Get the Sport24 daily newsletter delivered to your Inbox!


    Oosthuizen back for Cheetahs

    2012-03-06 12:47
    Coenie Oosthuizen (File)

    Bloemfontein - Cheetahs coach Naka Drotske has included stalwart Coenie Oosthuizen in his starting team for their Super Rugby clash against the Brumbies on Saturday.

    The Cheetahs left for Australasia in the wake of a hammering by the Bulls in Bloemfontein, where the home side was demolished by a far stronger pack.

    The Cheetahs' forwards failed to make any real impact against the men from Pretoria, and Oosthuizen's inclusion was in the hope of trying to lift the pack to new heights as he did in last season's Currie Cup campaign.

    The youngster played a vital role in the rucks and mauls and, no doubt, would be used by the coach in a mauling tactic against the Brumbies.

    Trevor Nyakane, who struggled in the scrums against the Bulls, has been demoted to the bench.

    Griquas lock George Earl gets his first Super Rugby start for the Cheetahs, with Andries Ferreira unable to make the trip abroad because of his studies.

    Drotske also promoted Ashley Johnson ahead of flank Davon Raubenheimer, who could make more impact from the bench.

    Raubenheimer did not impress in the second round, while Johnson's appearance was too little too late.

    The latter's physical presence, however, will give the Cheetahs some needed edge around the breakdowns and his sniping runs could give a playmaker like flyhalf Johan Goosen good quality ball.

    Drotske also included Shimlas' wing Cameron Jacobs in place of Rocco Jansen, while Rayno Benjamin is included on the bench. Should he play, it would be Benjamin's first taste of Super Rugby this year.





    15 Hennie Daniller, 14 Cameron Jacobs, 13 Robert Ebersohn, 12 Philip Snyman, 11 Willie le Roux, 10 Johan Goosen, 9 Tewis de Bruyn, 8 Ashley Johnson, 7 Philip van der Walt, 6 Heinrich Brussow, 5 Izak van der Westhuizen, 4 George Earl, 3 WP Nel, 2 Adriaan Strauss (captain), 1 Coenie Oosthuizen

    Substitutes: 16 Trevor Nyakane, 17 Hercu Liebenberg, 18 Davon Raubenheimer, 19 Justin Downey, 20 Piet van Zyl, 21 Sias Ebersohn, 22 Rayno Benjamin

    Read More On:  super 15 coenie oosthuizen

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk
    Most Read


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.