Tri-Nations

Div: I am in charge

2010-07-30 09:35
Email | Print
Peter de Villiers (Gallo)

Brenden Nel

Johannesburg - Springbok coach Peter de Villiers has come out strongly to tell the country that he – and nobody else – is the coach of the national team.

After several articles which suggest that De Villiers was not in control of the World Champions but it was either run by senior players, or by the assistant coaches, the Bok mentor moved swiftly to dispel any doubts about who is in charge.

De Villiers faced up to fans questions in SA Rugby’s Bokzine – the email newsletter for Springbok fans – and was forthright when asked who is in charge of the team.

“I’ve heard this so many times – and not just in New Zealand – that it’s obvious that those with fixed opinions won’t change their minds whatever I say,” De Villiers wrote.

“I am the coach but I do listen to players who have played in close to 100 Tests and won every trophy there is to win in rugby. It has brought us success and I don’t recall this being a criticism last year. I am not threatened by this talk – after all, I went to France to fetch John (Smit) back.

When confronted by the question of bringing in young talent and the suggestion that some of the senior players have past their prime, the Bok coach pointed out that experience was a telling factor when it came to the World Cup.

“One of the key questions that we spend a long time debating in selection and this year you’ve seen that we have brought through young players like Francois Louw, Juan de Jongh, Flip van der Merwe and others,” De Villiers explained.

“But the history of World Cups is that they’re won by experience – the Bok and England teams that won the last two were the most experienced in either teams’ rugby history! All but three of Jake’s team won in 2007 had made their debuts at or before the previous World Cup, so experience can’t be a bad thing.”

De Villiers added that utility back Frans Steyn’s cannon boot was very much still in the Bok plans, but suggested his commitments to his French club Racing Metro were hindering him from playing for the national team.

“In answer, Frans is very much still in our thinking and we would like him in the team – we just have to balance the demands of club and country so that he can perform his best for the Springboks,” De Villiers said.

