LIVE

    Stormers face horror Super Rugby schedule

    2016-09-20 14:26

    Cape Town - The Stormers face a daunting schedule in next year's Super Rugby after the 2017 fixtures were released on Tuesday.

    Having played the five Australian teams in 2016, the Stormers, who topped the Africa 1 Conference this season, will now face the might of the five New Zealand franchises next season.

    The Stormers will play the Bulls at Newlands on Saturday, February 25 in their opening fixture and will conclude their campaign against the same opponents at Loftus Versfeld on Saturday, July 15.

    In between those matches, the Stormers face a proverbial tour from hell, with matches against the Crusaders, Highlanders and defending champion Hurricanes on consecutive weekends in New Zealand.

    In their two matches prior to departure, the Stormers will host the Chiefs and last year's losing finalists, the Lions, giving the Cape side five back-to-back matches that could make or break their season.

    It will be the second season for the 17-round, four-conference tournament structure that sees each team play 15 matches and have two byes.

    As in 2016, each team will play six matches within its own conference and nine matches against other conference teams.

    2017 Stormers Super Rugby fixtures:

    Saturday, February 25: Stormers v Bulls (Newlands)

    Saturday, March 4: Stormers v Jaguares (Newlands)

    Saturday, March 11: Southern Kings v Stormers (Port Elizabeth)

    BYE WEEKEND

    Saturday, March 25: Sunwolves v Stormers (Singapore)

    Saturday, April 1: Stormers v Cheetahs (Newlands)

    Saturday, April 8: Stormers v Chiefs (Newlands)

    Saturday, April 15: Stormers v  Lions (Newlands)

    Saturday, April 22: Crusaders v Stormers (Christchurch)

    Friday 28 April 28: Highlanders v Stormers (TBC)

    Friday, May 5: Hurricanes v Stormers (TBC)

    BYE WEEKEND

    Friday, May 19: Stormers v Blues (Newlands)

    Saturday, May 27: Sharks v Stormers (Durban)

    Saturday, July 1: Cheetahs v Stormers (Bloemfontein)

    Saturday, July 8: Stormers v Sunwolves (Newlands)

    Saturday, July 15: Bulls v Stormers (Pretoria)

    Super Rugby Qualifiers:                                      

    Friday, July 21                                                                    

    Friday, July 21                                                                     

    Saturday, July 22                                                               

    Saturday, July 22                                                             

    Super Rugby semi-finals:                                                                       

    Friday, July 28                                                                     

    Saturday, July 29                                                               

    Super Rugby final:                                                     

    Saturday, August 5

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy

    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk

    Fixtures

    Saturday, 17 February 2018
    • Stormers v Jaguares, Cape Town 15:05
    • Lions v Sharks, Emirates Airlines Park 17:15
    Friday, 23 February 2018
    • Highlanders v Blues, 08:35
    • Rebels v Reds, AAMI Park 10:45
    Saturday, 24 February 2018
    • Sunwolves v Brumbies, Prince Chichibu Memorial Stadium 06:15
    • Crusaders v Chiefs, 08:35
    • Waratahs v Stormers, Allianz Stadium 10:45
    • Lions v Jaguares, Emirates Airlines Park 15:05
    • Bulls v Hurricanes, Loftus Versfeld 17:15

    Results

    No results are available

    Logs

    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    The 2017 Super Rugby tournament has reached its quarter-final stage. When all is said and done, who emerges victorious?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    TAKE THE QUIZ
    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.