Get the Sport24 daily newsletter delivered to your Inbox!


    No Alberts, Lambie for Sharks

    2012-07-04 17:26
    Durban - Springbok pair Willem Alberts and Patrick Lambie both failed late fitness tests on Wednesday and were left out of the Sharks team to play the Bulls in a crucial Super Rugby encounter in Durban on Friday.

    GALLERY: Sharks gear up for the Bulls

    However, there was a debut start for another Bok Frans Steyn after he was named in midfield.

    Loose forward Alberts and utility back Lambie suffered injuries while on duty with South Africa against England last month - the former with a problem to his knee and the latter a twisted ankle.

    It means that John Plumtree’s side sports five changes to the one that did duty in their last encounter before the June international break when they went down to the Lions in Johannesburg.

    Louis Ludik takes over from Lambie at fullback, while Steyn, who moved back to the Sharks after spending two-and-a-half years at French club Racing Metro, partners Tim Whitehead in midfield.

    JP Pietersen shifts to his more familiar wing position, with Odwa Ndungane and Meyer Bosman dropping to the bench.

    Among the forwards, Ryan Kankowski fills in for Alberts and Pieter-Steph du Toit takes the place of Steven Sykes, another player who failed a late fitness test on Wednesday, alongside junior Springbok centre Paul Jordaan.

    The hosts have to win the game at Kings Park if they are to maintain interest in the competition.

    They currently lie eighth on the overall log on 49 points, five behind the fourth-placed Bulls (54)

    "It’s another crucial game for both sides," said Plumtree.

    "Both need the win, so it’s finals rugby all over again for us. Victory is key."



    15 Louis Ludik, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Tim Whitehead, 12 Francois Steyn, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Frederic Michalak,9 Charl McLeod, 8 Ryan Kankowski, 7 Marcell Coetzee, 6 Keegan Daniel (captain), 5 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 4 Anton Bresler, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira

    Substitutes: 16 Craig Burden, 17 Wiehahn Herbst, 18 Jandre Marais, 19 Jean Deysel, 20 Cobus Reinach, 21 Meyer Bosman, 22 Odwa Ndungane


    15  Zane Kirchner, 14 Akona Ndungane, 13 JJ Engelbrecht, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 Bjorn Basson, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Francois Hougaard, 8 Pierre Spies (captain), 7 Jacques Potgieter, 6 Dewald Potgieter, 5 Juandre Kruger, 4 Flip van der Merwe, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 1 Dean Greyling

    Substitutes: 16 Willie Wepener, 17 Frik Kirsten, 18 Wilhelm Steenkamp, 19 CJ Stander, 20 Jano Vermaak, 21 Louis Fouche, 22 Francois Venter

    What To Read Next

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk


    No results are available

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.