Get the Sport24 daily newsletter delivered to your Inbox!


    Stormers fullback in hot water

    2015-06-14 08:30

    Cape Town - Stormers fullback Robert du Preez has been cited for alleged foul play following his side’s 34-12 Super Rugby loss to the Sharks in Durban on Saturday night.

    READ: Sharks centre cited

    Du Preez is alleged to have contravened Law 10.4 (j) - Lifting Tackle - in an incident which occurred in the 76th minute of the match at Kings Park.

    The referee for the match, Glen Jackson, issued a yellow card for the incident. Upon further review of the match footage, the citing commissioner deemed in his opinion the incident had met the red card threshold for foul play.

    The citing is to be considered in the first instance by SANZAR Duty Judicial Officer (DJO) Nigel Hampton.

    All SANZAR disciplinary matters are in the first instance referred to a DJO hearing to provide the option of expediting the judicial process.

    For a matter to be dispensed with at this hearing, the person appearing must plead guilty and accept the penalty offered by the DJO.

    Read More On:  stormers super 15 cape town rugby

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk
    Most Read


    No results are available

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.