Tri-Nations

Wallabies 'tougher' than Boks

2010-07-30 11:28
Email | Print
Richie McCaw (AP)

Melbourne - The Wallabies will be a tougher opponent for the all-conquering All Blacks here this weekend than world champions South Africa, skipper Richie McCaw said on Friday.

New Zealand are poised to take a iron grip on the outcome of this year's Tri-Nations series if they can march on to their eighth straight win over the Australians at Docklands stadium on Saturday.

The All Blacks were dynamic in posting bonus-point victories over South Africa at home this month, while the Wallabies were too good for the Springboks 30-13 in Brisbane last weekend.

"The Wallabies are going to be a different challenge and I think they're going to be a better challenge for us," McCaw told reporters.

"They're going to be a tougher opponent than what we've faced so far so we're going to have to be right on the job."

The Melbourne Test also counts for this year's Bledisloe Cup series, symbol of trans-Tasman rugby supremacy.

"It's probably the trophy we want to win the most," Wallabies' captain Rocky Elsom said.

McCaw agreed, while New Zealand-born Australian coach Robbie Deans labelled it the "ultimate contest".

"It's the history, it's the meaning," Deans said. "Meaning in life is great. We're privileged to be involved, privileged to do what we do and have this opportunity."

The breakdown battle between rival sets of back-row forwards, and particularly McCaw and open-side rival David Pocock, will be pivotal in the outcome of Saturday's encounter.

Elsom and Deans both identified the Kiwis' second-half pressure at the tackle area as a major factor in their recent successes.

With the Wallabies wanting to play an attacking ball-in-hand game, Elsom said it was vital to negate the influence of McCaw and his forwards.

"We've got to be able to stop their influence at the breakdown and whether that be getting a pilfer off the ball or making sure their bodies don't spill over and lock it down, they're all things we've got to deal with," he said. "And if we want to play an attacking game, that's a big part of it."

"The All Blacks are the benchmark at the moment -- you saw that in the first two Tests.

"That's probably as good as I've seen them play, in that first Test."

The All Blacks lead the Tri-Nations standings with 10 points from two games and another win would make them almost untouchable considering South Africa are pointless and the Wallabies have just one away win in the past six Tri-Nations series.