Your Comments

rough7/31/2010 7:34 PM
give the guy a chance. He's doing his best, im sure the boks will bounce back at home. Tri-nations will be sewn up by then mind you. Go the ABs
True South African7/31/2010 7:28 PM
It is truly sad to read all the comments that are so blatantly based on race and nothing else.These anger filled comments have nothing really to do with rugby or how poorly the Boks performed but everything to do with the hatred felt towards P.de Villiers being the coach and him being a person of colour.This has everything to do with the resentment that he(P.de Villiers) is occupying that position and not a "white" South African.Not even when Jake White was the coach and the team he was leading performed poorly had he received such personal, hurtful and nakedly racist attacks on his person.Yet arm chair coaches and players see it fit and in order to speak their minds and racist minds by calling him words such as stupid,idiot etc. at that on these forums and this clearly indicates where we truly are in this country still marginalised along race.The old mindset that anybody not white cannot be good enough and must be stupid or idiots.That is so sad.No wonder the rest of the rugby world are mocking us and the coach because it started right here they are simply taking our lead in breaking the person of P.de Villiers and making him out to be as they and you all claim him to be.YOU are making it so ... all the name calling and belittle has achieved what exactly...? I suppose it made all those who ranted and raved at P.De Villiers the person, feel better about themselves and who they believe they are or how better they know the game should b played or that they had put a person of colour in his place?Well his place is where ihe is supposed to be despite you all and that is being the coach of the springboks.Continue with your vile vitriol and for a moment make yourself feel better but P.deVilliers reality is that he IS the coach and you have to finally wake up from the daze you have been in and finally realise this country has changed despite of you and we the more sober and true rugby supporter and PROUD South African will make it work in spite of you with the sharp and hateful words
mmm7/31/2010 5:59 PM
funny how the "stasie boere" come through in rugby and the rest just follow
jez7/31/2010 2:37 PM
Nah mate....Charles was "In Charge" you're just "Benson"
Jones7/31/2010 9:36 AM
Weird how these stasie boere think...a player like Zane Kirchner...the bulls fullback is the "best when he plays for them, but for the Boks he's not good enough!!! make up your minds!!! the stasie boer mentallity is as outdated as you are!!
Dragonpig7/31/2010 9:15 AM
we have a few options here, have you always been in charge, like when we were winning or did you only start being in charge on the end of year tour last year? 1.Either you can be a hard nosed coach, drop players with poor discipline, put the form players into the team, drop the non performers, out of form or over worked players, (Spies, Smit, Matfield, Louw etc, out of form or tired) the may not like you as a buddy buddy guy but I'm sure they'll respect you, then we'll see your coaching ability. 2. You can be the players buddy and play the same old guys time after time regardless of performance, they may be your mates but we're losing and you don't seem in charge. 3. You can hide behind the senior players and let them play "percentage rugby" which is not working right now. Please Div, chose one, stick to it, I like option 1 personally, our team is so fullof talent, the buddy vibe worked last year in the tri nations and and the lions tour but maybe now they need to get a rocket up their @$$es and know that they need to play well to make the team, he can be nice about it though, all hbe needs to say is "sorry Player X you're not as effective as I need you to be, I know you can do alot better so I'll give you one more game and if you don't step up we'll have to work on your game in training to get you back up there, Player Y is on form and I have to give him a chance soon if you don't pull finger" Please get some backbone, take the blame for bad performances instead of the refs who can only influence what you let them influence
bobbok 7/31/2010 7:14 AM
PDivvy , one question only , what's your top priority , victory or transformation ?
Ash7/30/2010 10:48 PM
Does he know what in charge means
SMURFSTER7/30/2010 5:39 PM
WHAT,,,,,,,,,,,,,in charge of what......(such a idiot)
Vito7/30/2010 5:20 PM
