Sign-up for the latest, breaking news!


    Stormers bank on rookie pivot

    2011-02-23 13:31
    Cape Town - Rookie Stormers flyhalf Gary van Aswegen will start at No 10 against the Lions, while the more experienced Peter Grant has been selected on the bench for the Cape side's opening Vodacom Super Rugby match on Saturday.

    Kick-off is at 19:10.

    VIDEO: Peter Grant returns from Japan

    Stormers coach Allister Coetzee said he felt Van Aswegen was the "logical" choice to start ahead of first-choice flyhalf Peter Grant, especially as the rookie had played in the warm-up matches.

    Grant started training with the team in Cape Town this week after returning from a stint in Japan.

    "Gary knows the (playing) systems and he's given a good account of himself in the pre-season matches," said Coetzee.

    "He's in the right place in terms of development at this moment."

    Coetzee said Grant would start on the bench, along with Springbok midfielder Juan de Jongh.

    The Stormers boast three word-class centres in De Jongh, Jean de Villiers and Jaque Fourie.

    "I'd rather have Fourie starting out than coming off the bench," Coetzee said.

    "He's back from an injury lay-off and his conditioning has gone well. If something goes wrong, we'd rather find out sooner than later.

    "I'm sure that when De Jongh comes off the bench he'll make a big impact."

    Coetzee said it was important for the Stormers, who had a bye in the first round of the competition last week, to start well in the new Super Rugby series.

    "You cannot afford to lag behind (on the log) and since it's a home game, it's one that we are expected to win," said Coetzee.

    "This team is highly motivated to win home games."



    15 Conrad Jantjes, 14 Danie Poolman, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Gary van Aswegen, 9 Ricky Januarie, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Francois Louw, 6 Schalk Burger (captain), 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Rynhardt Elstadt, 3 Brok Harris, 2 Deon Fourie, 1 CJ van der Linde

    Substitutes: 16 Siyabonga Ntubeni, 17 Frans Malherbe, 18 De Kock Steenkamp, 19 Pieter Louw, 20 Dewaldt Duvenage, 21 Peter Grant, 22 Juan de Jongh


    Read More On:  super 15

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    • Blitz
      Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @00:00
    • SS1
      Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @01:00
    • SS2
      Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @02:00
    • SS3
      Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @03:00
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk
    Most Read


    04 July 2015
    27 June 2015
    20 June 2015
    13 June 2015
    12 June 2015
    06 June 2015
    05 June 2015
    30 May 2015
    29 May 2015
    23 May 2015
    22 May 2015
    16 May 2015
    15 May 2015
    09 May 2015
    08 May 2015
    02 May 2015
    01 May 2015
    26 April 2015
    25 April 2015
    24 April 2015
    18 April 2015
    17 April 2015
    11 April 2015
    10 April 2015
    04 April 2015
    03 April 2015
    28 March 2015
    27 March 2015
    22 March 2015
    21 March 2015
    20 March 2015
    14 March 2015
    13 March 2015
    07 March 2015
    06 March 2015
    28 February 2015
    27 February 2015
    21 February 2015
    20 February 2015
    15 February 2015
    14 February 2015
    13 February 2015


    “Craig Joubert deserves plaudits for making a gutsy call against the home side in the Super Rugby semis, writes Herman Mostert.”

    Opinion Poll

    Super Rugby is a thing of the past. Next up: The Rugby Championship. Who will emerge victorious this season?

    Monday Quiz Madness!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.