Tri-Nations

NZ artistry a lift for Boks?

2010-07-31 21:52
Email | Print
Richie McCaw pushes aside the Australian defence. (Gallo Images)

Comment: Rob Houwing, Sport24 chief writer

Cape Town – First the very obvious bad news: the All Blacks certainly appear dead set on solidifying their current position as the top-ranked team in the world.

They were sometimes broadly irresistible, and deadly in finishing terms once again, as they deep-fried the Wallabies 49-28 in their Tri-Nations encounter in Melbourne on Saturday.

New Zealand now boast a maximum haul of 15 log points from three matches and if they don’t earn a single further point for the remaining half of their campaign (highly unlikely) it may even be enough to recapture the title.

Seven tries to three in the Aussie backyard, to go on top of successive big wins against the Springboks … it hardly gets better than that.

And in this very fact may lie a pinch of solace for embattled South Africa, perhaps also secretly relieved that they now have a better chance of ending runners-up rather than wooden-spoonists in 2010 – the Wallabies must yet play twice on the Highveld, no happy environment for them.

Are we seeing history repeating itself?

There’s the old joke, after all, of the All Blacks peaking between World Cups, and international rugby has had enough intriguing shifts in momentum in recent weeks to suggest that the see-saw could yet tilt back the other way ahead of, or at, the 2011 version.

There may even be an involuntary sense of unease - however minor right now - deep in the minds of Graham Henry, Richie McCaw and company about the situation a year out from the landmark event.

All of that noted, the All Blacks are hardly going to go out of their way to look like donkeys just because of historical trends, and they have taken their game to an impressive new level of late.

The key to it, I believe, is the way their forwards - and front five in particular - have sorted out their act in the primary phases after mostly playing second fiddle to the Boks in that area last year.

That was in evidence at the Etihad Stadium as they turned on the scrummaging heat against the Wallabies and also continued their gradual renaissance in the lineouts, where the inclusion of Tom Donnelly as veteran Brad Thorn’s lock partner has been of strong benefit to them.

The modern All Blacks have always looked purposeful and slick with ball in hand, but even more so now that there is front-foot oomph ensured by the hard-grafting and extremely cohesive pack.

If the Boks are to restart a “northward” curve in Soweto on August 21 and stave off a clean-sweep of defeats to New Zealand, it will be imperative that the men in the home boiler room come to the party.

It was also underlined on Saturday just how lethally McCaw comes into his own as both a ball-carrier and fetcher when his side have good thrust.

Indeed, he provided a classic example of the captain leading by personal inspiration, and John Smit was forcefully reminded why he has to crank his own game several notches in his likely, emotion-charged 100th appearance at Soweto.

McCaw rightfully getting man-of-the-match in Melbourne also offered a stark notice to the Bok brains trust: a genuine open-side “mole” is imperative, although the present state of affairs is not helped by Heinrich Brussow’s absence and now also injury to a potential candidate like the Bulls’ Deon Stegmann.

Speaking of loose forward issues, Juan Smith, the Cheetahs’ blindside flank firmly in the running for a Bok recall, left the field early in the second half of Saturday’s Absa Currie Cup match against the Sharks after a couple of bad bangs to the head and possibly concussion as a result – not good news for the national cause although there is still a bit of time to play with.

The All Blacks skipper completely eclipsed his opposite number David Pocock, who had been so effective seven days earlier against the Boks although he got away with some cases of near-murder from the referee on that occasion.

In fairness, Pocock came into his own a bit as the Wallabies showed some fightback spirit in the second half, and was also unlucky to be disallowed a try after the TMO’s “inconclusive” ruling on the grounding.

If there were other lessons for South Africa from this All Blacks victory, their ability to bring their wings into space was one, while some decisive line-busts by both fullbacks, the totally rejuvenated Mils Muliaina and Aussie Adam Ashley-Cooper, arguably heaped additional pressure on Bok incumbent Zane Kirchner.

He has looked too formulaic thus far in the Tri-Nations, while doing little glaringly wrong, and the time may have come to explore other avenues for the next outing.

The Melbourne match featuring all of 10 tries provided both warnings and hope to the Boks: clearly the Antipodean teams’ much-touted ball-in-hands philosophy is providing dot-down dividends, but also suggesting that defensive composure – especially by the Wallabies, mind – was not what it could have been.

That was a department the Boks prided themselves on last season, and there will be far less pizzazz from the All Blacks backs, you can be sure, if South Africa restore past stone-walling standards in three weeks’ time.

