Tri-Nations

So who is the captain, mate?

2009-09-02 13:24
Email | Print
Adnaan Mohamed (File)

Adnaan Mohamed - Sport24's man on tour with the Boks

Brisbane - “We are simply not good enough at the moment, mate!”

That was the reaction of Aussie cab driver, Tom Downie, when asked about his opinion on the Australian rugby team.

“Rugby league and Aussie rules are more popular than rugby union in Brisbane. I am a huge rugby union fan, but I am very disappointed with current the state of affairs in Australian rugby and cricket,” Downie complained.

According to him, drastic changes need to be made to the Australian rugby union structures - right from grassroots level, otherwise the game will die a slow death Down Under.

Downie seemed to echo a general sense of disillusionment that I picked up from the locals regarding the underperformance of the national rugby and cricket teams.

“There are quality players here, but they are being lost to footie (AFL) and league. We just don’t have the quality and depth of South Africa and New Zealand. That’s why we cannot compete with them anymore,” he said.

After a 3km drive to the school gates, which cost me a cool R120, I was however just happy to have arrived at the Bok practice on time. It was closed session, which means the media is allowed access for only 20 minutes.

Springbok coach, Peter de Villiers, was watching the action from the sidelines. A local Channel 10 TV cameraman approached the Bok coach, obviously with no clue who De Villiers was.

“Do you know who the captain is mate?” he asked De Villiers. De Villiers just laughed and pointed in John Smit’s direction. One would have thought that the least the TV journalist could have done was to try to do a bit of research on who the Bok coach and captain were before coming to get visuals at the Bok practice. 

If you find that hard to believe, the following incident was even more shocking.

At the press conference later that day, SuperSport presenter, Xola Ntshinga, had an interview lined up with Bok centre, Jaque Fourie, who is playing his 50th game on Saturday. An Australian journalist asked Ntshinga if he could piggy back the interview, to which he agreed. He might have thought differently if the guy had asked him who they had just interviewed before the interview, though!

It’s hard to believe that the Aussie media and public are just so ignorant when it comes to rugby union. When I inquire of one of the Aussie journalists if this really is the case, he responds by saying: “It’s not that we are ignorant mate. It’s just that when the team is on a losing streak, the people lose interest.”

Later that afternoon, Bok physiotherapist, René Naylor, takes the players for a core strength and conditioning class at the team hotel. The players particularly look forward to this session because it’s different to the usual field session.

Acting like naughty little kids, they tease her and complain about the music. And when they become mischievous and try to cheat their way out of exercises, Naylor is forced to discipline them by throwing medicine balls at them. 

It forces one to remember that most of these players are still very young, yet they are under a lot of pressure. Sometimes they just want to have fun and sessions like these are a great way of relieving that stress.

On Wednesday the Springboks were given the day off. Some played golf, others visited the Sunshine Coast for a little eye candy, while some just lazed around Brisbane.

*Adnaan Mohamed is on tour with the Springboks and will be writing a daily tour guide from Australia and New Zealand exclusively for Sport24.

Schalk Burger and Pierre Spies take to the course (Gallo Images)

