Three changes to Baby Boks

2012-04-20 16:59
Dawie Theron (Gallo Images)
Cape Town - Baby Boks coach Dawie Theron has made three changes to the team that beat the Pumitas 51-19 in the first of their three matches, as his team chases a series win heading into the final game.

Sharks back utility back Paul Jordaan was included in the SA Under-20 starting line-up for the team’s third and final international clash against Argentina on Saturday at the Danie Craven in Stellenbosch.

Ettienne Oosthuizen and Martin Orie were also rewarded with a place in the starting lineup.

The Baby Boks will be hoping to build some momentum ahead of the 2012 Junior World Championship.

The Springbok Sevens international joined the team earlier in the week and he will do duty on the right wing in the Saturday clash which starts at 6pm. The stadium is one of two host venues for the IRB Junior World Championship 2012.

A first-choice SA U20 selection, excluding players unavailable because of injury and Super Rugby duties, easily beat the Pumitas 51-19 at the Markotter Stadium last weekend. On Tuesday a SA U20 XV, comprising mostly of Under-19 players, then forced a stronger and much more experienced Argentina to an exciting 23-23 draw at the same venue.

“The coaches had a good look at the players – during training and in the previous two matches – and this is the best available team we assemble. Our focus over the past few days have been primarily on keeping our structure and maintaining focus for the full duration of the match. If we do that then I believe we will have a very positive outcome,” said Theron.

Flanker Wian Liebenberg will again lead the team from the side of the scrum. Reserve winger JJ de Klerk has recovered fully from the bump against the head which saw him leaving the field as a precaution during last weekend’s opening clash.

SARU will announce the official SA U20 JWC squad on Wednesday.

The SA Under-20 team vs. Argentina on Saturday at 6pm in Stellenbosch is:

1. Allan Dell
2. Mark Pretorius
3. Nicolas van Dyk
4. Ettienne Oosthuizen
5. Marvin Orie
6. Khaya Majola
7. Wian Liebenberg
8. Fabian Booysen
9. Kevin Luiters
10. Tony Jantjies
11. Dean Hammond
12. Jan Serfontein
13. Patrick Howard
14. Paul Jordaan
15. Marius Schmidt

16. Neethling Fouche
17. Jason Thomas
18. Hencus van Dyk
19. Ruan Venter
20. Braam Steyn
21. Abrie Griesel
22. JJ de Klerk
23. Dylan Leyds


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
1 comment
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

SuperBru Super Rugby challenge

Enter and challenge Sport24's staff!


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Of the current crop of rugby commentators - across all languages - who is your favourite?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.