Rl, it is strange how you only singled out the Bulls players in your grade 3 level comment. I find the remainder your comments quite laughable, particularly due to the fact that most of the greatest intellectual achievers, sportsmen, scientists, authors, artists and businessmen this country has ever produced were all so-called dutchmen. Cove Rock, tellitlikeitis is not too far off the mark. How can one justify that a player may not be selected for a national team because of his (white)colour. Affirmative action might be entrenched in our statutes so that people might call it "legal" and acceptable, but so was apartheid. Perhaps the international rugby world should be brave enough to address this issue as well. From a proud duchman.
Truth7/30/2010 5:17 PM
There is soooo much RACISM in rugby. Jake "WHITE" was RIGHT. PDV is WRONG. Get over yourselves you bunch of HATERS. go more southto Aussie where you lot belong.
Ref7/30/2010 3:49 PM
.....and Victor said I may say so.
BF7/30/2010 3:14 PM
YOU HAVE PROBABLY GOT SYPHILIS FROM TOO MUCH IN BREEDING!FROM YOUR COMMENTS YOU ARE THE ONE THAT KNOWS NOTHING ABOUT THE GAME , ETTER KOP!
RL7/30/2010 3:01 PM
and as for slating the aa players it is peculiar how none of them got binned, not even dumpie january ... maybe you need to rethink who really cost us these games ...
Jimmy Pop7/30/2010 2:58 PM
Snorre, you better get your head out of your nether regions and get Frans Steyn back in the team! What nonsense are you talking when you say: "We just have to balance the demands of club and country" What utter BS is that???... since when do we keep a club in consideration when selecting the national team... who gives a rat's a$$ about Racing Metro?? We need Steyn so select him! I said at the beginning of the Tri-Nations that not selecting Frans will cost us the tournament. I hope you are finished with your mindless experiments now! It's easy... select the RIGHT player on the RIGHT position! Voila!! Thank goodness you are learning all these lessons the year BEFORE the WC.
Duck7/30/2010 2:48 PM
Lets look at some facts from last year. Who were the two biggest finds of rugby last year? Brussow and Steyn. Did he select them? No they only made the team because P.Div didnt have a choice. You must remeber when J.White took over there was no team, nothing. He had to build from scratch. You cant tell me P.Div talks differently to his players than he does the media cleraly the man is a clown. His assistant coaches don't do much for me either, Lions are a prime example of Dick's coaching pedigree. But then again I know nothing and I'm blind, deaf and dumb.
Claude7/30/2010 2:41 PM
If he has to tell everyone then he is just trying to convince himself.
Bernard7/30/2010 2:16 PM
You go Div! People are going on as if your predecessors won every sinle game. They forgot that last year you beat the All Black three times in a row! Oh! I forget! It wasn't you! It was the players. Only when the team looses, it's your fault. A lot of them called for Jake White's head as well untill he won the world cup. Thereafter you couldn't find any one that wanted Jake to quit. Is it because you are black? By the way, the majority of rugby players in this country are black, for some people's information. Now get over it!....Div's here to stay! Amandla!!!
scooter7/30/2010 2:08 PM
You can have the best coach and management team , but If you have a bunch of highly paid ----- and believe me they are being paid in salary , bonus and incentives like the Bok palyers -you should be able to perform. We keep on blaming the coach and the whole world.Start reducing their salaries and see how these Boks perform.
Cove Rock7/30/2010 2:02 PM
@ tellitilikeitis... your profound political insight is a revelation. The real cowards are those who swear they never supported apartheid. Yes the international community can see, through this thread, exactly what the core of South African rugby support is all about... preservation of the old order. You deserve the Malema you are about to get. Start packing for perth boeta!
tellitlikeitis7/30/2010 1:35 PM
AA = race descrimination!! The IRB should cancel all tours as with the apartheid government in the past.Maybe then these iceholes at SARU might stand back and realise that they're descrimenating against the minority who are the majority of rugby players and supporters in this country.Wake up the international world-because your abstentia from this topic is blatant and totally unfair.Obviously you want to continue playing SA's second and third teams at test level!!Cowards the lot of you!!
fuzzy7/30/2010 1:29 PM
@ Matchfix - Ditto
Cove Rock7/30/2010 1:27 PM
