Smith back to lead Cheetahs

    2011-02-23 18:04
    Bloemfontein - They say one man does not necessarily make a team, but when it comes to the Cheetahs, things work a bit differently.

    This is why, after they lost their opener against the Sharks in Durban, the Super Rugby clouds were hovering above Bloemfontein in a dark imposing fashion. All until today that is.

    The return of captain Juan Smith to the starting line-up could not come at a better time for the Cheetahs, who have been struggling with a number of key injuries and face the defending champion Bulls in the key Friday night clash of Round two of the competition.

    Smith may not be a superman, but in terms of the Cheetahs he is the talisman who inspires them to greater heights. With him they are a tough side to beat, without him a significant difference in leadership can be seen.

    So there would have been a sigh of relief all across Central South Africa when Naka Drotske announced he would take up the captaincy again.

    With stand-in skipper Adriaan Strauss injured, and the possibility of a young and inexperienced captain as replacement, Drotske won’t be the only one hoping Smith can weave his magic when the Bulls arrive.

    Smith’s return is one of three changes to the team, as he replaces Phillip van der Walt on the side of the scrum and takes the captaincy back from Strauss. Ryno Barnes comes in for Strauss at hooker with veteran Skipper Badenhorst on the bench to cover the hooking position.

    The other change comes at lock, where the Cheetahs pair are to face a baptism of fire against the Bok lock pairing of Victor Matfield and Bakkies Botha. Ex-Bull Wilhelm Steenkamp will line up alongside Waltie Vermeulen with Francois Uys dropping to the bench.

    Steenkamp spent a few seasons studying under Matfield and Friday night will be his first chance to try and prove that the student can also become the master.

    Cheetahs: 15 Hennie Daniller, 14 Philip Burger, 13 Robert Ebersohn, 12 Andries Strauss, 11 Ryno Benjamin, 10 Naas Olivier 9 Sarel Pretorius, 8 Kabamba Floors, 7 Juan Smith (captain), 6 Frans Viljoen, 5 Wilhelm Steenkamp, 4 Waltie Vermeulen, 3 WP Nel, 2 Rayno Barnes, 1 Coenie Oosthuizen.

    Replacements: 16 Skipper Badenhorst, 17 Kobus Calldo, 18 Francois Uys, 19 Ashley Johnson, 20 Tewis de Bruyn, 21 Sias Ebersohn, 22 Riaan Viljoen.

    Read More On:  super 15 juan smith

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Add your comment
    Comment 0 characters remaining
    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk
    Most Read


    13 February 2015
    • Crusaders v Melbourne Rebels, Christchurch 08:35
    • Brumbies v Reds, Canberra 10:40
    • Lions v Hurricanes, Johannesburg 19:10
    14 February 2015
    • Blues v Chiefs, Albany 08:35
    • Sharks v Cheetahs, Durban 17:05
    • Bulls v Stormers, Pretoria 19:10
    15 February 2015
    • Waratahs v Western Force, Sydney 07:05


    02 August 2014
    26 July 2014
    19 July 2014
    12 July 2014
    11 July 2014
    06 July 2014
    05 July 2014
    04 July 2014
    28 June 2014
    27 June 2014
    31 May 2014
    30 May 2014
    24 May 2014
    23 May 2014
    18 May 2014
    17 May 2014
    16 May 2014
    11 May 2014
    10 May 2014
    09 May 2014
    03 May 2014
    02 May 2014
    26 April 2014
    25 April 2014
    19 April 2014
    18 April 2014
    12 April 2014
    11 April 2014
    05 April 2014
    04 April 2014
    29 March 2014
    28 March 2014
    22 March 2014
    21 March 2014
    15 March 2014
    14 March 2014
    08 March 2014
    07 March 2014
    01 March 2014
    28 February 2014
    23 February 2014
    22 February 2014
    21 February 2014
    15 February 2014


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Does the Waratahs' Super Rugby victory give the Wallabies an edge heading into the Rugby Championship?

    Monday Quiz Madness!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.