Tri-Nations

Gold breaks his Bok silence

2010-07-30 16:00
Email | Print
Gary Gold (Gallo Images)

Springbok assistant coach Gary Gold has broken his silence, admitting that the away leg of this year’s Vodacom Tri Nations was a failure, but vowed the coaching staff would work tirelessly to make the home leg a success.

Gold admitted in his online blog at rugbyiq.com that the Boks had executed their game plan poorly, but took another dig at referees by implying the difference between Super 14 and Tri Nations success was refereeing from the Northern Hemisphere. He also refused to believe the Bok game plan was outdated or old fashioned, as some critics have claimed.

“To say that the tour was not a success would be the understatement of the year. And while many of you rugby supporters are understandably annoyed and irritated with the team's performances, it is our responsibility - and job - to not get caught up in a wave of emotion but, rather, objectively and systematically go about fixing the problem. Something which Peter de Villiers, as the head coach, is very good at doing,” Gold wrote.

“I believe that the cardinal rule about learning from our losses is that we need to focus our time and attention on the issues that we can control - in so doing we need to be honest and harsh about the things that we have done wrong; as an entire group. That said, I truly believe whilst there certainly were other external factors that aided our poor performances, spending time moaning and deliberating over these issues is counter-productive and takes our focus away from fixing the areas of our game that we can control.

Gold added that while it was a popular view at the moment that the Boks kicked too much while in New Zealand, the match statistics show that the All Blacks actually kicked more than the Boks.

“However, what is unquestionable is that their kicks - in their intentions and execution - were all superior to those of ours. Their kicks were on target more often and their chase was aggressive and accurate; in fact, their entire kicking strategy put us under similar pressure to what we did to them last year.

“You see, friends, what is really important is that we get to the bottom of whether our intended strategy and plan is wrong, as is widely report, or simply our execution. I believe the latter.

“Our kicks were generally inaccurate, we chased and aligned poorly and then failed on far too many occasions to make the first-time tackle intended to pin them deep in their own 22 - which, of course, exerts pressure and hopefully leads to turnovers. That is why I firmly believe, and clearly like NZ do, that the strategy is good - but on this tour our execution was far below our acceptable standard.”

Gold believes there is an irony in the claims the Boks aren’t “advancing the game” in the same way the Aussies and New Zealanders have.

“At last November's SANZAR conference; the Super 14 teams from Australia, New Zealand and South Africa were told in no uncertain terms that four areas of the game were going to be heavily policed and teams not adhering to the refreshed interpretations of these four areas would be heavily penalised and thus be left behind. (The area that was most significantly going to be managed, would be the breakdown - with particular attention to the defending team allowing the attacking team to generate quick ball.)

“There is no doubt that South Africa's Super 14 teams - through some astute coaching - adapted magnificently; an example of that is the team that conceded the most penalties in the 2010 Super 14 were the Crusaders, followed by the Hurricanes.

“In all, the Crusaders conceded 90 penalties; of those 75 penalties were conceded whilst on defence - mainly against effecting opposition from gaining quick ball.

“As we know, the Super 14 culminated in two SA sides meeting in the final and I am sure none of our Antipodean teams would disagree that they were the two best teams throughout the competition.

“How then, can it be possible that a few weeks later a Springbok team - made up largely of these same players - are now being accused of not 'keeping up' with how the game has advanced?

“And, here lies the irony...

“SANZAR instructed and initiated the new law interpretations and used 17 referees - from Australia, NZ and SA only - in 99 Super Rugby matches this season. Yet, to date, not one of those 17 referees have featured in the Tri-Nations (until this weekend - with our very own Craig Joubert in charge in Melbourne).

Gold said the team was admittedly “defenceless” when it came to their defence pattern on tour and this was something they would have to rectify.

“This is an area we will be giving massive attention to in the coming weeks as we build up to our next game in Soweto.

“The team has always prided itself in its strong defence and in the past that strong defence has given us a favourable reward by being able to turn over opposition ball. So, I am confident that rectify it.