The vitriolic responses on this forum are astounding. I follow sport in a multitude of codes and at the highest levels and never, ever have I seen a coach exposed to the bitterness contained herein. This is all because the coach is the wrong colour. True sport supporters never sink this low. Benitez's "Fact" rant on Sir Alex comes to mind. I say again, the govt should cut rugby free. Make it the "Oranje" of SA sport...
clint7/30/2010 1:20 PM
Thanks for telling us who is in charge Div, but the problem is, to be frank, that you are in charge. At least now we can lay the blame at your feet without others telling us that it's not your fault. Div, be a man and quit. But you won't, like all small men in big jobs, the ego won't allow it.
bok basher7/30/2010 1:10 PM
If DIV is fully in charge, he needs to take full responsibilitry when they crash.
Anti7/30/2010 1:09 PM
Guys let's just say (for convenience sake) that when the Boks are losing, De Villiers is in charge, but when they win it's Matfield, Smit the assistant coaches, or anyone else who flys under the radar.
WORSIE7/30/2010 12:56 PM
Die probleem is huidiglik dat Jake White se kalwers sedertdien ou koeie geword het wat Saterdag na Saterdag in PdV se sirkus gedek word. Ervaring beteken vir jou niks PdV. As jy te oud is en nie meer die beste in jou posisie is nie, help dit jou niks as jy teen youngsters speel nie. Soos jy redeneer kan ons maar vir Naas, Frik Du Preez, Morne du Plesis en die ouens met baie ervaring seker ook maar nader trek want wragtig, ek dink van hulle sal die span beter kan "coach" en nog rugby speel ook..
Sensation7/30/2010 12:50 PM
Let me remind you that Jake didn't do so well prior to the World Cup in 2007. Lets give Peter a chance to prove himself. We won the Tri-Nations last year, beat the British and Irish Lions the list goes on and on. Peter Coached the very same players at u/21 level, the same players that won the World Cup.Why when SA Rugby hits a slump then the coach must be fired? We can't afford to do this at this stage. Give Peter a chance! HE IS IN CHARGE!
Die Bek7/30/2010 12:49 PM
We loose because theres no Cheetahs in the team. Wake up people..Juan Smith best flanker of all time.
Andre Visagie7/30/2010 12:44 PM
I support you PDV and still believe you can do better that Jake White and Heineken VIVA BEE VIVA rant and rave till you blue in your faces it is here to stay.
Boss Barry7/30/2010 12:37 PM
Helium - Empty vessel makes the most noise. You will only last because you and Oregan are flippen @ssholes, just there for the money !!!
Frik7/30/2010 12:36 PM
If experience is so important, why does he not select Danie Gerber, Chester Williams, Joost van Der Westhuizen and Naas Botha? (They will still be faster than Ricky Jan...July!)
matchfix7/30/2010 12:31 PM
Well can the guy in charge then answer these stupid questions? 1. WHO DECIDED THAT WE SHOULD PLAY THE WALLABIES WITHOUT A FETCHER? 2. WHO DECIDED THAT JEAN DE VILLIERS NEEDED TIME ON THE WING AGAINST THE ALL BLACKS? 3. WHO DECIDED THAT JANUARY SHOULD PLAY AGAINST THE ALL BLACKS AT ALL COSTS, EVEN THOUGH HE IS CLEARLY OUT OF FORM AND COULD NOT MAKE THE STORMERS STARTING LINE UP THIS YEAR? 4. WHO DECIDED THAT JOHN SMIT IS OUR BEST BET AT HOOKER, EVEN THOUGH THE GUY IS CLEARLY OUT OF FORM? 5. WHO DECIDED THAT WE SHOULD STILL PLAY KICK AND CHASE, EVEN THOUGH THE RULE CHANGES HAVE CLEARLY MADE THIS TACTIC REDUNDANT AND THE BOKS WOULD BE THE ONLY TEAM IN THE 3N TRYING TO STILL WIN THIS WAY? 6. WHO DID NOT TELL HABANA THAT WE ARE STILL PLAYING KICK AND CHASE, BECAUSE HE CLEARLY DID NOT KNOW IT? If you take the responsibility for these questions, then you are clearly a fool and should be fired. probably not...the guy would get a bonus and a pat on the back from saru.
Cheeseboy7/30/2010 12:22 PM
When could we perhaps agree on his standings in the team. Is he or is he not in charge? Some claims that its the senior player others lay the responsibilty on the shoulders of the assistants. If he is not, before recommending the axing, when could we expected that we all believe that he is in charge? What else have to happen? Maybe wins from now till the end of the RWC? Or will it be that the senior players is running the show again? Or is it that the Jake White syndrome has entered the fray again? SICK B....., cannot make up your minds. I am not a huge PDV fan but i will support the coach of the SPRINGBOKS. That is my case and i am sticking to it.
pierre7/30/2010 12:15 PM
I say let the best/inform player in a position play. don't select people that sits on a bench, like the bulls hooker, be a springbock. Sorry i forgot he is ear marked as the next bok captain. I will support any team as long as it is selected on merrit! How i mis the frik du preez, joggie jansen, mannetjies roux. My blood will stay green
