Rugby and more Rugby!

The Rugby Championship and Currie Cup are in full swing. Who are the early title favourites? Have your say on our Forum!


    Sharks unchanged for Lions

    2014-03-06 09:03
    Durban -  The Cell C Sharks team remains unchanged for this Saturday’s Super Rugby clash with the Lions at Kings Park to mark the same line-up for three games in succession, reports Sharks website editor Michael Marnewick.

    Being able to name the same team from one week to the next is a rare luxury for a coach, never mind this being the third match in a row where director of rugby, Jake White, has been able to stick with the same side that defeated the Bulls in week one and the Hurricanes the week after that.

    They’ve had a bye week in which to rest up briefly, recharge and allow sore muscles to heal, and now face a determined Lions side that will travel to Durban intent on proving that the first two weeks when they saw off the Cheetahs and Stormers were meaningful victories.

    Their defeat to the Bulls last weekend meant they were unable to leap-frog the Sharks on the South African Conference log, but they have another opportunity to do so this week. The Sharks, despite not playing and not picking up any log points (SANZAR no longer awards teams points during their byes), remained on top of the SA Conference, and will hope to give a good enough display to ensure both that they remain there and prove why they should be there.

    The Lions, in fourth spot on the overall log, are just one log point off the Sharks who find themselves in second place overall, behind the leading Waratahs who have maximum points from their two games and certainly a team that is proving dangerous this season.

    Kick-off is at 19:10 on Saturday.



    15. SP Marais, 14. Odwa Ndungane, 13. Paul Jordaan, 12. Frans Steyn, 11. Lwazi Mvovo, 10. Patrick Lambie, 9. Cobus Reinach, 8. Ryan Kankowski, 7. Willem Alberts, 6. Marcell Coetzee, 5. Pieter-Steph du Toit, 4. Anton Bresler, 3. Jannie du Plessis, 2. Bismarck du Plessis (captain), 1. Tendai Mtawarira

    Substitutes: 16. Kyle Cooper, 17. Dale Chadwick, 18. Lourens Adriaanse, 19. Stephan Lewies, 20. Jean Deysel, 21. Charl McLeod, 22. Heimar Williams, 23. S’bura Sithole



    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Add your comment
    Comment 0 characters remaining
    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk
    Most Read


    02 August 2014
    26 July 2014
    19 July 2014
    12 July 2014
    11 July 2014
    06 July 2014
    05 July 2014
    04 July 2014
    28 June 2014
    27 June 2014
    31 May 2014
    30 May 2014
    24 May 2014
    23 May 2014
    18 May 2014
    17 May 2014
    16 May 2014
    11 May 2014
    10 May 2014
    09 May 2014
    03 May 2014
    02 May 2014
    26 April 2014
    25 April 2014
    19 April 2014
    18 April 2014
    12 April 2014
    11 April 2014
    05 April 2014
    04 April 2014
    29 March 2014
    28 March 2014
    22 March 2014
    21 March 2014
    15 March 2014
    14 March 2014
    08 March 2014
    07 March 2014
    01 March 2014
    28 February 2014
    23 February 2014
    22 February 2014
    21 February 2014
    15 February 2014


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Does the Waratahs' Super Rugby victory give the Wallabies an edge heading into the Rugby Championship?

    Monday Quiz Madness!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.