“We are a tight squad under Pete's leadership and nobody will shirk the hard work as we look to rectify our performances. Everybody in the Bok squad is very passionate about what they do, and how they do it, and there is a great camaraderie between everyone - all of whom have one goal; Bok victories. “

Your Comments

Nick8/3/2010 2:40 PM
Bad bad bad - bad game plan decided by bad coaches - executed by bad players.....All bad
Koos Kaap8/2/2010 11:22 AM
Rather learn from you wins than from your losses, your stupid ape! You received top players from the two top S14 teams, and what did you and your fellow coaching staff members do? Destroyed all the good work done by Coetzee and Ludeke
Megabull8/2/2010 10:10 AM
@ blah blah Take out all the Bulls players and pick your team from the rest and I will bet you anthing you like that the Full-strength Bulls team will beat your non Bulls bok team. 90% of our Bok team should have been from the Bulls only with Habana and Fourie coming into the team. That team would have won at least 2 of the games we lost over there. Look at Aus and NZ all the real top players from the S14 is there not like ours that is all divvy's Favs......
Rascal8/2/2010 8:42 AM
I find it amazing how most of SA ego driver supporters run the boks down and the coaches!! We are the RUGBY WORLD CHAPIONS and SUPER 14 CHAMPIONS!!Thats a fact.Remember how France nailed NZ many times including in there own back yard not so long ago, so please the boks will lose at times and thats just how it works, home advantages, time differences jet lag etc, some of the players are just effected by it much more than others,including NZ and OZ players.Come 2011 it will be a different ball game as some of the teams will get there four weeks before the games start! Watch out NZ and dont emmbarass yourselves by loosing to france, SA or even Wales, it will not be easy. So may i point out that the Kiwwis and OZ still need to play here for the remainder of the home leg Tri Games and yeah i cant wait to see Richies face when they get hammered and Mr Henry face too. Bring it to PAPA.
uk player8/1/2010 7:19 PM
this oke is the main clown...believe me...i played under him
Conrad8/1/2010 5:20 PM
I would like to thank the All Blacks once again for peaking so soon. You blakkies can have the Tri-nations and end of year tour. Once again you are playing fantastic rugby too soon and when September 2011 comes and you once again loose the world cup it will be because we made you look so good in 2010. To Gary and Co stick to your plan and let 2011 come.
eina8/1/2010 12:50 PM
John Smit has great leader abilities.His been one of our most sucessfull captains thus far.Dont drop him because of a few bad performances as captain.January is at the end of his career and is that split second to slow to get rid of the ball.What about Vermaak or Hougard. Ruan Pienaar also makes to many jugement errors?
Hugo8/1/2010 12:37 PM
The players will always do their best for the bokke, although some of them are not in form. This is because they are protected by experience and seniority, as well as bad combinations. A good coaching staff should be able to beat any team, purely by choosing the correct combinations and gameplan. I have watched (in pain) all the experimenting with different players in diffent positions, but the fact is that you cannot just choose a player in any position just for the sake of experimenting for the next world cup. Jean de Villiers is not a wing and probably the best inside center in the world. How can you judge his form by picking him on wing? His combination with Jacques Fourie could become legendary! All you did with this stupid mistake is break the stride and down the confidence of a team, then on top of the world. Now they look like a bunch of amateurs. Ricky January does not make starting fifteen for province and I'm guessing Morne Steyn's poor kicking is a result of his slow passing and bad judgement. Ruan Pienaar is our number two scrummie by far, what the hell?? For some gameplan's I would choose him in front of du Preez. Stop messing around. I could go on with these examples for pages and pages. Now the bigmouth aussies will start chirping again.. dammit.. Stop blame shifting and do your jobs! Anyone can tell you that a forward does not belong at flyhalf and a flyhalf does not belong in the ruck and that a defensive line must be straight and combinations is the difference between an average team and an execeptional one and that a headbut looks bad in HD and ....
aelric8/1/2010 12:21 PM
wow.. now theres a lot of fair weather fans.. and whiners here.. remember who the world champs are boys.. every team hits the wall occassionally. patience, not panick is what wins tournaments.. that why you plonkers are on the couches and not the feild. P.S. it is a fallacy that you have to be a great player to make a great coach in any sport. Some of the greatest coaches in the world (of various sports) have never even played the game they coach.