Your Comments

Rex8/2/2010 12:10 AM
I love it here. You guys are funny. @ Butt Head & Aussie Girl says "Go eat snot!" and Johan says "THIS IS A FORUM WHERE ONLY INTELLECTUAL opinions are appreciated." I guess we have a different interpretation of intellectual over here. I hope you guys keep playing your "intellectual" brand of rugby.
Tugboat7/31/2010 4:08 PM
Of course the match against the Wallabies will be tougher - there will be an honest ref on the field.....
Sy7/31/2010 3:19 PM
Yep the sheepers have won for a change. Congrats . . . enjoy the wins cause the hidings are coming!
GOODSTUFF7/31/2010 2:52 PM
hahahahahahaha...........GO THE BLACKS
Mr Drew7/31/2010 11:29 AM
Hmm, we are probably guilty of being too arrogant and believing that we can just whack the ABs and Wallabies in their own backyard. But the arrogance must be founded on our status as world champions and the fact that two SA sides dominated the S14 this year. But let's not panic yet, before the last world cup we got hammered in the Tri-Nations only to go on and win the tournament in Paris. Yes, our coach says some pretty dumb things but he did guide us to the Tri-Nations last year and a victory of the B&I Lions. It suits us fine for the ABs and Wallabies to underestimate us. Richie will have reason to rue these stupid words of his, they will only serve as extra motivation to the Boks. So let's all say, "Thank you, Sir!" to Richie for perhaps sparking some better play and let's just humbly go to New Zealand next year and thump them in the World Cup.
rough7/31/2010 8:58 AM
aussie tougher than boks. Aussie/NZ the real rugby contest. I agree. That must hurt the bok supporters pride.....
lapoftherugbygods7/31/2010 7:19 AM
All the moaning about the reffing from the Saffers is quite all right by me. Its all the Refs fault. Its Ritchie McCaw. He's a dirty rotten cheater. Playing the ball offside in the ruck is certainly as bad as sticking your fingers in an opponents eyes sockets. Toughen up. Im happy for the Boks to focus on this argument. All the better for the Wallabies and the Abs. If you arent focused on your own game and its faults and be brutally honest. You will keep losing and not improve. The rule changes have meant the aerial assualt game doesnt work at the highest level. Until the Boks can lay at the tempo of the ABs and Aus and develop an attacking threat they will continue to come 3rd. All the depth in the world will not matter. There are only 15 guys on the field at any one time. .
Bonzi7/30/2010 11:53 PM
SA refs are the most objective...if only we could have our own refereeing our games...but their objectivity might not play in our favour either. I'm a high school teacher, and I always favour the opposition in cricket and rugby because the label of cheater is something I abhor so much that I can't help myself...maybe its only a South African trait? No more Irishmen at least...PLEASE!!!!!
Mike B7/30/2010 11:36 PM
Shame Johan, are you feeling lonely in S A? You speak about intelectual? I am sure if you had half a brain you would have been out of there as well. Your comments regarding Richie and this webb Site says it all. Just crawl back under that rock you come out from and as you have been seriously starved of good rugby, watch the game today and see how it should be played!!!!! Dit bly maar kak om te sien hou hulle julle land op doner ne?
Gavin7/30/2010 11:10 PM
While I think Richie is almost as good a captain as John, thank god John's not as dumb
Gavin7/30/2010 11:05 PM
What else would the t****r say???
Gavin7/30/2010 11:03 PM
What else would the tosser say???
sutter cane7/30/2010 8:22 PM
face it....the boks are a spent force (it only lasted 2 years) u know that the allblacks are better..we just had an off year in 2009,and ur shitting urself that u r gonna get another pasting in ur own yard,....cuase ur going to.man up and accept that u arent good enough.
World Cup Bottlers7/30/2010 7:10 PM
Is that concerned look on Richie's face him contemplating swopping all his 3N trophies for a RWC one - hope so, the AB's havnt won 'Bill' in 20 years. In 2007 they went with '2 teams' and couldnt do it, next year - 3 teams? Sorry mate, its the Boks or Aussies holding that trophy, so chase the 3N all you want.
Ricjie Macca7/30/2010 7:01 PM
Struth, you blokes are wasting good Steiny dowining time with all this online banter! These bluddy Aussies are taking the mick, Quado gets a couple of weeks rest & the klepto steals my favourite Heinrich Brussouw jersey i got last year - HB's good he is - best of the best, i thought he was a klepto when he nicked all my ball last year but Quado's offsides on this one! Red card Quado! Red card!
@Aussie boy7/30/2010 4:10 PM
Oh yes and your father is a sheep mufdiver! Take that to the scrum!
Maybe7/30/2010 3:33 PM
He could have put it differently. He should have said "It will be much tougher to beat the opposition with an impartial ref."
@ To all Arrogant Australians.7/30/2010 3:24 PM
Pretty rich coming from you, Pathetic loser! Go catch a shadow.
@Fair opinionated observer7/30/2010 3:19 PM
haha - you make me smile. Very sad and bitter little person you are. Maybe you should stick to watching ten pin bowling
koos7/30/2010 2:50 PM
Watch the ALL BLACKS live offside against the Bokke in this Video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pdr-W775hk4&feature=player_embedded
Johan7/30/2010 2:24 PM
Ja Richie has a big mouth now. Last year he looke like the fool he is. Still he must be the biggest overrated player in the history of the game. No one cares about him except his mother and buddies. To all Aussie and Kiwis the following: THIS IS A FORUM WHERE ONLY INTELLECTUAL opinions are appreciated. Anything besides that is a typical down under mentallity that we don't care to take note of.If I had to live in the bottom side of the globe,I surely would've been part of this embarrasing way of foot in mouth disease because of a lack of oxygen.If u have'nt noticed yet, this is a SA website. Go jump on your own feeble forum and enjoy yourselves amongst yourselves. We are very particular who we associate with. And while u at it,send all those South Africans back before they occupy your countries and make u extinct. Will be waiting for u in SA, its going to be a total different ball game next time we play u here. It’s easy to win at home,last year we embarresed u lot, shame.
GW @ Bok Supporters7/30/2010 2:18 PM
U are all lekker suur gat, i have never heard of any SA supporter chant for the Ozzies..Julle spul suur *oeste... GO ALL BLACKS....
SB7/30/2010 2:13 PM
Richie McCheat!!
Smiler7/30/2010 2:11 PM
This is very good to see. The Aussies and AB's all playing well now and next year they'll be so cock sure of themselves esp. the AB;s they'll not make the final let alone win the RWC. Same story as before just a different year. And the Boks were atrocious the year 2006 before the RWC and guess who won????