Above all, a maximum level of “gees” will be needed from the Springboks: there’s some formidable catch-up to do when you consider that they so recently lost by 17 points to the very team thumped by the All Blacks on Saturday.

Yes, it’s a formidable 38-point swing as things stand, although the same foes must first slug it out again in Christchurch next weekend.

Your Comments

Groenbloed8/3/2010 3:23 PM
I don't think the AB's are that good. They are goodactors though
Nick8/2/2010 3:14 PM
Good hard game , well handled by Craig Joubert - Deans isnt blaming the outcome on a conspiracy for the next World Cup in New Zealand - PDV you are fast losing the history of loyal Springbok followers - we understand that you need to lose the fight sometimes to win the war - the war being the World Cup - but mate at this rate there will be nothing left to lose - Cmon there is no disgrace in admitting that the job has gotten too big for you - hell, we may even respect you a little for your sudden found integrity!!!!!
MADNESS8/2/2010 2:55 PM
NZ TRIED TO POACH OUR UNDER 18 TOP PLAYERS.AUS HAVE POACHED A FEW OVER THE YEARS.THIS IS BESIDES IMMIGRATION...THE POINT IS I DONT BLAME THEM,WE HAVE THE STRONGEST POOL OF PLAYERS WITH THE WORST MANAGMENT STRUCTURES IN PLACE.AT LEAST THE GUYS POACHED WILL RECEIVE A FAIR SHOT.NZ HAS PLENTY OF SUPURB YOUNG TALENT,BUT SA POOL IS LARGER AND IS SIMPLY RUN POORLY.WITH AA IN JUNIOR TEAMS REACHING SCARY LEVELS AND GREAT PROSPECTS FALLING AWAY....I ENCOURAGE THE YOUNSTERS THAT GET THE OPPORTUNITY,TO GO PLAY IN NZ AND AUS.
Vito8/2/2010 11:56 AM
World cup this world cup that...I don't give a damn about the world cup if we keep on loosing the rest of our games. Before isolation SA had the best record in the world and look what is happening now. So what if the Kiwis don't win the world cup. I would rather be winning the rest of the games, which seems to be what they are doing at the moment.
Weepee8/2/2010 10:43 AM
AB's looking invinsible at the moment. We should write off this campaign and look at trying out some new combinations. Perhaps Jean De Villiers & De Jong in the midfield while Fourie is out, some changes in the T5 and get Steyn back to fullback now!
kiwiwf8/2/2010 9:00 AM
Who says the all blacks have peaked :) AB's have pleanty to work on and haven't peaked as much as the Bok have slumped...
Laeveld Springbok8/2/2010 8:37 AM
I really enjoyed watching some wonderful RUNNING rugby this weekend. Exellent game, well done NZ. I do think things would have been a bit different if Quade Cooper was there, possibly not an AUS win, but a better loss. NZ was on fire!!!
ALL BLACK FOR LIFE8/2/2010 7:50 AM
LAST WEEK, RICHIE McCAW ANNOUNCED ,THAT HE WAS A CHEAT. HOW COME ,NOTHING IS DONE ABOUT THAT. I KNOW ,THAT IN OTHER SPORTS, CHEATS ARE BANNED FROM THAT SPORT FOR 5 YEARS OR MORE FOR CHEATING. ONCE AGAIN, THE ALL BLACKS GET AWAY WITH IT. Sounds like someone is a sore loser. Just live with fact that BOKKE have gone 2 steps forward and 9 steps back under DIV.
FanofJakeWhite8/2/2010 6:04 AM
Current weaknesses in Boks: 1. Coach's impact not felt by players, public, media 2. Unsettled front row (missing too many players, Smit not performing well) 3. Ageing and slow locks 4. Little commitment from tight 5 at breakdown situations to secure ball 5. Unsettled scrumhalf position (awaiting Du Preez return!) 6. Morne Steyn's defence through his channel needs to improve 7. Back 3 (wings and fullback) unsettled, not communicating
AT MADNESS8/2/2010 12:00 AM
New Zealand and Australia go after your playing pools??? Are you crazy? If you had ANY knowledge of the world outside south africa, you'd realise there are a whole lot of saffas living in australasia, so many that they could probably field a team strong enough to be considered the third strongest saffa team team in super rugby!!! NZ and Aus don't come to your neck of the woods chasing them.. You guys migrate here, looking to live amongst us. But don't kid yourselves into thinking NZ need your player pool, our domestic comp. is strong enough and has solid payer depth without having to worry about poaching.Why else would carlos spencer go sth africa's currie cup for? He couldn't even get a playing position back here for any of NZ's provincial teams, so don't worry.. I'll let you llive in your bubble.
Rex8/1/2010 11:55 PM