Sonwabiso8/1/2010 8:11 AM
Sounds like you have a sound plan Mr Gold - go ahead and execute it brilliantly. Good to also hear that you are hunting together as one ferocious pack. Good luck and we are behind you all the way. Would not be too concerned about the moaning and unpatriotic fellow citizens.
Take Note8/1/2010 5:37 AM
AB vs Aus: Didn't see any full backs kicking ball back into hands of opposition like mal Zane loves to do, did'nt see any selfish centres refusing to pass like idiot Olivier loves to do, did'nt see any forwards in the back line to do back line tackling job - Boks are a shambles in comparison.
Moerig7/31/2010 11:41 PM
We had the top two teams in the Super 14 (and the Sharks and Cheetahs improved later on), yet we are at the bottom of the pile in the Tri-Nations!!! The difference? The Super 14 teams were coached! And they played the best players available - not the Ricky's and Chilliboy's!
rough7/31/2010 7:27 PM
didnt buy the lil moan about refs at the end of article. SA ref for NZ vs OZ was the worst of the lot!!!! some stupid yellow cards. But positive running rugby won out in the end. All Blacks - advancing the game like no over for over 100 years
gfm7/31/2010 10:27 AM
advice to Gold - it is better to SHUT UP and let people think you are a fool than for you to open your BIG trap and confirm their suspicions!!
Jakkalas7/31/2010 9:54 AM
Where the boks were inferior against the AB were at the breakdown points. There are tooo many forwards in the freaking backline and no one wants to commit to the ruff stuff. Have they become the laughing stock and its due to their own doing. Go back to the basics do your job on the field and get your head into the ruck/maul I was taught when I was learning the game. Meet them with strength against strength and you will succeed. We are superior to them and if the backline cannot tackle then get guys in who can tackle. Francois Hougaard is someone who has the goods why not let him show it.......Is it because the forwards have to cover for the weaker ones in the team. You cannot meet speed with size. Wake up and do soul searching.
Simon7/31/2010 8:38 AM
I read all the comments with the utmost amusement. It is evident from much of the drivel that is written that most, if not all, lay the blame firmly at the coaches door. Why are the players as a collective team not blamed? Has the coaching from last year to this year changed that much? Wake up! The players need to be held responsible for their attitude to the game they play, their professionalism on and off the field. Tackling, receiving the ball and holding on to it, keeping defensive lines should by now all be second nature. I'm not certain that all the blame lies with Div and co?
DC7/31/2010 8:17 AM
Learn from our loses, please!!!!! We have been thrashed all three times. Who the f***K is learning!!!!!!!!!!!
EUGENE7/31/2010 7:54 AM
WHO IS THIS GOLD GUY.? another clown in the Sringbok coaching set-up. He could not even have success when he worked at Western Province.WHEN are the SARB going to wake up, and appoint some REAL coaching staff....the likes of Heyneke...Jake....Naas...Allister
Competence !!!7/31/2010 7:08 AM
Gary Gold never even played 1st team rugby at school and yet he want to coach a national team ... lets get serious! Finding competent coaches is the answer. Secondly, lets put those who have reached their sell-by dates "out" to rest. We have such potential and need to expose these guys rather than hang on to the John Smits etc. He is only there because he sucks up to management ... certainly not because of his ability.
Blah blah blah!7/31/2010 3:51 AM
You see MR GOLD this is exactly what p$sses most of us off....the coaching staff’s attitude. The coaches AND players were K@K and that’s the end of it. Bad game plan with even k@kker execution of the k@k plan. Arrogance from the group and untouchable attitude from the Bulls players. “Protected” players like Steyn, Habana, J Smit, Matfield and Spies who very well know it doesn’t matter how k@k they play they will not be dropped. Add Januarie and Chilliboy to the mix and it have to be a disaster. The referee’s were up to sh$t yes BUT the Boks were VERY LUCKY that Bakkies was not RED CARDED in the first test If that had happened the AB’s would have won with 50+. Then management blames the referee and whatever and at the end of the day just made sure that the referee for the 2nd and 3rd test would definitely be against the Boks. The AB’s had to adapt to. No Gary stop your superior attitude “my friend”.Managemant and the players were k@k and they handled everything on the tour like a bunch of school kids They might even win against the AB’s in