Get the Sport24 daily newsletter delivered to your Inbox!


    Waratahs win Melbourne derby

    2012-03-02 12:20
    Cape Town -The Waratahs produced a controlled performance to secure a bonus point and overcome an error-prone Melbourne Rebels 35-19 in a niggly Super Rugby clash that resulted in several off the ball scuffles on Friday.

    The Waratahs dominated the first 55 minutes to establish a 23-point lead then seemed to lower their intensity, allowing the Rebels to gain some momentum that was halted once Daniel Halangahu kicked a 70th minute penalty.

    "The first 50 minutes everything went to plan and we executed well but getting involved in that niggly stuff let them back in the game," Halangahu said.

    "It was really on out there and there was a lot of feeling... but I'm happy with the win."

    Inside centre Tom Carter scored two tries and tighthead prop Sekope Kepu notched his first Super Rugby try for the Waratahs, while flyhalf Halangahu added two conversions and fullback Bernard Foley slotted a penalty.

    Wallabies utility back James O'Connor, who moved to the Rebels in a controversial transfer from the Force at the end of last season, kicked two penalties in the first spell as the Waratahs went into the break with a handy 22-6 lead.

    Foley secured the Waratahs bonus point when he crossed after another sustained build-up from the Waratahs side, who then seemed to switch off after establishing the 29-6 lead.

    O'Connor added two more penalties and the Rebels forwards milked a penalty try, which also resulted in Waratahs' hooker Tatafu Polota-Nau being yellow carded, to make the scoreline closer than it should have been.

    Halangahu, who had kicked an earlier second half penalty before the Rebels' try, slotted another with 10 minutes remaining to make the victory safe.


    15 Mark Gerrard, 14 Lachlan Mitchell, 13 Mitch Inman, 12 James O'Connor, 11 Cooper Vuna, 10 Danny Cipriani, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Gareth Delve, 7 Tom Chamberlain, 6 Luke Jones, 5 Hugh Pyle, 4 Adam Byrnes, 3 Laurie Weeks, 2 Adam Freier, 1 Nic Henderson

    Substitutes: 16 Luke Holmes, 17 Rodney Blake, 18 Alister Campbell, 19 Jarrod Saffy, 20 Richard Kingi, 21 Lloyd Johansson, 22 Julian Huxley

    15. Adam Ashley-Cooper, 14. Tom Kingston, 13. Rob Horne, 12. Tom Carter, 11. Brackin Karauria-Henry, 10. Daniel Halangahu (captain), 9. Sarel Pretorius, 8. Wycliff Palu, 7. Chris Alcock, 6. Dave Dennis, 5. Kane Douglas, 4. Dean Mumm, 3. Sekope Kepu, 2. Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1. Benn Robinson

    Substitutes: 16. Damian Fitzpatrick, 17. Paddy Ryan, 18. Lopeti Timani, 19. Jono Jenkins, 20. Brendan McKibbin, 21. Bernard Foley, 22. Nathan Trist
    Read More On:  super 15

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk


    No results are available

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.