Your Comments

Bananaboy9/3/2009 9:29 AM
@banner, even though that is what was probably intended it is badly worded. It kind of implied that the Ozzie had just come from another interview rather than indicating that he asked the question after the Jacque Fourie interview.
Big HERC9/3/2009 8:54 AM
MORE PICS PLEASE OF THE BOKS
sc9/3/2009 8:14 AM
Haha brilliant piece. Its so good to remember that our boks are only human and that rugby is just a game that we all love
Bren9/2/2009 3:57 PM
Great to hear the other side thanks Adnaan
South African9/2/2009 3:26 PM
Hey guys, you are a bit stadig today - interview part makes perfect sense. I think some of us need a power nap... Good piece Adnaan
Banner9/2/2009 3:21 PM
Daniel, honestly mate if you had read the paragraph a few times? how did you not see the first sentence saying "At the press conference later that day, SuperSport presenter, Xola Ntshinga, had an interview lined up with Bok centre, Jaque Fourie, who is playing his 50th game on Saturday." Its pretty straight forward too me...
kenneth9/2/2009 2:44 PM
Sharky...dude!! What he is saying is that the Aus journalist asked Xola after the interview who it was (that they had just interviewed). The implication is that if the Arse-tralian had asked Xola before the interview - "Mate, who are we about to interview??" Xola would have replied - "You want to piggyback onto my interview, but you don't even know who I am interviewing?? That oke standing in front of you is Jaque Fourie - Springbok centre!!!" Get it?
gerry9/2/2009 2:34 PM
ye who was it that they interviewed first??? did he mean peter devilliers cause thats not so clear
Daniel9/2/2009 2:34 PM
@Sharky andrew - I agree. I've re-read that paragraph a few times now trying to work it out! uh?
keith9/2/2009 2:28 PM
Sharky andrew - I'm as confused as you are. The atricle is really not good quality at all - going from no clue Aussies in one paragraph to mischievous young Boks in the next?
Nick9/2/2009 2:16 PM
Ag the ozzies always claim to be more interetsed in Ozzie Rules or League when they are not performing. They are talking stront.
Nick9/2/2009 2:14 PM
Ag the ozzies always claim to be more interetsed in Ozzie Rules or League when they are not performing. They are talking stront.
Expat9/2/2009 2:10 PM
I moved to Sydney in January this year. I was shocked at how different the Aussie sports fans are. The support for the various sports is completely fragmented from state to state. Rugby league is really really big in New South Wales. The NSW vs Queensland league game filled more ppl into ANZ stadium than the Bledisloe. Union is pretty big in NSW but not known whatsoever in Victoria state. People there have heard of the Springboks and thats it!!!! Cricket is the only national sport. It's funny that us bok supporters are so passionate about our union and team and we often used to lose over here to a team which half the country doesn't even watch the sport.
Wade9/2/2009 2:10 PM
Nice article! Looking forward to the remainder of the Tri-nations- Go Bokke!!!!
Jaco9/2/2009 2:09 PM
The more I read you articles, the more I wish I could be there. But great work sir. Keep it up!!!
Wynand9/2/2009 2:04 PM
Great articles man. Cannot wait to read them and thanks to RSS feeds, can read them as they are launched. Keep them comming Adriaan. Well done!!!
tsiko9/2/2009 2:04 PM
"He might have thought differently if the guy had asked him who they had just interviewed before the interview, though!" Sorry but I don't get this bit?
Mark9/2/2009 2:03 PM
Not too hard to believe. Rugby Union is not big in most patrs of the country
Kevin9/2/2009 2:02 PM
HAHA!!! Burger and Spies look like they going to ramp that golf cart somewhere!!!!
EnNouDieBlou9/2/2009 1:53 PM
I concur Sharky Andrew!!! I don't get the hard to believe shocking incident....Please explain Adnaan...
Candle9/2/2009 1:50 PM
also missed the interview piece - what?
Nikki9/2/2009 1:44 PM
Ha-ha! Love the picture of Schalk & Pierre! They do look like they could get up to no-good the boytjies! Love it!
Sharky andrew9/2/2009 1:43 PM
"He might have thought differently if the guy had asked him who they had just interviewed before the interview, though!" - Maybe I'm missing something here, but who exactly was it that they interviewed first?
Mr Lover9/2/2009 1:42 PM
Adnaan, great article again. I must say I really enjoy reading your articles. Well written and great inside info. Keep it up boet
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

The lighter side of Francois Hougaard

Best goal celebration ever?

Best penalty ever?

Front Row Grunt - Tank's blog

Info on the op Bismarck is recovering from

Featured Blog

Lobo salutes Muttiah Muralidaran's genius. He developed the doosra into an art form and terrorised batsmen with his cunning and his wily ways. Although his career was overshadowed by the "chucking" controversy, no-one will ever beat his mark of 800 Test wickets.

Latest blogs

Overhaul in Formula 1 7/29/2010 3:47:49 PM

Knowledge Musona is SA's Jet Club Rookie of the Year. 7/29/2010 3:44:19 PM

Currie cup predictions 7/29/2010 3:17:15 PM

Vote

If current Springbok coach Peter de Villiers were to be fired, who would you like to see take over?

Who is your Hero?

Nominate your hero and win R10 000!

RSS Feeds

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

Mobile

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

Free Email

Free Email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

Blogs

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

TV

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide