PSL roars back into action!

After a break for the FIFA internatinal window, the PSL is back in action this weekend with some mouth-watering fixtures! Have your say on our Forum!


    Stormers shift Kolisi to No 8

    2012-06-27 13:05
    Cape Town - Coach Allister Coetzee has named his Stormers team to take on the Lions at Newlands on Saturday. Kick-off is at 17:05.

    Joe Pietersen, Gio Aplon and Gerhard van den Heever will make up the back three, with Bryan Habana rested and playing from the bench.

    In the absence of Duane Vermeulen, Schalk Burger and Nick Koster (injury), and Rynardt Elstadt (suspension), WP loose forward Tyrone Holmes gets his first Stormers cap in the No 6 jersey, while Don Armand who has already played four games for the Stormers this season from the bench, gets his first start. Siya Kolisi starts at No 8, while Jebb Sinclair, who has just returned from international duty with Canada, provides cover from the bench.

    Andries Bekker and De Kock Steenkamp partner up at lock, with Quinn Roux providing cover from the bench. Eben Etzebeth (stiff ankle) is injured and was not included in the match 22.

    Frans Malherbe, Deon Fourie and Deon Carstens make up the front row, with Tiaan Liebenberg and Brok Harris providing cover from the bench. Steven Kitshoff, who featured prominently in the IRB Junior World Championships, is rested completely.

    With three league fixtures to play, the Stormers currently lead the South African Super Rugby Conference, five points ahead of the Bulls and nine ahead of the Sharks.

    The Chiefs currently lead the overall log, four points ahead of the second-placed Stormers. The Stormers' remaining fixtures are against the Lions (H), Cheetahs (A) and Rebels (H).



    15 Joe Pietersen, 14 Gio Aplon, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Jean de Villiers (captain), 11 Gerhard van den Heever, 10 Peter Grant, 9 Dewaldt Duvenage, 8 Siya Kolisi, 7 Don Armand, 6 Tyrone Holmes, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 De Kock Steenkamp, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Deon Fourie, 1 Deon Carstens

    Substitutes: 16 Tiaan Liebenberg, 17 Brok Harris, 18 Quinn Roux, 19 Jebb Sinclair, 20 Louis Schreuder, 21 Burton Francis, 22 Bryan Habana



    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Add your comment
    Comment 0 characters remaining
    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk
    Most Read


    02 August 2014
    26 July 2014
    19 July 2014
    12 July 2014
    11 July 2014
    06 July 2014
    05 July 2014
    04 July 2014
    28 June 2014
    27 June 2014
    31 May 2014
    30 May 2014
    24 May 2014
    23 May 2014
    18 May 2014
    17 May 2014
    16 May 2014
    11 May 2014
    10 May 2014
    09 May 2014
    03 May 2014
    02 May 2014
    26 April 2014
    25 April 2014
    19 April 2014
    18 April 2014
    12 April 2014
    11 April 2014
    05 April 2014
    04 April 2014
    29 March 2014
    28 March 2014
    22 March 2014
    21 March 2014
    15 March 2014
    14 March 2014
    08 March 2014
    07 March 2014
    01 March 2014
    28 February 2014
    23 February 2014
    22 February 2014
    21 February 2014
    15 February 2014


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Does the Waratahs' Super Rugby victory give the Wallabies an edge heading into the Rugby Championship?

    Monday Quiz Madness!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.