Sharks want Steyn in playoffs

    2012-07-12 08:12
    Cape Town - The Sharks have issued a request to SANZAR to allow them to pick Springbok Frans Steyn should they make the Super Rugby playoffs, according to Beeld.

    SANZAR rules stipulate that only players registered before April 1 are allowed to play in the knockout phase of the competition. This means that Steyn, who only recently joined the Sharks from French club Racing Metro, is not eligible to play in the latter stages of the competition.

    He played his first game against the Bulls last week, with his contract at the Sharks starting from July 1.

    However, there is a slim chance that inside centre Steyn might be allowed to play should the Durbanites reach the playoffs, which start next weekend. There's a rule which states that a player who's not contracted could play in an extreme scenario - if there are so many injuries that no contracted player is fit to be utilised.

    The Sharks are struggling at centre with Paul Jordaan and Marius Joubert still injured. Tim Whitehead and Meyer Bosman are available though. Whitehead partnered Steyn in midfield against the Bulls last week, with Bosman on the bench.

    Sharks have tried their luck with the request even though it's highly unlikely that SANZAR will budge and allow Steyn to play. It would also cause somewhat of an uproar in Cape Town after SANZAR earlier this week denied a request from the Stormers to utilise Canadian loose forward Jebb Sinclair in the playoffs.

    The Capetonians are set to play in the semi-finals without loose forwards Duane Vermeulen, Schalk Burger, Nick Koster and Nizaam Carr. This has forced coach Allister Coetzee to pick regular hooker Deon Fourie at No 8 for their clash this weekend against the Rebels. They had hoped for Sinclair to be made available for the knockout phases.

    The Sharks are currently in sixth position on the overall log - the last playoff berth - and a good win over the Cheetahs in Durban on Saturday (17:05 kick-off) should see them stay in contention.



    15 Willie le Roux, 14 Nico Scheepers, 13 Robert Ebersohn, 12 Barry Geel, 11 Philip Snyman, 10 Riaan Smit, 9 Piet van Zyl, 8 Boom Prinsloo, 7 Pieter Labuschagne, 6 Heinrich Brüssow, 5 Izak van der Westhuizen, 4 Andries Ferreira, 3 WP Nel, 2 Adriaan Strauss (captain), 1 Trevor Nyakane

    Substitutes: 16 Hercu Liebenberg, 17 Marcel van der Merwe, 18 Waltie Vermeulen, 19 Ashley Johnson, 20 Jacques Coetzee, 21 Sias Ebersohn, 22 Andries Strauss

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Add your comment
    Comment 0 characters remaining
    Live Video Streaming
    • Blitz
      Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @00:00
    • SS1
      Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @01:00
    • SS2
      Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @02:00
    • SS3
      Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @03:00
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk


    26 April 2015
    • Reds v Hurricanes, Suncorp Stadium 08:05
    01 May 2015
    • Highlanders v Sharks, Forsyth Barr Stadium 09:35
    • Brumbies v Waratahs, GIO Stadium 11:40
    02 May 2015
    • Blues v Force, Eden Park 07:30
    • Hurricanes v Crusaders, Westpac Stadium 09:35
    • Rebels v Chiefs, AAMI Park 11:40
    • Cheetahs v Stormers, Free State Stadium 17:05
    • Bulls v Lions, Loftus Versfeld 19:10


    25 April 2015
    24 April 2015
    18 April 2015
    17 April 2015
    11 April 2015
    10 April 2015
    04 April 2015
    03 April 2015
    28 March 2015
    27 March 2015
    22 March 2015
    21 March 2015
    20 March 2015
    14 March 2015
    13 March 2015
    07 March 2015
    06 March 2015
    28 February 2015
    27 February 2015
    21 February 2015
    20 February 2015
    15 February 2015
    14 February 2015
    13 February 2015


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    The South African Conference is up for grabs after Round 9 of action. Who do you see finishing top when all is said and done?

    Monday Quiz Madness!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.