Get the Sport24 daily newsletter delivered to your Inbox!


    Stormers penalty try was correct call

    2015-03-09 08:47

    Cape Town - The penalty try awarded to the Stormers in their Super Rugby clash over the Sharks was the correct call made by referee Jaco Peyper, a law expert says.

    The Stormers received a penalty try in the 66th minute when Sharks scrumhalf Cobus Reinach played the ball from an off-side position in the in-goal area. It prevented Dillyn Leyds from scoring a try after Odwa Ndungane had knocked the ball on.

    There was confusion over whether a player can be adjudged off-side in the in-goal area, but according Rule 11.1 (b) of World Rugby's regulations, the off-side rule does exist in the in-goal area.

    Paul Dobson, a renowned rugby writer and law expert, confirmed to Netwerk24 that the correct call was made by Peyper.

    "The only thing that changes in the in-goal area where you can use your hands, is at a ruck or scrum. Odwa Ndungane knocked the ball on and there were two Stormers players who could have scored. The try would probably have been scored - therefore it is a penalty try," said Dobson.

    The Stormers won the match 29-13 at Newlands.

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk


    No results are available

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.