SA7/30/2010 12:06 PM
you might be in charge that is why we are doing so bad. please get rid of this clown
Vito7/30/2010 12:06 PM
Great. Let us do our best to win the world cup every 4 years, but be crap for the rest of the time. When will everyone realise that you earn more respect (and give more joy to real rugby supporters) if you manage to be the best throughout and even fail during the world cup? The world cup is overrated and it is how you get there that counts. Springbok rugby is about playing the best side all the time (and winning almost all the time) and not loosing to English club sides with the excuse that we are trying out certain players for some future world cup.
Fall on your Sword7/30/2010 12:00 PM
Do us all a favour-look how the coach of Japan bowed out of the SWC!! With humble humility taking the blame for his charges-penalty kick-off disaster!! He basically said he himself was to blame because he could've done more.PDV-take that finger and shove it up ,where you know best!! YOUR ARROGANCE HAS BECOME TIRESOME!! BOW OUT WITH GRACE BEFORE YOU DO IRREPAIRABLE DAMAGE TO SA RUGBY'S IMAGE AND OUR BELOVED SPORT (PRATT)
Ausbok7/30/2010 12:00 PM
PdV, as an expatriot supporter of the Boks for over 21 years I am fast losing patience with your bumbling ineptitude! I think Brendan Cannon has hit the nail /clown on the head, shape up or ship out..............
Weepee7/30/2010 11:54 AM
I really dont want to be another putting in the boot while the oke is down but the fact is P-Divvy is tactically not good. We can all reflect on his successes in the last TN where he had a team on top of their game. It is now when things are going wrong where his ability is going to be tested. I'm not sure he is going to make it. I like the guy, he is a colourful charismatic guy and makes me laugh.
rugby king7/30/2010 11:49 AM
its not about the 3 losses its about the fact that this team has run out of ideas and ran out of pace and team selections driving us mad...the world cup squad for next year had better have frans steyn and francois hougaard in the starting line up to stand any chance to run the ball...and pierre spies os overrated or playing out of position, perhaps pierre spies on the wing is the way to go as he does not like to tackle
CROCODILE TEARS7/30/2010 11:47 AM
I FIND MYSELF WANTING TO CRY EVERYTIME PDV OPENS HIS MOUTH....NOT ONLY ARE WE LOSING,BUT IM FORKING OUT MONEY FOR JERSEYS,TICKETS AND A THERAPIST(TO GET BY THE PDV COACHING ERA).HOW DO I EXPLAIN TO MY SON THAT IT TAKES BRAINS AND A RUGBY TACTICIAN TO BE SPRINGBOK COACH WHEN PDV HAS THE JOB!!!WHATEVER THE REASONS ARE THAT HE IS THERE CAN HE PLEASE JUST BE BANNED FROM PUBLIC SPEAKING....IT IS AFFECTING THE YOUTH..
MonTage7/30/2010 11:41 AM
it's PDV ray! Don't be stupid! PDV can never take us to the world cup and win!
CHRIS L7/30/2010 11:41 AM
GEE Im glad we have cleared up 'who is in charge' now we know who to fire.It must be very embarrassing to know that the only reason you are the coach is you are the right color.Shitty hey??Oh well thats why I support Kiwis.
Please7/30/2010 11:36 AM
PdV, I will call you a "h*****s" until you get rid of January, John Smit, Wynand Olivier and Zane Kirschner. They are just not up to International standard and will never get there. Some of our other senior players are also in a comfort zone and needs a wakeup call. With the current laws - you also need at least 1 fetcher (I would play Francois Louw and Heinrich Brussouw (when available again) at the same time) together with a Tiaan Liebenberg/Gary Botha/Bismarck at hooker. Tries get scored with turnover ball - GET PEOPLE THAT CAN DO THAT!!!!!
EMILE7/30/2010 11:29 AM
WoW! Totally in charge of an out of control train heading down the mountain yes. Good heavens this guy's arrogance has no limits. "I went to France to fetch John (Smit) back" - he is so damn stupid, he actually brags about another one of his dismal failures as "coach". At least he confirmed that he was the idiot that brought John Smit back.
CG7/30/2010 11:27 AM
It takes special talent to convert the efforts of 2 winning S14 sides into a stuffed up combination with the Boks as you did. Typical BEE, blame everyone else, at some stage you will also put the blame on Apartheid.
kingofkings7/30/2010 11:24 AM
Guys lets stop being so fickle, yes the team have played poorly and not done us proud, but you dont become a bad team overnight. They need our support more than ever, John and victor are still world class players, and they will come right, we just need to show them that we are behind them. It will come right. Lets just believe in the bokke