Soweto with JSmit and a few other passengers which would be a HUGE mistake for the future of Bok rugby. Everyone will then believe the Boks are back on track again. Fact is THIS team WILL NOT even reach the finals in 2011 never mind having a shot at it.Morne Steyn couldn’t even perform with du Preez at no 9 in NZ and Aus during the S14. The World Cup will not be played at Loftus mate. Spies and Steyn is useless and forget about Bakkies and John Smit.Januarie and Chilliboy should go and play for Snor and Matfield’s province...BOLAND! Problem is that we have more than capable players to replace Show pony Spies but we don’t have fly halves do we? CLEVER GARY remember mate this is test rugby NOT S14. Get some defence tips from the WP coaches mate! Dick Muir and McIntosh the tosser is 2 of the biggest problems in the Bok setup at the moment.
Nayla7/31/2010 2:19 AM
I can understand being poor for one game, but for 3 in a row, come on who you trying to bullsh$t? Losing in part of the game, but it is how you lose that matters & how you face those challenges - no excuses, get on with the game!
ONDAUDAHAND7/30/2010 11:49 PM
LETS HOPE HIS WORTH HIS WEIGHT IN GOLD ON THE RETURN LEG.
Ash7/30/2010 11:08 PM
I wonder how much they made with the bookies
Mike B7/30/2010 10:59 PM
They have always said a chain is as strong as it's weakest link. When that link is the main link you have got a problem!!!! You cab say what ever you want Gold, and yes, you must protect your boss, But the bottom line is that this team was like a bunch of players without direction and no motivation. So stop the blame game and get on with it. The problem is that in any corporate world, if they top management had styffed up like you guys did, they would be out. So enjoy the ride and make the money because you guys have brought S A Rugby to the lowest that it has ever been and never before have we been ridiculed and laughed at as we are now.
Cheetah7/30/2010 10:54 PM
....this plonker can actually speak?.
Colin7/30/2010 10:17 PM
Great coaches make good players great players. Bad coaches make good players perform badly!!!! Reason why Spies,Habana are not playing well.
StBad7/30/2010 10:02 PM
Ok then. We'll give you the rest of the Tri Nations to sort it out, if there's no improvement (and no development of the game plan) then I think your days are numbered. If its such a tried and tested game plan (the kick and chase) then why is it so difficult to implement, specially when we've been doing it for so long, or is it that the AB and AUS have adapted and progressed and we're stuck two steps behind (again!!). Please don't stick to the same plan and say we'll just do it better, cos clearly better won't be enough and we'll then be left with egg on our faces (as world champs), in our own back yard (no home territory excuses left) and lobbying for a new coach and technical staff a mere 14 months before the world cup (which means no chance of retaining the cup).
Andhesaid7/30/2010 8:38 PM
Watch the video - interesting perspective!! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pdr-W775hk4&feature=player_embedded
Erewhon7/30/2010 7:33 PM
GOLD BREAKS HIS BOK SILENCE" Why??. For heavens sake shut up all the officials and players and just have one articulate spokesman for S.A.Rugby. Over and over again we have had players and officials making predictions (and then excuses) about everything. Make it a part of their contracts to hold their tongues!!!
Think for a Change like the Ozzies and AB's7/30/2010 6:55 PM
Ok, Gary, then why don't you analyze your next ref like you do the opposition.....surely then you will know what the ref allows and what not? The opponents obviously did this and then taught the Boks a lesson. In todays environment surely you should look at all the role players in a test match....that also includes your assistant referees, ref's and opponents. Do proper preparation and tell the players what to look out for from a ref and give them positive ways to get the job done, none of this negative stuff, that gives us a Dirty Player name. We do have the guys in the squad, however, please play speed not just brawn....and also teach them to tackle!!
@nakalavuki7/30/2010 6:45 PM
nakalavuki - you hit the nail on the head - can't we make you head selector!? end of year tour last year, wales test in wales this year, france next week, shocking selections - januarie, kirchner, james @ centre, no Fransie Steyn - look no further for our poor performances! Will someone in SARU please take Tim Noakes seriously for a change!!!?
BLOUBUL7/30/2010 6:39 PM
Nog steeds oor die ref. Pateties
BradMan4RSA7/30/2010 6:38 PM
