Send us your Two Oceans pics!

Will you be taking part in the Two Oceans Marathon? If so, send your pics to - and we'll include you in our gallery!


    Pietersen steers Sharks home

    2011-05-28 19:07
    Post a comment
    Herman Mostert

    Cape Town - A brilliant individual try from wing JP Pietersen has enabled the Sharks to claim a come-from-behind 26-21 win over the Waratahs at Kings Park in Durban.

    The Waratahs were in control of proceedings, leading 21-13 midway through the second half, when their fullback Kurtley Beale stepped brilliantly to break the Sharks line. However, he threw a wild pass which landed in Pietersen's hands, and he sprinted almost 60 metres to score in the corner.

    Suddenly, the Sharks seemed to have a new lease of life, looking energised as their forwards slowly started to dominate their Australian opponents.

    The brilliant Pietersen, was duly awarded with the man-of-the match award.

    The Sharks led 13-11 at halftime.

    Earlier, in the first half, Sharks flyhalf Patrick Lambie scored a brilliant try similar to the one he scored in last year's Currie Cup final against Western Province.

    Lambie converted both tries, and also kicked four penalties in a personal tally of 21 points.

    Wing Lachie Turner and flyhalf Daniel Halangahu scored for the Waratahs, while Beale kicked three penalties and a conversion.

    This win ensures the Sharks will stay in second position in the South African conference, seven points ahead of the third placed Bulls, who play the Cheetahs at Loftus Versfeld later on Saturday. It also lifted the Durbanites into fifth position on the overall combined Super Rugby log.

    The Waratahs are now sixth on the overall log, still second in the Australian conference, eight points behind the high-flying Reds, who host the Crusaders in a blockbuster clash on Sunday.

    And, with a clash against the resurging Bulls at Loftus Versfeld looming next week, it will take a monumental effort from the Australians to now reach the play-offs.



    Sharks: 15. Louis Ludik, 14. JP Pietersen, 13. Stefan Terblanche, 12. Meyer Bosman, 11. Lwazi Mvovo, 10. Patrick Lambie, 9. Conrad Hoffmann, 8. Keegan Daniel, 7. Jean Deysel, 6. Jacques Botes, 5. Alistair Hargreaves, 4. Steven Sykes, 3. Eugene van Staden, 2. Bismarck du Plessis, 1. John Smit (captain)

    Substitutes: 16. Tendai Mtawarira, 17. Wiehahn Herbst, 18. Gerhard Mostert, 19. Willem Alberts, 20. Charl McLeod, 21. Jacques-Louis Potgieter, 22. Riaan Swanepoel


    15 Kurtley Beale, 14 Lachie Turner, 13 Ryan Cross, 12 Tom Carter, 11 Sosene Anesi, 10 Daniel Halangahu, 9 Luke Burgess, 8 Ben Mowen, 7 Chris Alcock, 6 Dave Dennis, 5 Sitaleki Timani, 4 Dean Mumm (captain), 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1 Benn Robinson

    Substitutes: 16 John Ulugia, 17 Al Baxter, 18 Pat O'Connor, 19 Hugh Perrett, 20 Brendan McKibbin, 21 Ben Batger, 22 Atieli Pakalani

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Add your comment
    Comment 0 characters remaining
    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk


    25 April 2014
    • Blues v Waratahs, Auckland 07:35
    • Brumbies v Chiefs, Canberra 09:40
    • Sharks v Highlanders, Durban 19:10
    26 April 2014
    • Hurricanes v Reds, Wellington 09:35
    • Western Force v Bulls, Perth 11:40
    • Cheetahs v Stormers, Bloemfontein 17:05
    02 May 2014
    • Blues v Reds, Auckland 09:35
    • Melbourne Rebels v Sharks, Melbourne 11:40


    19 April 2014
    18 April 2014
    12 April 2014
    11 April 2014
    05 April 2014
    04 April 2014
    29 March 2014
    28 March 2014
    22 March 2014
    21 March 2014
    15 March 2014
    14 March 2014
    08 March 2014
    07 March 2014
    01 March 2014
    28 February 2014
    23 February 2014
    22 February 2014
    21 February 2014
    15 February 2014


    Rank Team P W Pts


    “The Sharks as SA’s lone playoffs side for the first time in Super Rugby’s conference format is a fair possibility, warns Rob Houwing.”

    Opinion Poll

    While the Sharks look like sure winners of the SA Super Rugby Conference, the "battle" for the wooden spoon could well develop into a four-team race. Who eventually props up the table?

    Monday Quiz Madness!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.