Jay7/30/2010 11:22 AM
One of those statements that needs some action and results behind it.
Sick and Tired7/30/2010 11:16 AM
IMAGINE! a world where the only thing that counts is your performance, whether coach, administrator or player.... I truly believe that the Boks would have a win percentage as good as the AB's if we lived in this fantasy world (that all other international teams inhabit...). We have so much stacked against us as a rugby nation it is unbelievable. How on earth have we managed to win half the world cups that we have played in with so many factors in favour of our opponents. What sickens me even more is that we have to put up with glaringly obvious for all to see biased refs but we're not allowed to complain. I am such a fanatical fan of rugby and the Boks - but I just feel so deflated with all this bullshit that keeps getting shoveled at us (the fans). I am on the verge of not giving a hoot about rugby any more because as a SA fan it's like there are 'forces' out to hinder us at every opportunity. Idiotic politicians, quota selections, a coach that makes every other nation laugh at us, a$$hole refs and worst of all - Aussie and Kiwi players openly admitting the way they bend the rules! Mocking us because they can get away with it and we can't. Is it really worth it all? Please, I need a tissue, anyone? Paddy? I feel so alone...
Playa237/30/2010 11:12 AM
PDV should go an take lessons from Alister Cotzee on how to motivate and coach. Oops sorry I forgot Alister has at least a brain. PDV should not get a job even coaching the Zimbabwe Blind Team.
Playa237/30/2010 11:09 AM
PDV should go an take lessons from Alister Cotzee on how to motivate and coach. Oops sorry I forgot Alister has at least a brain. PDV should not get a job even coaching the Zimbabwe Blind Team.
Mario7/30/2010 11:06 AM
Look at all you idiots…3 loses and all hell brakes loose…screw all of you!!!! Div is a great coach – better than Jake and Heyneke must wait his turn – It’s the time of the DIV. When we did well you all praised him…he does bad this time and then you want to give him the boot. Its Bok supporters like you we don’t need in this country – that old mentality must F’n go. Do you do the same when your province play this bad or do you stand by them through thick and thin – you bunch of hypocrites! I can’t wait to see your comments next year when we take the Tri Nation again and defend the World Cup successfully…. Proud BOK supporter – my blood is green and will always be “win or lose”
Ray7/30/2010 11:04 AM
Lots of bonehead comments here! Go PVD!
DIV = CLOWN7/30/2010 11:00 AM
We can see you are in charge Div, that is why we are playing so k@k!
JSC7/30/2010 10:58 AM
And we can all see that P.
E7/30/2010 10:57 AM
Does he really think we believe that he would be honest if he is not in charge? Everybody knows he does not have the knowledge, experience or professionalism to be in charge of the Springboks!
Nic7/30/2010 10:55 AM
This is clear if you look at the performance of the team.
frans7/30/2010 10:48 AM
In die land van die blindes, is eenoog koning! Gaan voort, Snorre, ons was no1 in die wereld, amper nou no3! Gaan ons Bafana se pad? Lyk so...
James 7/30/2010 10:45 AM
Any one that is truly in charge of the Bok team wouldn't have to proclaim it to the whole of SA. I smell desperation Div.
die yster7/30/2010 10:41 AM
Piv the puppet - pro BEEE and F.c.k the white players and people - is standing up? Chillie boy the face of BEEE for president and coach!
brian7/30/2010 10:38 AM
Pdiv has shown just how clueless he is when it comes to coaching. He does not have the ability to keep up with the rule changes and what sort of coach would always have a ready excuse when his side is beaten by the better team. I am and will always be a bok supporter but our coach needs to be taken to task and be told that his comments only add fuel to the fire.Him blaming the referee and everybody else is childish and stupid , even when the referees are blowing so one sided as they have , diplomacy is required when raising this in the media. His choice of some players also smacks of racism and favouritism ie. Ricky Januarie - cannot make the stormers team but is his first choice, Frans Steyn - personal dislikes , etc. We need a coach like Alistair Coetzee assisted by Rassie Erasmus and then send the clown to the circus where he can spout drivel and get paid for it!
Sean7/30/2010 10:34 AM
DV you are to arrogant for your own good and SA rugby.Do us all a favour and quit. Maybe you should be listening to some of the senior players.
WAKA WAKA7/30/2010 10:33 AM