We also picked up on 1st Time southern hemisphere refs... HOWEVER I agree with Nigel with the 1st being - 0.5)BOK management was not as ready as ABs Management, then 1) Discipline (most notably Bakkies), 2) Defence, 3) officiating bias 4) inaccurate kicking 5) Boks slow pace at the breakdowns - now lets move on eMzansi ppl & support OUR Team. We are the CHAMPS. Oh & change some of the players who are a bit slower these days....
chris7/30/2010 6:37 PM
what a lot of crap.its amazing that every journalist in south africa,who probably only played rugby at high school,can state that ,a)the springboks will lose b}wrong scrumhalf in place c}critisize the centre pairing d}de villiers shouldnt play wing e}steyn should be at fullback.and be proved right.now shouldnt people that are paid to wake up and think about how bok rugby is played ,be able to see what is obvious to the average man in the street.
Charlie7/30/2010 6:24 PM
Why do you only now know what the mistakes were? Does it take you three games to realise what's wrong. A bit slow on the take-up I should say.
Vic J7/30/2010 6:22 PM
@patriot, is it off days, weeks, months, years or till we get a new coach.
the little cherub7/30/2010 6:07 PM
And there I was, thinking it was a highly successful tour Down Under........ what a dumb Aunt I am! Thanks for enlightening me, Mr Gold. WOW!
Fools Gold7/30/2010 6:00 PM
We are not interested in excuses. Why is it that only we have these periodic implosions? Quota coach? sure. Imagine the aussies HAD to pick an aborigine coach, the AB's HAD to pick a Moari coach. Pick the black figure head "leader" but follow what business does and surround him with competents who can actually get the job done. unfortunately muir and gold dont seem to be those people. eish this country........
Barries7/30/2010 5:52 PM
Ag k@k man! Stop covering yourselves. The Boks were out coached, out played, out smarted. They cannot think on their feet. Time to get rid of dom voories and has-been backs.
ImpartialCanuck7/30/2010 5:51 PM
Mr. Gold, talk is cheap - your fans deserve more from a nation of talented individual players. Selection on merit needs to be addressed and positional choices sorted out. There are some players that are looking unfit at this level - your captain is one of the most noticeable! He was completely outplayed by his NZ opposite number. Can't believe all you say, but the world rugby public wants to see your best, not some of the passengers and quotas!!
fred7/30/2010 5:39 PM
Please! oh please do not send PDV to Australia!!! Drew Mitchell - Australian Wing
fred7/30/2010 5:37 PM
We do not want him at the Super Kings. We've got enough plonkers here already!
SG7/30/2010 5:34 PM
It is an undeniable fact that we had the two best sides in the S14 with the Stormers the best defensive team. So what went wrong, is it complacency? The fact that the Crusaders conceded the most penalties and most of those penalties were conceded on the defense tells a story. The whole NH referees impact start making more sense. It will be interesting to watch tomorrows game with Craig Joubert having the whistle. It is however good to lose sometime, gets the emotions up again.To much winning is its own enemy.
Norf vs Souf7/30/2010 5:26 PM
There is only one referee in a match, north or south, and he is blowing for both teams. We all feel that the Boks did not get it easy from the ref's but the north/south thing is a load of crap.
Graeme7/30/2010 5:15 PM
The talk of a loser - still blaming the ref.
Greg7/30/2010 5:08 PM
PDV is currently in a better position than what Jake White was at the same stage in his tenure as the Springboks coach. He has proven him self as a good choice. Leave him regarding his comments, he is actually Afrikaans and is taken out of context when he comments. These personal attacks on PDV, smacks of racism so shut up or put them up and do better if you can.
Greg7/30/2010 5:02 PM
Our performance is exactly what will keep the unnecessary focus off of us as the defending champions of the RWC and gives us the underdog status to prepare for the RWC next year. Remember Jake White was in the same position a year before the 2007 RWC. Shift the focus to the All Blacks and give them the continuous limelight and we can quietly take the RWC again and be the first to defend the title and on top of that in the All Blacks own front yard.
clint7/30/2010 4:55 PM
FFS Gary, is this your excuse? When I sent you a tweet after the 3rd loss asking what the excuse was this time, I didn't expect this. This article is enough in itself to get you fired. If you think there is nothing wrong with the gameplan then exit stage left. You were less than useless at WP and living up to it with the Boks. The irony of you being a part of a website called rugby IQ is not missed either.
webb7/30/2010 4:52 PM
