Rugby and more Rugby!

The Rugby Championship and Currie Cup are in full swing. Who are the early title favourites? Have your say on our Forum!


    Stormers name touring squad

    2014-03-01 13:27
    Cape Town - Stormers head coach Allister Coetzee has announced a 27-man squad for his team's four-match Super Rugby tour of Australasia.

    Centre Jean de Villiers will lead the squad abroad, a group that includes new Samoan star Sailosi Tagicakibau and the Japan-based Peter Grant, but excludes Argentinean lock Manuel Carizza.

    Carizza suffered a wrist injury in last night's gusty 19-18 win over the Hurricanes at Newlands and will be out of action for eight weeks.

    As a result, former WP Under-21 star Ruan Botha will travel with the squad, joining fit-again second row De Kock Steenkamp as one of the locking options in the 27-man group - alongside Rynhardt Elstadt and Michael Rhodes, who were both part of the 23-man squad last night.

    Coach Coetzee commented: "It's very unfortunate for Manuel - he tore ligaments in his wrist and he will be out for two months.

    "That said, Ruan has a great opportunity to get some game time after showing plenty of promise during our pre-season matches and, of course, it's great to have De Kock Steenkamp in the group too now that he's back to full fitness.

    "We're happy with last night's victory. We know we can still improve in many areas, but we're happy to be heading abroad with that 'W' behind our name and we will build on that in what will be a very challenging tour."

    The Stormers will depart for New Zealand on Sunday at lunch-time. The squad will fly - via Sydney - into Christchurch ahead of their opening tour match against the Crusaders next Saturday.

    Stormers touring squad (27):
    Gio Aplon
    Ruan Botha
    Schalk Burger
    Nizaam Carr
    Demetri Catrakilis
    Pat Cilliers
    Kurt Coleman
    Damian de Allende
    Jean de Villiers
    Rynhardt Elstadt
    Deon Fourie
    Peter Grant
    Nic Groom
    Brok Harris
    Oli Kebble
    Steven Kitshoff
    Siya Kolisi
    Tiaan Liebenberg
    Frans Malherbe
    Scarra Ntubeni
    Michael Rhodes
    Louis Schreuder
    De Kock Steenkamp
    Sailosi Tagicakibau
    Jaco Taute
    Kobus van Wyk
    Duane Vermeulen

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Add your comment
    Comment 0 characters remaining
    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk
    Most Read


    02 August 2014
    26 July 2014
    19 July 2014
    12 July 2014
    11 July 2014
    06 July 2014
    05 July 2014
    04 July 2014
    28 June 2014
    27 June 2014
    31 May 2014
    30 May 2014
    24 May 2014
    23 May 2014
    18 May 2014
    17 May 2014
    16 May 2014
    11 May 2014
    10 May 2014
    09 May 2014
    03 May 2014
    02 May 2014
    26 April 2014
    25 April 2014
    19 April 2014
    18 April 2014
    12 April 2014
    11 April 2014
    05 April 2014
    04 April 2014
    29 March 2014
    28 March 2014
    22 March 2014
    21 March 2014
    15 March 2014
    14 March 2014
    08 March 2014
    07 March 2014
    01 March 2014
    28 February 2014
    23 February 2014
    22 February 2014
    21 February 2014
    15 February 2014


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Does the Waratahs' Super Rugby victory give the Wallabies an edge heading into the Rugby Championship?

    Monday Quiz Madness!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.