Of Course your in charge only SAFU pulls the strings WHO are you trying to kid !! The Springbok legacy left behind by the last coach has come to an end mate. Now what : Resign let a decent coach take over WP Alister who has a better track record.
Anonymous7/30/2010 10:32 AM
Great stuff Div. Thanks for clearing all that up... AGAIN
Godfrey7/30/2010 10:30 AM
Is he lying? After all he's the one who signed the contract, not the blikskottels who always critisize him.
GULLAUME CLOUSTON7/30/2010 10:28 AM
ja ou piet heluim jy weet niks van rugby af nie . jy is n nar man . almal speel jou en jy is te dom om dit agter te kom jou clown.
Hannetjie7/30/2010 10:28 AM
If experience is what counts then why are our 'experienced' players not performing in the Tri Nations - surely it must also count there!!! Peter de Villiers need to admit that he coached the Springboks from Heroes to Zeroes in two years' time!!!!!!!
SP7/30/2010 10:27 AM
Yes Div, we can see that you are in charge. The results speak for themselves.
Navarac7/30/2010 10:27 AM
Let's get this straight ... so he is personally and solely responsible for the current results?
Gog7/30/2010 10:26 AM
Yup, Div is in charge, Matfield and Smit told him he could say it...
tokkie7/30/2010 10:25 AM
Ja he is in charge "In charge of what"??? Go home and retire before you fired DIV. The whole world has seen thru u, a clown in a position given thru tokenism ONLY. You have no idea how to coach and no idea what to say when that mouth opens !!! Please do SA a favour and walk out.........before even Zimbabwe and Kenya thrash us toooooo.
Benny7/30/2010 10:24 AM
With a finger like that can anyone seriously doubt that our beloved P Divvy is in charge?
Honesty7/30/2010 10:21 AM
If only we could have people in positions of power and responsibility who can actually be honest and forthcoming for a change. Imagine the peace of it all... Wait, am I dreaming again. LIES,LIES and more LIES. On the other hand. If Div claims to be in charge and the Boks are playing k@k as they are, then surely that means he doesn't have a freakin' clue. Riding on Jake White's glory only lasted as long as it did, now he actually has to do some work. Get someone in the coaching position that actually has a sense of direction and doesn't make an absolute nut of himself with even more k@k comments.
Brad7/30/2010 10:19 AM
If he is in charge why then why has he not reigned in the team on their discipline, which is laughable on the field! He should have told Bakkies that if he ever did something like that again he would never wear the green & gold jersey ever again! If he is in charge then he would tell his players to respect the refs decision whether it’s a bad call or not. He needs to set the example, he needs to tell the players what to do. He also needs to understand that these are professional sportsmen who get paid very well and are very skilled in a particular position and by putting centre’s on the wing and eighth men on the flank the team will not perform. You picked him from that position to begin with, keep him there. Show you have the balls and the faith in a player. Stand up and be in charge instead of making wisecracks about refs and SANZAR. Shut up and coach and reign the players in!
I am BOSS7/30/2010 10:19 AM
You don't seem to be doing a excellent job Mr De Villiers!
Rugby Fan NOT Supporter 7/30/2010 10:15 AM
Well, if you are in charge then get on with it. Why did you go to France and get John Smit back? There is very little discipline in the Bok side and obviously the captain doesn't have a handle on it either. If you lose a game or two then that's understandable but game after game after game and so many yellow cards AND then to top it all, the poor boys are been targetted by the refs. PLEASE! Grow up, stop whinging and get on with the task at hand. You guys earn far too much for the rubbish you dish up.
stubenkamer7/30/2010 10:14 AM
you will always be a bullsh***er Div. idiot.
Hah7/30/2010 10:13 AM
For the last three games PDivvy was in charge, before then the senior players and coaching staff were in charge. Has anybody noticed the difference?
Wondering7/30/2010 10:13 AM
If you are in Charge DIV, thus that mean you will be fired for poor performance??
The Original Beast7/30/2010 10:12 AM
You in charge boss Diddy, no problem. Just make sure you take full responsibility of the springbok ship as well.
Manie Kriel7/30/2010 10:10 AM
Ja if I look at the scoreboard I can see who is in charged
Nick7/30/2010 10:09 AM
Well the man has said that he is in charge- there is a saying that goes like this - "live by the sword and die by the sword" - S.A rugby apply this rule and get rid of the p*..*k.