Fine fighting talk mr Gold - but how can seemingly some of the best players in world rugby look like worn out, jaded has beens? What has gone wrong with Bok rugby that we looked like a bunch of frightened rabbits at the breakdown where 20 and 21 year old Australians were smashing us up in the collission area. Tactics and execution are certainly one area, but of far greater concern is how a team of Tri-nation champions from a year ago produced an utterly gutless display on tour. Our senior players did not stand up and looked to be coasting on their reputations. If they no longer have the hunger, then boot them out and get new blood in who will die for the bok jersey.
Koos7/30/2010 4:50 PM
Coaching was great - execution sucked? I beg do differ, we do not penetrate on attack, we miss firat tackles on defence, we misplace kicks etc., etc. This comes from lacklustre practice, no fresh ideas, selection of players. Do not be afraid of your players, let the selectors decide who is best in that position, force them to comply to the team strategy (if there is one) Our planless playing needs to stop, develop an a and b startegy, practice those and execute.
john du toit7/30/2010 4:46 PM
if they want to get rid of a coach it should be gary gold. what is his claim to fame? we blame referees what next?
Tjoppie7/30/2010 4:28 PM
.... and the team selection ..... and the clowns statements and ......... pray tell us more.
Rob7/30/2010 4:27 PM
You're a loser gold, stop amking excuses. If Aus and NZ could play to the ref, why couldn't we???? You as well as the rest of the bok management have been exposed.
Johnno7/30/2010 4:27 PM
I hope you're right Gary. I reckon that most of us rugby loving supporters will give you guys and your strategies one more go, but if there isn't a 10 fold improvement in the home leg, then you'll have a hard time convincing us again that you have the right personnel and strategies/game plans. I don't think that expecting the Boks to win in NZ or OZ is too high an expectation that was hinted to by some of the heirarchy. The difference between an ordinary team and a legendary team is one that can win away from home as well. The All Blacks do and the Aussies do too. Why can't we expect that of our team. The Boks were legendary once, now they want us to settle for average and pretend it's us that is expecting to much.
nakalavuki7/30/2010 4:22 PM
Bottom line is if you don't pick the best you won't succeed. If you pick players out of position you won't succeed. There are players and everybody know who they are that aren't their province number one player so how can they be nr one in BOK team . Some of them are about nr 4 in line maybe. Why did we win last year and also against Lions --- i think maybe because of Steyn with his monster kicks for penalties.
Jakes7/30/2010 4:19 PM
"Everybody in the Bok squad is very passionate about what they do, and how they do it, and there is a great camaraderie between everyone - all of whom have one goal; Bok victories." Hey Mr Gold, your story has touched my heart, now f*ck off. Passion will never replace brains, and I don't care if you all kiss each other good night every night, it is not going to make a difference. We need the right people in there, a proper coach and a proper defense and backline coach, the players will do the rest. Good night Mr Gold.
Trash7/30/2010 4:17 PM
A novel way to keep your job. The only thing that Gold got right was that SA's success in S14 was a result of astute coaching. At least Coetzee and Ludeke understood & appreciated in what direction the game is moving
Guy7/30/2010 4:17 PM
I personally know Gary and he is a straight talker, what he says is the way it is!!!!!
Patriot7/30/2010 4:16 PM
All teams have their off days, we know you will bounce back!
Mac7/30/2010 4:15 PM
C'mon Gary - as much as we would like to believe you, it is a lost cause - you obviously have to support PdV else you lose your job as well !!
nigel7/30/2010 4:10 PM
Ok Gary now you have talked the talk, now walk the walk. To me there were 5 major things that resulted in our poor performance, in order of severeity they are 1) Discipline (most notably Bakkies), 2) Defence, 3) officiating bias 4) inaccurate kicking 5) Boks slow pace at the breakdowns...of course there are many other reasons, the AB's played well, we failed to chase down our kickoffs, lost set pieces, players played out of position, general lack of commitment. There is a lot that went wrong, almost nothing went right, we as loyal fans deserve a much better performance in SA, there is plenty of room for improvement. Oh & one more thing, if PdV wants to talk to the press, he must refrain from making any further idiotic & rediculous statements, in fact rather maybe he should rather not open his mouth & do us all a favour.
Champ7/30/2010 4:08 PM
Of course Gold will say that Pdiv is the best thing since sliced bread, he wants to keep his job at a great salary. Pdiv is a nice enough guy and a great comic, a fair coach but not quite at international level.
bulawayo-based-bok7/30/2010 4:06 PM