@ Colleen Thompson. Did you read what Ritchie said or did you just read the headline? Ritchie's comments were twisted by one of your illiterate, desperate journalists. End of story. Ritchie did not say he cheats. Fact. ABs are better than the Boks and you are all being shown up as whiners, bleaters and cry babies.
Andy Payne8/1/2010 11:32 PM
Fantastic Rugby. I think any comments about how the AB's will choke at the World cup is a typical view from those who find it difficult to accept, the AB's are number 1 in the world at the moment. Who gives a toss about the World Cup. Dont worry SAF supporters, you still are the team to beat and are never ever underestimated by NZ supporters. We all know that whilst your teams is not doing too well, they are still a worry.
MADNESS8/1/2010 4:38 PM
IF WE CHOOSE OUR INFORM PLAYERS WE WOULD BE PRETTY MUCH UNBEATABLE.WE HAVE THE BEST TALENT POOL IN WORLD RUGBY FULL STOP,YET AS PER USUAL BAD SELECTIONS AND MANAGEMENT HAVE CUT US OFF AT THE KNEES AGAIN.IF WE COULD CHOOSE OUR OWN MANAGEMENT TEAM AT SARFU AND THE CORRECT COACH WHO IN TURN COULD CHOOSE HIS TEAM ON MERIT...NZ AND AUS POACH OUR TALENT POOLS AS WE ARE SO CAUGHT UP IN POLITICS AND AA.....ITS A SAD SITUATION...
Burgiesburnin8/1/2010 1:28 PM
Never mind the All Blacks, the game showed how far off the mark the boks are. Although the Aussies lost, if they played like that against the boks they would have put 30 points on them. Both sides had good games. If the Aussies had played badly then NZ would have scored a hell of a lot more.
Tjoppie8/1/2010 12:35 PM
Zane Kirchner is an "honest" and brave fullback. However, I don't think he has got the edge for international rugby. I was very imppressed with both Mils Muliaina & Aussie Adam Ashley-Cooper and the edge they brought to their respective back-lines.
aelric8/1/2010 12:11 PM
yes SA desperately need a Richie Mcaw.. a lose forward who can fetch, lie over the ball, slow down the opposition, play from offside positions, join rucks from the side... we need someone who can do all those things and not get penalised just like RM who seems to have a different set of rules... as for WC 2011... the ABs will choke again!!! it'll just be funnier too see them do it on home turf
Alan Ingram8/1/2010 10:59 AM
Yip the All Blacks are magic i agree!' Next to the Springboks, the A/B are my favorite. The Springboks have to change their attitude,game plan and a few 'has beens' that are still in the current team if they want to have the SA public support once again! I for one, wont waist R500.00 to go watch them at soccer city!
Assistant coach8/1/2010 10:14 AM
Time to sack helium voice and get a real coach. I'm tired of carrying this coach. He will make a nice peanut butter add. We stand no chance against the all blacks. SA rugby is on the road to nowhere........
Paul Coetzee8/1/2010 8:46 AM
Dear Div. If we want to turn our game around against NZl blacks there needs to be a fundimental changes in your thinking. Please read this: Get a backline coach (Eddie Jones) and get our captain to up his tempo. Get a genuine fetcher(Flo/ Dewalt) Get a workhorse at 8 (Vermulen) . (We dont need a racehorse at 8 against the AB's.) Get a general at inside centre(JDV). Get a full back that will force the AB backline to turn and chase( FSteyn). The only other option - Get a new coach.
JOHN8/1/2010 8:44 AM
AB’s are coached and conditioned!!!!!
BLOUBUL8/1/2010 8:11 AM
it was beautiful rugby to watch.
Blip8/1/2010 8:07 AM
Both NZ and Oz have cruelly exposed the Boks huge defensive frailty -- crossing for four tries two weeks in a row. That ironclad defence of 2009 simply doesn't exist any more as both the rival nations have worked them out completely with their expert analysis and coaching. SA's inept and amateurish coaching trio only offer spin, blame and excuses and they rely on lucky intercepts and opposition errors to score tries.
GT8/1/2010 7:39 AM
Eish, I can only hope the assumptions about the AB's peaking before the RWC are true. I hope so anyway. AB's to dominate world rugby for the next 12 months, then to CHOKE AGAIN at the 2010 World Cup. I can live with that ...
Nick Eleftheriades8/1/2010 7:34 AM
An excellent article. One wonders where the middle ground is for professional rugby players these days so that they maintain maximum performance. Nevertheless, an excellent article!
Frans8/1/2010 7:14 AM