Michael7/30/2010 10:03 AM
ja, right old Snor.
Div on the right track7/30/2010 10:02 AM
thanks Div its great to see you guys still have frans steyn as part of the team, we need him seriously for the worldcup he is a great fullback that can double up for any position in the backline except scrumhalf. he also doubles up for a great goal kicker as well. Go Bokke!!!!
Joeman7/30/2010 10:01 AM
Ad dont forget he chose Brossouw when Jake only wanted him to carry the beers
Ja Snorre ja!7/30/2010 10:00 AM
Ja-nee ons glo jou ou Snorbek...yeah right! Natuurlik het jy ondervinding nodig maar die manne met ondervinding moet ook nog kompeterend wees ou Snor!Hoekom bring jy nie sommer Maruis Joubert,Kobus Wiese,Joost(soek n job) en so aan nie.Wat van Os du Randt.Moenie k@k gorrel en dink ons moet als glo nie man.Jy het JSmit gaan haal ja nou gaan lewer hom weer af ook.Hy is n hasbeen en klaar.Die 2 Shark wings JP Pietersen en Mvovo asook Aplon is goed genoeg om Habana n slag wakker te maak.Drop hom net eenkeer en hy sal terugkom.Jou outjies is in n gemaksone en klaar.Spies is n k@k no 8 op Internasionale vlak en as jy en jou spul swape wat die span "afrig" te dom is om dit te besef is jy n nar.Die BB se patroon werk dalk op SRugby vlak maar NIE op internasionale vlak nie.Kan jy nie sien hoe verdedig die Stormer/WP span nie?Ek sê NIE sit n spul Stormers in die span nie maar kan hul defence afrigter nie dalk help by die Bokke nie?Nee wat ou Div jy is in n web.Waar het jy gesien n afrigter en speler is saam in besigheid....verrefkngaande!
Daan7/30/2010 10:00 AM
bla, bla, bla...........
Grim7/30/2010 10:00 AM
Don't forget it was God who put him in charge
Fafa7/30/2010 9:57 AM
If Div is in charge why does he chose players like Januarie and Chillyboy. Saru and the whole management team of the Boks seem to underestimate the intellegence of the average South African rugby fan. Get down to basics and chose the best players irrispective of colour and see the results .
Fred7/30/2010 9:57 AM
If true, seems to me that springbok rugby is in more trouble than previously believed.
kabous7/30/2010 9:56 AM
we can see by your results that you're in charge.........Jake and Heyneke's players are getting older and you cannot manage it or create youre own luck...........puppet!
William Shakespeare7/30/2010 9:55 AM
The market punishes mistakes. The coach is learning that he can't be a verbal gattling gun.
kabous7/30/2010 9:50 AM
we can see by your results that you're in charge.........Jake and Heyneke's players are getting older and you cannot manage it or create youre own luck...........puppet!
Oval Ball7/30/2010 9:47 AM
Much has been said about selections and selection errors, but little has been revealed about the workings of the Selectors and their relationship with DIV. Can anyone shine some light on this - and I mean meaningful contributions not inane and hate comments please
rugga fan7/30/2010 9:47 AM
snorre blows, looks to me people all ready forgot about the dismal performance of the boks in November last year.... give me the boks ill coach them for free.... and plus the only time div will be on par with Jake is if he wins a world cup trophy witch i doubt strongly with this clown at the helm... id be surprised if we make it to the semis.
MonTage7/30/2010 9:45 AM
Then..."he – and nobody else – is" at fault for the HORRIBLE performance of the boks! And "he – and nobody else – is" responsible, so he must get out, while he can, cause he SUCKS!!!
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

Victoria Azarenka collapses

Roger Federer chocolate ad

Francois Hougaard - try-saving tackle

Front Row Grunt - Tank's blog

It's monstrous! It's the Leopards vs Pumas!

Featured Blog

John Mitchell, a world class, former All Black coach, has been released from his contract by the Western Force to coach the Lions. If there's one coach that can restore the Lion's roar it is John Mitchell, so says Lobo...

Latest blogs

Sharks to show their true colors 9/3/2010 9:23:45 AM

Playing the game for a good cause 9/3/2010 9:10:49 AM

Amazed Angry Gutted 9/3/2010 8:06:50 AM

Vote

With a number of overplayed senior veterans like John Smit, Victor Matfield, Schalk Burger and Bryan Habana likely to be rested on the Boks' end-of-year tour, who would you like to see captain the team in their absence?

Who is your Hero?

Nominate your hero and win R10 000!

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Newsletters Sign up for Sport24's Morning Glory newsletter

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

Free email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.