too right.....we have the best two rugby sides(bulls/stormers) in world rugby at the moment!! and have the best players and depth of any country, we will bounce back and if chosen on merit will have the strongest squad the world cup will ever have seen next year!!.......i actually honestly think that if we had Brussow, FdP and Frans Steyn in aus/nz we would be 3 out of 3!!!
Useless Gold!7/30/2010 4:06 PM
How did Gold become assistant coach anyway?! What has he done to deserve it?! He is in his position just as undeserved as PDIV is as head coach. Both NOT on merit.
Anti7/30/2010 4:05 PM
Very true. The Springbok game plan is, as it was in the past, and always should be - dominate with the forwards, kick acurately and chase and tackle hard. Same gameplan as the successful Bulls and Stormers used.
Sam7/30/2010 4:05 PM
Well said Gold. It is always amazing how two groups of people can view the exact same situation in two completely different lights. I've been following the SA, NZ and AUS news for the tri-nations and it seems as though every NZ and AUS article suggests that the Spingboks are paranoid while every SA article suggests that the referees are to blame. Just goes to show that no matter how objective we think we might be, we will always look at things with blinkers on. Personally I think that too much is made about the SA indescetions as the game is not a place for the faint hearted. Running rugby is more attractive but there is much more to it than that. If we draw a parallel between rugby and cricket, i would say that the NZ type rugby is more like a twenty-twenty match full of fireworks while the Springboks game is more like a test match. I've always been more of a test match kind of guy but there are lots that prefer the twenty-twenty approach. I don't think that any one code is better than the other. With the existence of many different styles of play, we have more interesting games as contrasting styles make for a great spectacle. There are many journalists out there that tend write the more sensationalist type of articles like Spiro Zavos. This is merely written to attract more readership and should not be taken personally. At the end of the day, this is the best rugby competition in the world played by the best players in the world and rugby is always the winner with SANZAR comes together.
Miela7/30/2010 4:04 PM
Enough talk , just get on with the game and make sure you have the right players in the right positions.
rugby king7/30/2010 4:01 PM
with zane kirchner kicking sky divers to god knows where yeah hell i'd agree the kicking was a shamble...zane kirchner is not test rugby stuff..pierre spies should be playing on the wing, he could be our jona lomhu as he seems out of place in the centre...anyway i'm just the rugby king not the coach if i were the coach zane would be out franois hougaard would be in and spies on the wing.
Soothsayer7/30/2010 3:59 PM
Dah ,you have analyzed the faults and not rectified them in the first three games,tackling is nothing new ,so why did it not happen on tour.Your problem was we kicked too much ball away and followed up poorly at less than half pace and commitment,and any quick ball we did get januarie blew it by taking ages to move it on.I am no coach but the fans seem to know more than the coaching staff.
Proverb7/30/2010 3:55 PM
Enough talking.....just start winning
Met Uysh!7/30/2010 3:53 PM
Well, it is quite apparant then, that the All Blacks beat us at our own game. Our execution was poor and our work at the breakdown was poor and also influenced by the NH referee's who blew on reputation rather than what is in front of them. Makes sense. Hope Gold and co can work it out for Soweto!
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

Victoria Azarenka collapses

Roger Federer chocolate ad

Francois Hougaard - try-saving tackle

Front Row Grunt - Tank's blog

It's monstrous! It's the Leopards vs Pumas!

Featured Blog

John Mitchell, a world class, former All Black coach, has been released from his contract by the Western Force to coach the Lions. If there's one coach that can restore the Lion's roar it is John Mitchell, so says Lobo...

Latest blogs

Playing the game for a good cause 9/3/2010 9:10:49 AM

Amazed Angry Gutted 9/3/2010 8:06:50 AM

Don't shoot the messenger... 9/3/2010 7:50:37 AM

Vote

With a number of overplayed senior veterans like John Smit, Victor Matfield, Schalk Burger and Bryan Habana likely to be rested on the Boks' end-of-year tour, who would you like to see captain the team in their absence?

Who is your Hero?

Nominate your hero and win R10 000!

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Newsletters Sign up for Sport24's Morning Glory newsletter

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

Free email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.