Varsity Cup

Brutal Shimlas upset Maties

2011-02-14 21:19
Hanno Pieterse (Gallo Images)
Bloemfontein - FNB Shimlas ensured that the FNB Maties would not have it all their way in the 2011 Varsity Cup, when they beat the three-times champions by 21-15 in Bloemfontein on Monday night.

In a brutal encounter at Shimla Park, last year's losing semifinalists claimed their first-ever Varsity Cup win over the defending champs - just seven days after they had begun their 2011 campaign with a home loss to UCT.

The selfsame Ikeys have benefited most from this Shimlas win, with the Men from Cape Town moving into first place on the log - although Shimlas did themselves no harm either as they opened some daylight between themselves and the winless NMMU and Pukke teams.

Shimlas - playing in front of a much better crowd in Bloem - scored the game's only tries (one in each half) as they ran into an early lead thanks to ex-Matie Charl Weideman's first try in Shimlas colours.

Weideman profited from a fine break by flyhalf Jaco Colyn - in a late change to the Shimlas XV, he moved to flyhalf with Enrico Acker taking over at scrumhalf - and Franna du Toit (starting at fullback, not flyhalf) slotted the conversion for a 7-0 lead.

A Du Toit penalty then made it 10-0, but the Maties - courtesy of their 'new' man at flyhalf André Kemp - managed two first-half three-pointers (a penalty and a drop-goal) to leave the score at 10-6 to the home side at half-time.

The undoubted highlight of the second half was Shimlas winger Jamba Ulengo's try shortly after the 60-minute mark, the speedster running some 40 metres for a crucial five-pointer, the Maties having - for the first time - taken the lead at 15-13.

Ulengo's score came in the all-new 'Powerplay' - which means free Black Label for all Kovsies fans at the Spur on Tuesday night! - but it also allowed the hosts to keep their noses in front at a crucial stage.

Replacement Shaun Davids failed to convert Ulengo's try, but his second penalty of the night stretched the Shimlas lead to 21-15 with time running out.

Shimlas, eventually, held on to record their first win of the 2011 season, no doubt leaving coach Jaco Swanepoel a happier man after last week's dismal opening, whilst Maties coach Chean Roux will have little trouble motivating his troops for an away clash against the high-riding FNB TUT team.

The scorers:

For FNB Shimlas:
Weideman, Ulengo
Con: Du Toit
Pens: Du Toit, Davids 2

For FNB Maties:
Kemp, Stevens 3
DG: Kemp


FNB Shimlas:
15 George Whitehead, 14 Jamba Ulengo, 13 Earl Snyman, 12 Charl Weideman, 11 Cameron Jacobs, 10 Francois du Toit, 9 Jaco Colyn, 8 Willie Britz (captain), 7 Pieter Labuschagnè, 6 Hanno Pieterse, 5 Joubert Horn, 4 Wilken Heyns, 3 Henry van Niekerk, 2 JC van Wyk, 1 Charles Marais.
Replacements: 16 Hercu Liebenberg, 17 John-Henry Harris, 18 Oupa Mohoje, 19 Etienne Terblanche, 20 Enrico Acker, 21 Zandre de Bruin, 22 Shaun Davids, 23 Ian Potgieter.

FNB Maties:

15 Ruan Combrinck, 14 Tshotsho Mbovane, 13 Ryan Nell, 12 Louis Jordaan, 11 Tythan Adams, 10 Jody Rose, 9 Donald Stevens, 8 Tertius Daniller, 7 Grant Hattingh, 6 Helmut Lehman, 5 Hugo Kloppers, 4 Andrew Prior, 3 Buhle Mxunyelwa, 2 Callie Visagie (captain), 1 Johan Roets.
Replacements: 16 Gareth Light, 17 Os Hamman, 18 Meyer Swanepoel, 19 Sam Mabombo, 20 James Alexander, 21 André Kemp, 22 Jarryd Buys, 23 Suan Havenga.

Referee: Dilbert November


Read more on:    varsity cup

Bulls too good for Crusaders

2015-03-28 21:00


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Add your comment
Comment 0 characters remaining
Live Video Streaming
  • Blitz
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @00:00
  • SS1
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @01:00
  • SS2
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @02:00
  • SS3
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @03:00
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

30 March 2015
FNB UFS SHIMLAS v UCT, Bloemfontein 16:45
FNB UP - TUKS v NWU-Pukke, Pretoria 19:00
13 April 2015
Winner SF2 v Winner SF1, 19:00
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Home Team Result Away Team

Who will you be supporting in this year's Varsity Cup competition?

Love 2 Meet

Got something you'd like to get off your chest? Got a burning desire to air an opinion? If so, be sure to sign-up on Sport24's FORUM!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

Newsletters Sign up for the Morning Glory, Super 15 and Soccer newsletters

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

Forum Have your Say on Sport24's brand new Forum!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.