Get the Sport24 daily newsletter delivered to your Inbox!


    Steenkamp to start for Bulls

    2012-05-22 10:20
    Cape Town - Vodacom Bulls lock Wilhelm Steenkamp will start at lock in his side’s final Super Rugby tour match against the Chiefs in Hamilton on Friday.

    The 46-capped player will swop places with regular lock Juandré Kruger in the only change to the side that came up short against the Highlanders in Dunedin last weekend.

    Kruger will play off the bench in this rotational switch, with Steenkamp, who started against the Lions in week eight, combining with Flip van der Merwe in the engine room.

    Dewald Potgieter and CJ Stander, who sustained injuries in the 16-11 defeat in the Forsyth Barr Stadium, has recovered and will take their places in the loose trio.

    “We have a rotational policy and have a buy-in from all the players about it. Wilhelm has played very well of the bench this far in the competition, so I have no problem in starting him. Juandré will obviously play an important role as substitute, which will be crucial against a classy side like the Chiefs,” Ludeke said.

    “They are a very difficult side to play against, especially now that their set piece has improved. This helps them to play an all round game and we will have to be on the money with our execution if we want to achieve a result. They are not pace setters for nothing”, Ludeke said.

    Vodacom Bulls captain Pierre Spies is keen to end the tour on a high.

    “Our work is not done and a good result will make this tour a very successful one. We disappointed ourselves against the Highlanders by not using our opportunities and need to get it right this time around. We will have to be up for it against a very respectable opponent.”




    Bulls: 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Akona Ndungane, 13 Johann Sadie, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 Bjorn Basson, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Francois Hougaard, 8 Pierre Spies (captain), 7 CJ Stander, 6 Dewald Potgieter, 5 Wilhelm Steenkamp, 4 Flip van der Merwe, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 1 Dean Greyling

    Substitutes: 16 Willie Wepener, 17 Rayno Gerber, 18 Juandré Kruger, 19 Arno Botha, 20 Jano Vermaak, 21 Louis Fouché, 22 JJ Engelbrecht

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.