Taranaki crowned ITM champs

2014-10-25 11:27
Rhys Marshall (Getty Images)

Wellington - Taranaki were crowned New Zealand rugby champions on Saturday when they beat Tasman 36-32 in the premiership final at Yarrow Stadium in New Plymouth.

It was the first time since rugby turned professional in 1995 that the final involved two sides which do not host one of New Zealand's five Super rugby franchises.

The final capped a fairytale year for both sides, with Taranaki fortunate to avoid relegation last year when they finished second from bottom while Tasman, New Zealand's youngest union, were in the premiership for the first time.

Taranaki led 16-10 at half-time and raced to a 33-13 lead before Tasman fought back in the closing quarter.

Although Tasman outscored Taranaki four tries to three, Cody Rei made the difference for the new champions with 21 points off the boot from five penalties and three conversions.

New Zealand Maori captain Charlie Ngatai scored two tries for Taranaki with Rhys Marshall adding the third.

Tasman's points came from tries to Kieron Fonotia, Billy Guyton (two) and Pete Samu while Marty Banks kicked three conversions and two penalties.

Taranaki, who finished at the head of the table in the regular season, beat Auckland in the semi-finals while Tasman knocked out defending champions Canterbury.

Read more on:    rugby

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Did Stormers and Springboks lock Pieter-Steph du Toit deserve to be named SA Rugby Player of the Year?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.