Sign-up for the latest, breaking news!


    Sharks name final S15 squad

    2013-02-19 14:14
    John Plumtree (File)
    Durban - The Sharks squad to play in this year’s Super Rugby tournament shows no great surprises with two players drafted in from outside, a couple of new faces that have been in the system and the familiar faces we all know.

    According to Sharks website editor Michael Marnewick, a settled squad is exactly what the Sharks present this year, with Franco van der Merwe and Butch James having represented the Lions previously - although James spent the bulk of his career with The Sharks as the only newcomers.

    Allan Dell has shown good early form and has been in the system for some time, so it is a natural progression for this youngster who can play on either side of the front row. He is joined by another youngster, Pieter-Steph du Toit, who represented The Sharks last year before a season-ending injury. Du Toit was part of the victorious SA Under-20 side that won the IRB Junior World Championships and will serve the Sharks at lock and loose forward.

    Kyle Cooper, Monde Hadebe, Paul Jordaan, Jandre Marais, Peet Marais, Tera Mtembu, Cobus Reinach, Sibusiso Sithole, Riaan Viljoen and Tim Whitehead may not be established stars, but they have been in the system for a season or two and now boast valuable experience for the Sharks.

    The squad is rounded off by all the old familiar faces: world champions, Springboks and crowd favourites, all focused on delivering a great season ahead.

    The Sharks open their campaign against the Cheetahs in Bloemfontein on Saturday. Kick-off is at 17:05.

    Sharks 2013 squad

    Willem Alberts
    Meyer Bosman
    Jacques Botes
    Anton Bresler
    Craig Burden
    Dale Chadwick
    Marcell Coetzee
    Kyle Cooper
    Keegan Daniel
    Allan Dell
    Jean Deysel
    Bismarck du Plessis
    Jannie du Plessis
    Pieter-Steph du Toit
    Monde Hadebe
    Wiehahn Herbst
    Butch James
    Paul Jordaan
    Ryan Kankowski
    Pat Lambie
    Louis Ludik
    Jandre Marais
    Peet Marais
    Charl McLeod
    Tendai Mtawarira
    Lubabalo Mtembu
    Lwazi Mvovo
    Odwa Ndungane
    JP Pietersen
    Cobus Reinach
    Sibusiso Sithole
    Francois Steyn
    Franco van der Merwe
    Riaan Viljoen
    Tim Whitehead
    Read More On:  sharks super 15 durban rugby

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    • Blitz
      Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @00:00
    • SS1
      Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @01:00
    • SS2
      Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @02:00
    • SS3
      Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @03:00
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk


    04 July 2015
    27 June 2015
    20 June 2015
    13 June 2015
    12 June 2015
    06 June 2015
    05 June 2015
    30 May 2015
    29 May 2015
    23 May 2015
    22 May 2015
    16 May 2015
    15 May 2015
    09 May 2015
    08 May 2015
    02 May 2015
    01 May 2015
    26 April 2015
    25 April 2015
    24 April 2015
    18 April 2015
    17 April 2015
    11 April 2015
    10 April 2015
    04 April 2015
    03 April 2015
    28 March 2015
    27 March 2015
    22 March 2015
    21 March 2015
    20 March 2015
    14 March 2015
    13 March 2015
    07 March 2015
    06 March 2015
    28 February 2015
    27 February 2015
    21 February 2015
    20 February 2015
    15 February 2015
    14 February 2015
    13 February 2015


    “Craig Joubert deserves plaudits for making a gutsy call against the home side in the Super Rugby semis, writes Herman Mostert.”

    Opinion Poll

    Super Rugby is a thing of the past. Next up: The Rugby Championship. Who will emerge victorious this season?

    Monday Quiz Madness!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.