Henry: TMO made right call
Port Elizabeth - New Zealand coach Graham Henry said the right decision had been made when a try by his team was disallowed after a television review during Saturday's 18-5 Tri Nations defeat against South Africa - even though it was technically outside the rules.
WIN your very own personalised Bok jersey
With the All Blacks trailing 5-15 seven minutes into the second half, full-back Israel Dagg made a 60-metre dash which was stopped just short of the line when he was tackled by replacement wing Francois Hougaard.
Dagg managed to offload to scrum-half Jimmy Cowan, who dived over but replays showed the pass was forward.
Irish referee George Clancy asked South African television match official Johann Meuwesen to rule whether a try had been scored. Meuwesen responded that the ball had been grounded correctly.
Then he asked: "Would you like more information?" When Clancy replied positively, Meuwesen said: "There was a forward pass."
Henry said: "It was a reality, it wasn't awarded. If we were on the receiving end and South Africa scored a try that was disallowed because of a forward pass we would be happy about that.
"If the officials can make good decisions on the evidence they've got, why not?
"I know it's outside the rules of the game - they should only adjudicate over the goal line - but I don't have a problem with it."