@ Butt Head & Aussie Girl7/30/2010 1:50 PM
Go eat snot!
Cruz7/30/2010 1:47 PM
Let's see what its like with a ref that will not stand for cheating. Yes the Boks have been pretty sad of late but yes McCaw and his offside back-line have been cheating for years with impunity. Tough one to which team to support??? Normally I would support NZ but sick and tired of their gamesmanship and cheating. Sour grape morons (not all, one or two amazing sportsmans) over not winning a World Cup!
Guy7/30/2010 1:45 PM
I just love the way the Ozzies and the Newees are amping up this match. The journos are also saying that this All Black team is a legend team. What a load of of horse....s@*t. Lets see who gets the Cup next year!!!
To All Arrogant Australians7/30/2010 1:40 PM
The Australians arent exactly world beaters in the Tri Nations. I think they have a poor record than the Boks. Try keep up retards
Zane7/30/2010 1:38 PM
Of coarse it will be a difficult game you idiots... you will now have to abide by the Laws of Rugby and not some refs interpretation of the laws I love the way the Aussie and Kiwis come and voice their opinions on SA forums...... trying to get us all steamed up, meanwhile they know the Boks are the most successful team in RWC... 2 wins from 4 outings.. and the Kiwis have never won it since the Boks returned, and the Aussies went and lost it at home ... facts speak louder than opinions
Whatever7/30/2010 1:32 PM
Two of the top sides in the world - at cheating. Our (the Boks') coach is an idiot and not on par with our Super14 coaches. We didn't have much competition in terms of the NZ or OZ teams in the Super14 - you guys were poor, and we beat you like African drums! I don't remeber any of you in the final...? So enjoy it while it lasts...our players are better, stronger and faster...if only our "democratically elected" coach and our "government selected" selectors could catch up.
Richard Nixon@aussie Boy7/30/2010 1:25 PM
When last did Ozzie win a trophy?
@Aussie Boy7/30/2010 1:17 PM
And so is your father!!!!!
Spartan7/30/2010 1:15 PM
who cares! Im sure Paddy OBrien will be hoping his team wins
HAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA7/30/2010 1:09 PM
WHAT A HEADLINE....IT SHOULD READ,"TISSUE PAPER TOUGHER THAN BOKS"
Fair opinionated observer7/30/2010 1:00 PM
Well at least we know that there wont be any fingers in eyes since the springboks (e.g. greatest/dirties whinging cheaters) (don't forget the most boring football team to watch - box kick - penalty; box kick - penalty... "I dont know how to run mummy!") arent playing. Burger - you are a disgrace, along with the rest of your mob.
Anti7/30/2010 12:59 PM
The Bledisloe Cup is a far more equal competition and that's why it's so highly regarded. 2 neighbours hopping over the channel for a game. The teams don't have to travel far, jump 10 time zones, negotiate altitude and jet lag. The Mandela trophy (or whatever they call it) will never be highly regarded because 90% of the time the team paying the 2 home matches will triumph over the team playing 1 home match and having to travel for the other 2.
Jeff7/30/2010 12:56 PM
All this will count for nothing if the All Blacks fail at the 2011 RWC. The weight of their nation's expectation will rest heavily on them.
@ Rugby 101 and Aussie boy7/30/2010 12:52 PM
We will see you chokers crying forward pass agin next year when you fall out in the quarters. And in Sa we would call you a d%^s
skywalker7/30/2010 12:38 PM
The All Blacks will win the Tri-nations this weekend.
RUGBY-1017/30/2010 12:33 PM
The All Blacks and the Wallabies will show the Boks(cry babies) how to play rugby.All Blacks by 15 hahahahah
Bilbo7/30/2010 12:32 PM
"or making sure their bodies don't spill over and lock it down" as per Elsom. Dude this is actually a penalty. Hopefully the ref you get will stop the Kiwis from doing this. Unfortunately they got away with it when they played the Boks. Will be interesting to see the way the ref blows this one.
Aussie Boy7/30/2010 12:17 PM
have to agree with McCaw on this. the Box are just a bunch on pantie wetting cheating girls
Headbutt7/30/2010 12:03 PM
Well said McCaw, i agree with you
Swazi-Bok7/30/2010 12:02 PM
I look forward to watching this game aswell, especially when the World class SA ref sends Pocock and/or McCaw for a sit down for their constant infringing at the breakdowns.
Richard Nixon7/30/2010 12:01 PM
Of coarse they will be.They're playing at home and without fear of the ref. I don't care what people say the ref has been a factor in all the tri nations tests this year. They should chage the name of rugby to "Refby" Perhaps we should start supporting refs instead of the actual sports team. We could even introduce trading cards and have instant replays of the ref carding players!
Aussie Ausbourne7/30/2010 11:58 AM
It's a no-brainer.
Molefe7/30/2010 11:48 AM
Unfortunatly, we cannot argue with the facts. Both Aus and NZ are miles better than the Boks this year. Simple as that. I think the Assies might just pull it off at that! Much as I hate to see them win anyhting!
rayray7/30/2010 11:43 AM
Wel duh! you will have an SA REF, so yes, it will be more difficult to CHEAT. Oh, and by the way, you're all comming to SA, right. Yes I know there will be a N.H. ref in all three matches, however they will need to do one of either two things, behave themselves and ref consistantly, or have a bodyguard on the field with them. Especially when the game is played at Loftus. I'm sure the rugby fans will gladly raise the funds for the fine if, perhaps someone happens to jump onto the field and tackle the ref.... Who knows, it has happened before, it may just happen again.... And no I am not blaming the ref for the losses, because my boys did not play well at all, and deserved to lose, but, damnit man, be more consistant!!!!!!!
Joeman7/30/2010 11:36 AM
Hope the aussies win this one.
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

Victoria Azarenka collapses

Roger Federer chocolate ad

Francois Hougaard - try-saving tackle

Front Row Grunt - Tank's blog

It's monstrous! It's the Leopards vs Pumas!

Featured Blog

John Mitchell, a world class, former All Black coach, has been released from his contract by the Western Force to coach the Lions. If there's one coach that can restore the Lion's roar it is John Mitchell, so says Lobo...

Vote

With a number of overplayed senior veterans like John Smit, Victor Matfield, Schalk Burger and Bryan Habana likely to be rested on the Boks' end-of-year tour, who would you like to see captain the team in their absence?

Who is your Hero?

Nominate your hero and win R10 000!

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Newsletters Sign up for Sport24's Morning Glory newsletter

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

Free email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.