Tri-Nations

Aus to shake off losers tag?

2010-07-29 11:25
Email | Print
Robbie Deans (AP)

Melbourne - The Wallabies are bidding to avoid their worst trans-Tasman losing sequence in 63 years when they take on the all-conquering All Blacks in a Tri-Nations/Bledisloe Cup Test at Docklands stadium on Saturday.

The Australians have dropped seven straight matches to New Zealand since coach Robbie Deans won his first Bledisloe Cup Test in charge of the Wallabies -- 34-19 in Sydney in July 2008.

The All Blacks are in the midst of another golden era and not since 1995-1997 and 1967-1974 have they dominated the Wallabies with seven consecutive wins.

The last time the All Blacks made it eight straight Tests against Australia was from 1936 to 1947 in an unbroken run of nine wins.

Top-ranked New Zealand have strung together 11 Test victories against all sides since their last loss to South Africa (29-32) in Hamilton last September.

Yet for all of the All Blacks' current superiority, the Wallabies have led at half-time in five of their past six encounters, and are looking for that little bit extra to achieve the elusive win.

The Wallabies, coming off their convincing 30-13 victory over the world champion Springboks in Brisbane last weekend, know a lot of their challenges are mental as well as physical.

Deans, who as a former All Black knows the New Zealand game intimately, said it was down to "mastering those little things" and felt his Australian troops were on track following their triumph over South Africa.

"We're excited about what's coming this week," he said. "They've been superb in the final 40 minutes and particularly in the last 20, they've been able to impose their will on us."

Hooker Stephen Moore said the Wallabies have let themselves down by not competing for the entire match.

"Our preparation is generally always good but it's that 80 minutes on the field that we've really got to knuckle down," Moore said.

"We can do it. For that full 80 minutes you've got to be at the throat, and that's something the All Blacks have been good at over the last couple of seasons and something we've probably fallen a bit short with."

Moore is one of two changes in the starting lineup, coming in for Saia Faingaa, while Berrick Barnes is at inside-centre with Matt Giteau shifting to flyhalf for the suspended Quade Cooper.

Playmaker Cooper will be a big loss for the Australians with his clever passing pivotal in opening up rival defences, while Barnes is a more conventional midfield back.

Saturday's Test will be a significant milestone for Joe Rokocoko, who will play in his 64th Test and move ahead of All Black greats John Kirwan and Jonah Lomu as New Zealand's most capped winger of all time.

Meanwhile Tony Woodcock, who is playing in his 66th Test this weekend, joins his former teammate Greg Somerville as the most capped prop in All Black history.

The All Blacks boast the experience of 700 combined Test caps in the starting XV with skipper and champion open-side flanker Richie McCaw lining up for his 86th Test appearance along with fullback Mils Muliaina.

"We will need all our experience up against what is a very good Wallabies side," coach Graham Henry said.

"We have had a good start to the Tri-Nations with the two wins over South Africa but there is no room for complacency.

"We are playing our oldest rivals for one of our most prized trophies, the Bledisloe Cup, and both sides will come out firing."

The All Blacks have held the Bledisloe Cup, symbol of trans-Tasman rugby supremacy, since 2003.

Another bonus point victory this weekend will make the All Blacks overwhelming favourites to recapture the Tri-Nations trophy from South Africa.

