Get the Sport24 daily newsletter delivered to your Inbox!


    Steyn cleared of tip-tackle!

    2015-03-23 15:24

    Cape Town - A SANZAR judicial hearing has found Francois Steyn of the Sharks not guilty of contravening Law 10.4 (j) (lifting tackling), after he was sent off in a Super Rugby match at the weekend.

    The incident occurred in the 28th minute of the match between the Sharks and Chiefs at Kings Park on Saturday.

    Jannie Lubbe chaired the hearing on Monday morning, with De Wet Barry attending as the judicial technical adviser, being a former professional player.

    "After careful consideration of video evidence, including additional video evidence and still frames submitted by the legal representative of Francois Steyn, Gerrie Swart, as well as the oral explanation of Steyn, it was concluded that Steyn did not act in breach of Law 10.4 (j)," Lubbe ruled in his finding.

    "It was also found that two other Sharks players were involved in the tackle and that one of the players, Cobus Reinach, played a significant part in what appeared to be a serious and dangerous tackle.

    "A detailed analysis of the execution of the tackle by Steyn clearly showed that he executed a perfectly legitimate tackle on Aaron Cruden, but that the intervention of his teammates applying additional and external forces to the dynamic tackle situation resulted in what the referee deemed to be a breach of Law 10.4 (j).

    "This decision is not meant to be critical of the match officials who had to take and make their decision on the field of play without the benefit I had of additional video material and submissions by legal counsel.

    "The referee and his assistant on the available evidence at their disposal came to the conclusion that Cruden got lifted in the tackle by Steyn and made contact with the ground with his head first.

    "The video material before me clearly shows that Cruden made contact with the ground first with his right hand and upper arm, followed by shoulder and back.

    "The momentum of the tackle then caused him to roll so that his head and neck made contact with the ground.

    "As a result of this finding, the red card will be expunged from the player's record."  

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk
    Most Read


    No results are available

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.