Get the Sport24 daily newsletter delivered to your Inbox!


    More injury woes for Stormers

    2011-05-18 10:17
    Auckland - Allister Coetzee was today forced to name a side to take on the Blues in Auckland with a number of senior players out to injury.

    The centre pairing of Jaque Fourie and Jean De Villiers are both out with a groin strain and chest muscle injury respectively. Whilst Jean De Villiers is consulting a specialist, Jaque Fourie is expected to be fit for next week’s match against the Brumbies. De Villiers and Fourie are replaced this week by Juan De Jongh and Johann Sadie. “Sadie is an out an out 13 and can also cover wing, whilst Juan can play both 12 and 13.” Said Allister Coetzee. “Whilst they do not have much experience together as a combination, Juan is an international and Sadie has that x factor. The players and team are excited about the possibilities.” Added the coach.

    In other changes Peter Grant who has not recovered from an ankle strain is replaced by Lionel Cronje. Grant is expected to be available next week again for selection. In a tactical change CJ Van Der Linde replaces Brok Harris who moves to the bench.

    A 5/2 bench split has been selected with the possibility of on and off rain on the weekend. Danie Poolman covers wing and Duvenage 9 and 10. Nick Koster also returns from injury in jersey 22.

    “The Blues are playing great rugby and top their conference at the moment. It’s going to be a big game and despite the injury concerns we are focussed, motivated and excited as a team.” Said Coetzee.

    The game kicks off at 09h35 on Friday.

    The team to play is:

    15. Conrad Jantjes
    14. Gio Aplon
    13. Johann Sadie
    12. Juan de Jongh
    11. Bryan Habana
    10. Lionel Cronje
    9. Ricky Januarie
    8. Duane Vermeulen
    7. Francois Louw
    6. Schalk Burger (Capt)
    5. Andries Bekker
    4. Rynhardt Elstadt
    3. CJ van der Linde
    2. Deon Fourie
    1. Wicus Blaauw


    16. Tiaan Liebenberg
    17. Brok Harris
    18. Steven Kitshoff
    19. Anton Van Zyl
    20. Dewaldt Duvenage
    21. Danie Poolman
    22. Nick Koster

    Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

    Comment on this story
    Comments have been closed for this article.
    Live Video Streaming
    • Blitz
      Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @00:00
    • SS1
      Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @01:00
    • SS2
      Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @02:00
    • SS3
      Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @03:00
    Video Highlights
    Sport Talk
    Most Read


    No results are available


    Rank Team P W Pts

    Opinion Poll

    Which South African franchise stands the best chance of winning this year's Super Rugby title?

    The ultimate Super Rugby quiz!

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.