Your Comments

Mike B7/30/2010 6:13 AM
Spartan, you have confirmed my worst suspicions. You are brain dead! How do you reckon both teams will lose on Saturday? Even a draw will see them share the points. Something South Africa does not seem to have when I last looked at the Tri-Nations log! Off to bed with you now, it is past your bed time!
AB's1OZ27/30/2010 5:30 AM
GAZ, SA may have won 2 , but their 1st one was won with the AB's mysteriously throwing up before during and after, and your second win you never played Australia or NZ. When the AB's win in 2011 (and they will) the best team with the best international record will finally get its due. Then what will you be able to say? If AB's don't win it will be Aussie. Saying that it will be hard for any team to beat SA at home because SA will win at any cost, but this AB team and probably the Wallabies will smash your team of thugs.
BradMan4RSA7/29/2010 7:30 PM
Stats do not win World Cups. Refer FIFA SWC. Yeah Boks not on form currently. But until the Trophy is moved into a different cabinet - it sits smartly in RSA. Wallabies or ABs must wait their turn. We will polish it for you guys :-). RWC, is another competition. No need to guess who has that trophy.U need to win before you can lay claim. ABs do not have a good record in this competition though, check the stats. eMzansi ppl wish U all the best. Pls be matured about comments.
Man in BLACK7/29/2010 5:37 PM
What's worse than being dumb? A dumb Saffa
Man in BLACK7/29/2010 4:55 PM
@SPCA, COOK ME UP SOME F#@%N eggs bitch hahahahahahahaha, probably over your head, you wouldn't understand, oh well. Apparently Suzies packed your lunch for school, bye bye tiger
All Black Supporter7/29/2010 4:42 PM
As a proud sheep sh@gger I have to DEMAND from the IRB to introduce a new STATS CUP. Seeing as my beloved sheep sh@gging compatriats are always the statistical champions of the world one has to start rewarding such statistical supremacy. That''l show these bleeding Saffas and their bloody world CUP. All Blacks, the OFFICIAL Stats cup holders.
Man in BLACK7/29/2010 4:22 PM
@SPCA, try using a dictionary, can you even spell dictionary, as for am I 13 or 14, hmmmmmmm me thinks you haven't reached puberty yet. Oh, by the way, in all seriousness, who do YOU think the rugby world thinks is the WORLDS BEST. Incidentally BOET, how many times have you worldchumps beaten us compared to us beating/thrashing you. It's 2.20am in NZ so its approx 12.00 pm in SA (Typically behind us once again), shouldn't you be at school. Whilst at school look up stats. Bye bye my little cherub
spca7/29/2010 3:57 PM
@Man in BLACK @Steve Jou Ma Se, we are the world champions and you stay the world champions for 4 years, doos when they refer to Sa they talk about the world champions. AB's should better be refered to as the sSouth Pacific Islands, 87 was not a world cup win for you, SA was not there and for the Aussies 91 was also not a world cup win so the only side with 2 world cup wins in the real world is SA, AB's will always play the catch up game. Currently the best no mabe inform but not world champions. I am sure you 12 or 13 years old, you comments are much the same. From the hip with not though.
GW @ Duh7/29/2010 3:36 PM
Yes boks are the Champs.. has nobody ever told u that u are only as good as your last SALE? come on wake up, do u honestly believe that bok's can win tri nations this year?
Zitulele7/29/2010 3:03 PM
Wallabies will win the RBW 2011. Go Wallabies!!
Andrew7/29/2010 2:09 PM
30-13 shhhhhhhhhhh........
@Man in BLACK7/29/2010 1:49 PM
Can I ask if you are retarded. Some of your comments makes you come across at being so
war - whites against racism7/29/2010 1:28 PM
This all takes us back to 2006, Bokke losing everything and then take the world cup, looks like more of the same. New Zealnd crowing in 2006 and then choking
Steve7/29/2010 1:23 PM
@Duh, Ok the Boks are the 2007 WC champs. But we all know what happened that yaer in the WC. But the Worl Cup champs lost against france last year, they lost against ireland last, They did however won the TriNations last year, but oach this year. Ok they did beat at least France this year. But ever since the Trinations where the AB's lost against the boks, this was the last. After that it was only win. So the question is and please answer me correctly. WHO IS CURRENTLY THE BEST RUGBY TEAM IN THE WORLD. IF YOU DONT KNOW, GO TO GOOGLE AND CHECK ON THE NET, ACCORDING TO RATINGS. CHECK WHEN WAS SA ON TOP OF THAT RATING. So What does it makes the boks relating to that stats. Loooooooosers. Thank you, waitng for your reply, Cloooooown, Joker, fool.
Man in BLACK7/29/2010 1:22 PM
In all seriousness, I cant wait to watch quality teams playing rugby. Both our teams (OZ/NZ) played our sparring partners as a pre-match warm up but now it's time to play 100% pure rugby. Thanks for the practice South Africa but now it's time for the real thing.
@Gaz7/29/2010 1:15 PM
pathetic..is that the only thing you can come up with?we are living in the "here and now" next years World Cup is stil far- off .
Man in BLACK7/29/2010 1:08 PM
@Duh,, let me guess, your mother named you Duh as she was either in labour as your head hit the ground with a shattering DUH or more than likely she was sitting on the toilet thinking of a name DUH / SPLASH ahhhhhhhhhh
Duh7/29/2010 12:53 PM
@Man in Black - who's the reigning World Champs - hmmmm its definetly not the All Blanks - so shut up and watch THIS space.
scrum cap7/29/2010 12:49 PM
@ Anti. I love your optimism, but bear in mind that the Aussies thumped the Boks last Saturday and we still have to beat them in this tournament. Perhaps it is a tad soon to be chuckling about their 2-0 loss to us?
Blue Jake7/29/2010 12:37 PM
Anybody wants to buy a Wallaby jersey? Try 'Sports Direct' outside Canal Walk. It's R699 but they currently have a half price special. Just got mine.
Spartan7/29/2010 12:34 PM
Best case scenario, several players injured\cited both teams make bad mistakes & lose confidence. Both McCaw & Pockock sent of for their normal cheating & cynical play, that would make my day. May both teams lose. At least they have a decent ref for a change.
Anti7/29/2010 12:31 PM
Sorry for the Aussies. Although they are a little bit better than they were last year, they are about to take a 3-0 hammering against the All Blacks and then come to SA for another 2-0 hiding. 5-0 Ouch!
Man in BLACK7/29/2010 12:23 PM
@Gaz, hey mate, remember just before the Springchumps flew into NZ and how you were saying that "when the Boks WIN they will have a pshycological edge over NZ", hmmmmmmmm, next year maybe Fiji might beat you like they almost did the last World Cup, hey, number 2 ranking isn't so bad is it?, who knows, maybe you might be 3rd but untill then watch this SPACE,
Gaz7/29/2010 11:46 AM
Kiwis to beat the Aussies on Sat and take the Tri Nations. But - Will choke next year in the RWC 2011.
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

Tyson hates my guts - Bolt

Victoria Azarenka collapses

Roger Federer chocolate ad

Front Row Grunt - Tank's blog

It's monstrous! It's the Leopards vs Pumas!

Featured Blog

John Mitchell, a world class, former All Black coach, has been released from his contract by the Western Force to coach the Lions. If there's one coach that can restore the Lion's roar it is John Mitchell, so says Lobo...

Vote

With a number of overplayed senior veterans like John Smit, Victor Matfield, Schalk Burger and Bryan Habana likely to be rested on the Boks' end-of-year tour, who would you like to see captain the team in their absence?

Who is your Hero?

Nominate your hero and win R10 000!

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Newsletters Sign up for Sport24's Morning Glory newsletter

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

Free email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.