I read that Drew Mitchell escapes further penalty. This is a discrace, what did he do to receive the yellow card for so called late tackling and without arms in the first place. You can look for this until you are blue in the face there is nothing. I don' like critising refs, but please explain to me how did this happened. This whole incident impacted profoundly on the game and obviously on Mitchell himself. Are their now going to be an investigation into this obvious profound blunder?
Arnold8/1/2010 7:00 AM
Excellent journalism (reporting)
Jakes8/1/2010 6:23 AM
Yes, you can say that again. I wonder what Piet Helium's excuse is going to be after they whack us at the "National Stadium", the "home" of rugby in SA? Are we going to appoint another COO, CEO, Director , Manager, in the already top heavy, overpayed management of SA Rugby after we have lost against the AB's? Why don't we move the Newlands fat cat sircus to the new "National Stadium" in Soweto?
Colleen Thompson.8/1/2010 6:19 AM
LAST WEEK, RICHIE McCAW ANNOUNCED ,THAT HE WAS A CHEAT. HOW COME ,NOTHING IS DONE ABOUT THAT. I KNOW ,THAT IN OTHER SPORTS, CHEATS ARE BANNED FROM THAT SPORT FOR 5 YEARS OR MORE FOR CHEATING. ONCE AGAIN, THE ALL BLACKS GET AWAY WITH IT.
Etienne8/1/2010 6:15 AM
Seeing this and comparing to last year. I have one question. How big of an impact did brussouw really make? in my opinion, HUGHE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
rainbowrugby8/1/2010 2:32 AM
first the good news. World rugby is enjoyable to watch thanks to order being retained and the ABs being trendsetters for the game like they have for 100+ years. Thank you All Blacks! you rock!
Walter de Bruin8/1/2010 2:22 AM
The AB's are in top form, no arguments about that. however the RWC is only next season. Can they maintain their form? With this robust approach a number of injuries are to be expected. Should that happen, the picture may change completely. The AB's have been unable to win the RWC since their first success in 1987 - for a reason. One of these is that they are one season too early with their buildup and a second is that they always seem to beat France and Australia on the wrong occations!
owie8/1/2010 2:17 AM
I think we may need Frans Steyn back, side show BOB is not up to par?
NZKiwi8/1/2010 1:57 AM
David Pocok easily man of the match. he is such a good player
The Blacks8/1/2010 12:48 AM
Go the All Blacks you have the right mix to win the World Championship. Glad you whipped those Wallabies to touch!!!!!!!!!
Here in London8/1/2010 12:37 AM
It was so good to see the little red block above the letters AUS
Pollenys7/31/2010 11:29 PM
Did anybody keep stats of the high-kick-and-chases that has become just about the only form of Bok attack? I can't remember a single one. Also only two reset scrums. Cheetahs/Sharks had 12.
madarab hasab omb7/31/2010 11:26 PM
peak between RWCs or not. Over the past 20 years the boks have played the AB's in 43 tests and the boks have only won 13 of those. Go figure! I dont know why you saffas think youre so superior when the stats speak for themselves. you should be happy to be second best
trevor7/31/2010 11:23 PM
I did not see the game, but presume it was the ref, or the fact that the ab,s want to stage some world cup, or surprise, maybee ab,s are a better team. They need some bee
Spotted Cat7/31/2010 10:38 PM
Dit was rugby, selfs die Ausies het goeie rugby gespeel al het hul verloor. Hopenlik het PdV vandag gekyk en gesien hoe rugby gespeel word, nie die patetiese getjommel wat die Springbokke (of is dit nou Lê-bokke) deesdae opdis nie.
GATO7/31/2010 10:31 PM
the ab's totally outplayed the aussies. take some factors into account; cooper was not there, however the aussies had the home ground advantage. both sides had a taste of how diffcicult it is to play with a man in the sin bin. if the boks want to forget about kick and chase and hope for the best type rugby as well as relying on intercept tries and start playing with in form game breakers, players that can beat man on man then they would need to drop players like; backs - habana, wynand olivier, (jaques to the bench if we play de jong and de villiers) otherwise de villiers and fourie with de jong on the bench - i am willing to try the de jong and de villiers combination - both players can break the line (something we have not seen for a while) and defend well. play players like aplon and give patrick lambie a chance at fullback - we have nothing to lose with the ""attacking"" form of our current full back? bye smidt, bakkies and schalk - schalk only for his lack of ball skills - more specifically his lack of distribution skills - he cant pass and put players in better situations. he wants to run over every opposition player. with smidt, it is like playing with 14 players only.
