preez, 13 Wade Roos, 12 Hlangoluhle Nodongwe, 11 Makholokoe Ramashala, 10 Marius Muller, 9 Shannon Rick, 8 Jaco Swanepoel, 7 André Goosen, 6 Ferdinand Gerber, 5 Mzwande Zito, 4 Schalk Oelofse, 3 Musa Tukela, 2 Martin Ferreira, 1 Dexter Seanancy.
Replacements: 16 Lumka Mbane, 17 Ross David-Anderson, 18 Louis Fourie, 19 Philip Hanekom, 20 Marlin Ruiters, 21 Bradley Kretzmann, 22 Charl van Loggenberg, 23 Andile Mrwebi.

Head coach: Brent Janse van Rensburg


Read more on:    varsity cup


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
  • Blitz
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @00:00
  • SS1
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @01:00
  • SS2
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @02:00
  • SS3
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @03:00
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

15 February 2016
FNB NMMU MADIBAZ v Maties, Port Elizabeth 16:45
CUT v FNB UCT IKEYS, Bloemfontein 18:30
NWU-Pukke v UJ, Potch 19:00
22 February 2016
UJ v CUT, Johannesburg 16:45
FNB UCT IKEYS v NWU-Pukke, Cape Town 18:30
Maties v FNB UP-TUKS, Stellenbosch 19:00
29 February 2016
FNB UCT IKEYS v FNB UP-TUKS, Cape Town 16:45
CUT v FNB NMMU MADIBAZ, Bloemfontein 18:30
UJ v Maties, Johannesburg 18:30
NWU-Pukke v FNB UFS SHIMLAS, Potch 19:00

Who will you be supporting in this year's Varsity Cup competition?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


As the Absa Premiership nears the Christmas break, a little over half the season remains. Who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Which teams will be relegated? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.