ROB THE KIWI7/31/2010 9:41 PM
Wsnt it just fantastic to watxh Richie Mccaw. The Man the Boks fan love to call a cheat. Only gave away one penalty in the match from your South African Referee, and that was contentious. He is all Class ,and Im sure the Boks would love to have him in their side. AS i have said the game is being played to fast for the Boks at the moment. The All Blacks have so many attacking options in their Backline. Where the Boks have few. To quote Jihn Smith "They are playing the game som fast at the moment we have to work out how to slow the All Blacks down" Yup thats about all you have got. Next the SAFRU will be off to the IRB for a rule change mark my words. It diesnt suit their big over weight forwards or backs who cant match the pace of the new game.
bruce7/31/2010 9:34 PM
I am concerned about rugby and prof sport generally and how the inmates seem to be taking over from the asylums. FIFA effectively superceded the RSA judicial sytem for a month and now I see the same arrogance emanating from the IRB.Listening to Joubert and Kaplan today was to listen to 2 super bureaucrats who know they have the power to change a rugby game,change results and effectively profile themselves ahead of the competitors. Until the IRB realize they are here to faciltate the game instead of owning it then our beloved sport is in big trouble.
Dave7/31/2010 9:24 PM
Good, let them peak now. Our biggest disappointment was not playing the form players from Super14, Bekker, Liebenberg, Duvenhage, Juan Smith will add to our lineout, De Jong, Hougaard and playing hopelessly out of form Habana, Olivier who cannot step up, Smit who is just past it, Spies is not a good option vs AB, rather Vermeulen, Schalk gave so much in Super14 he needs rest. I hope we stick with Aplon, he has guts and pace, as does De Jong. AB's still got lineout problems if you can find a referee bold enough to give fair rulings. That is their main weakness still and come next year could be their downfall. We have no variety in our play, what on earth do we practise doing for 6 hours a day ? and much too conservative with the good pacy backs we could play. We dont play smart, just one example give AB easy lineouts at the front to the props, surely we should be watching out for this.
Hehehehe ...7/31/2010 9:14 PM
Here comes who? Can Divie do it with the players? Dit is waar die manne geskei word van die bokke. Ek vermoed ek moet maar my hoeveel R xxx.xx se bok baadjie en trui terug in die kas sit. Sal maar hou by my Bulle, en in nood selfs vir die leeus en die Stormers, of wat anders? Party tyd is verby. Dit is tyd vir die manne om op te staan, en dit is nie die spelers nie. Hy het die beste!! Heheheheeeeeeeeeeeeeee Who's who and Who's not?
Mike@CapeT7/31/2010 8:44 PM
South Africa have the team to beat New Zealand providing the selections are sensible (and playing in their specialist positions) and play to a well thought out game plan. If it means playing to their traditional strengths, so be it...but it has to be accurate. Div must just get his arse in gear!
No Front Teeth Edams7/31/2010 8:00 PM
Die AB's are duidelik. Even my six kids called Warren also think so
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

Victoria Azarenka collapses

Roger Federer chocolate ad

Francois Hougaard - try-saving tackle

Front Row Grunt - Tank's blog

It's monstrous! It's the Leopards vs Pumas!

Featured Blog

John Mitchell, a world class, former All Black coach, has been released from his contract by the Western Force to coach the Lions. If there's one coach that can restore the Lion's roar it is John Mitchell, so says Lobo...

Vote

With a number of overplayed senior veterans like John Smit, Victor Matfield, Schalk Burger and Bryan Habana likely to be rested on the Boks' end-of-year tour, who would you like to see captain the team in their absence?

Who is your Hero?

Nominate your hero and win R10 000!

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Newsletters Sign up for Sport24's Morning Glory newsletter

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

Free email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.